We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry to say, our last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Ravenel, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“sorry to say, our last visit.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for the past 9 years and will probably be our last. We checked in with an upgrade and when we arrived at our room, the door was open and maintanence was inside repairing the AC unit. One of the housekeeping staff was kind enough to go back down to the front desk to see what was up. We did not see her again, but another person, (no clue who) told us to go back down to the front desk to get a different room. We did and all the five people at the front just looked at us like they had no idea what we were doing down there. The maintenance guys (Tim and his supervisor) were very kind and told us they would get the room finished up in a few minutes and we could go back up and get settled in. We did and they were most apologetic about us having to wait and be in the room while they did the repairs. Upon unpacking, we noticed 3 of the peices of furniture had legs that were broken and sitting at a very uneven position. Tim did screw on of them back in while they were there. We noticed the others ones were broken after they left. We got a chance to unpack our bathroom stuff and noticed caulking comming out and some missing around the Jacuzzi, and paint peeling off the overhead AC vent. The shower was awful. There was no place to place any items other than the bar of soap, except on the floor. There was never any hot water, only warm and that was after we let the water run for at least 3-4 minutes in both the shower and the faucet. (what a waste of water, especially when they have notices in the room to hang your towels back up if you wish to conserve resources!)
When we got back from our visit with our family, we sat down on the couch and I noticed the fabric on the whole arm of the chair was ripped off.
There was only one trash can in the bathroom, and none near the desk or the kitchen. We did ask our housekeeper for another one the following day and she was great about getting two of them for us. There was also no dish towel in the kitchen near the sink.
On Sunday , we arrived back into our room after breakfast and the ceiling was leaking. We were going to our daughters for the day, and maintence came up to fix the leak while we were gone. We had towels down, it was leaking that bad. When we got back late Sunday night, the towels were still on the floor where we left them and the filter was not put back in the AC unit. It was sitting by the wall near the TV. We didn't bother to notify the front desk as it was late, we were not going to move rooms, and we didn't think maintence was around to come fix the problem, and we didn't want them in the room at 10pm anyway. When we got up Monday morning to leave, housekeeping had not stocked our bathroom ( I am guessing that maintence was still in there working and she could not get in to the bathroom) so we had only one bath towel between the 2 of us. You can guess that we were not happy campers.
The elevator has to be the slowest one ever. We took the stairs when ever we needed to go up or down. Every time we did, water was standing on the floor in the stairwell with towels and rolls placed near the door to soak up all the water. It was raining the whole time we were there, so we can understand where the water came from.
We did notice while eating breakfast (which was good, well run and stocked) the manager was around the breakfast area checking to make sure everything was running well. I was going to tell him about all the missteps while we were there, but never could catch him and didn't have time to wait as we had family obligations right after breakfast.
The housekeeping staff was great as were the maintenace staff. We had no problems with them until the episode on the last night.
I do not think the hotel has been refurbished at all in the 9 years we have been staying there, and the whole place looks tired and run down. I got the impression this is a new manager and they are trying to attend to things, but we will not stay there again. We never once got a call from any of the staff to make sure the items we reported were taken care of.
There is a nice Staybridge Suites just down the road, so will try it next time we visit.

Room Tip: we were in Room #226. The layout was good as it had a seperate kitchen/living area from the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patspetpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear patspetpalace,

First of all that you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I greatly appreciate it and I can assure you that all the issues you had will be followed up by myself personally.

For a guest to have multiple problems during their stay is unacceptable and not what we want anyone to experience. I am new to the property and we are also undergoing a remodel so I hope that you would consider giving us a try again once we are completely finished.


Regards,
Kevin Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
108
58
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The entire hotel was very clean. Our room was very clean & comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more kind & respectful. The general manager was also just as pleasant, and made sure we were enjoying our stay. The breakfasts was always great and plenty. The pool was perfect for my son. He enjoyed swimming, meeting other kids & relaxing. Everyone went above & beyond to ensure we were happy with our stay. We walked around, the area was nice & safe from traffic.
If I need to stay in a hotel again in Wilmington, it would only be at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear angela n,

I'm so glad you and your son enjoyed staying with us! I will be sure to pass your kind praises on to our staff and let them know all their hard work pays off. We look forward to seeing you and your family again during your next trip to Wilmington.

Have a wonderful summer!
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the third year we have spent a week staying at this hotel. We have enjoyed every minute. The desk staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The staff is fantastic. We have always been pleased with our room. Any question or concern is immediately taken care of. The breakfasts are really exceptional for being included in the price of the room, and the breakfast staff is also exceptional. The fact that it is the same friendly face we see every year speaks to the staff longevity. We saw the manager daily, always checking to be sure everything was okay and following through on requests. Fresh, hot cookies every afternoon, and a manager's reception one afternoon. The location is convenient to restaurants, shopping and main roads. We would not hesitate to recommend this facility to any friends or family, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floors, but all rooms are fine. Even next to the elevator was very quiet!! Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! I'm so glad we have loyal guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Have a great summer!
Kevin A. Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My family had to visit our old hometown in Oct 2012 and back again in June 2013. The rooms are in need of a facelift. This property has to be used an awlful lot. My sister and I had a double queen room. The mattress or box springs sounded on every turn or movement as though it would hit the floor. The fitted sheets wouldn't stay the bed. Nasty to wake up in the morning and the bed was completely down to the mattress. We spoke to the front desk person after first night.He assured me it would be taken care of. That night when we got back to the room. The bed had been made in same ill fitted sheet and the mattress had not been changed. The breakfast as well as housekeeping staff were nice.For the price we were totally disappointed. Sorry this property was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyandteressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear tammyandteressa,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me the other day about the issues you had encountered during your stay. I assure you that I have personally been following up with them and making sure they are taken care of.

You have my sincerest apologies that we were not up to what you have come to expect from our hotel and I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Regards,
Kevin A. Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel during a emergency plane landing.
Besides the fact that the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the staff at this hotel is what gives it it's charm. Kudos to Pierrette, Adam and Ryan for putting up with 25 or so angry, tired and hungry french Canadians. They went above and beyond to make our miserable situation a pleasant one.

Free breakfast was amazing. Best free breakfast I've had at any hotel I have previously stayed at.
Room had a kitchenette, living room with tv and separate bedroom with tv.

I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel. Would definitely stay there again, no question about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear lovetotravel020,

Thank you SO MUCH! for posting your note. Ryan, Adam and I were genuinely happy to help with your group. Putting ourselves in your shoes, we know that after your hectic journey, we wanted to do what we could to make your stay with us the best it could be...even at 12 midnight! If you are ever back in the Wilmington area, please know you have a home with us!

Happy Travels,

Pierrette Cortner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was looking for a motel that had adequate handicapped-accessible rooms, and the Holiday Inn Express offered a very good room with wheelchair access to the bathroom and shower. Room comes with a refrigerator (freezer separate from refrigerator), a microwave oven, TV with premium cable channels, and a closet. (Closets are often missing in a handicapped room.) Clean and completely satisfactory. The motel supplies a wheelchair and a staff member to push it if requested.

The hotel overall is quite nice, with pleasant and helpful staff. A free breakfast offers eggs (one day scrambled, another day a cheese omelet), sausage or bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, pancakes, warm bread (muffins, buns, bagels, doughnuts), cereals, juices, and coffee. All day there is a selection of cookies available.

Next time in Wilmington I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed our handicapped- accessible rooms. I'm pleased to learn that our rooms fit your needs and that our staff was able to help you.We try our hardest to make sure that anyone coming to the hotel has an enjoyable stay and from your kind words it seems like we did just that.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in Wilmington.

Best Regards,
Kevin Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rooms were clean and the staff was nice. Breakfast buffet was ok for a hotel breakfast. Pool area was decent. Conveniently right off Market St. About 10 minutes from historic river front area. Very close to the University and you can be at the Battleship NC in about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTownDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear KTownDad,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

I was glad to hear you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean. If there's anything that we can do to make your next stay a 5-star experience, please let me know. Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Kevin Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located between Wrightsville Beach & Historic Wilmington. We offer great amenities, such as a newly resurfaced outdoor pool with brand new patio furniture, complimentary Wi-Fi access, hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, grits, biscuits, assorted fruits, assorted cereals, assorted drinks, along with yogurt and pancakes. We are the only hotel in Wilmington that has charcoal grills available. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers. Some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. We are close to the USS North Carolina Battleship & Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,400 sq ft of flexible meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing