We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excelent”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September the staff were very friendly and helpful very clean and the rooms are superb the whole place look brand new worth every penny well done, good parking very quiet with lovely gardens that are well kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Roger P.,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out a review on TripAdvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us and with other TripAdvisor members is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our staff members so that they will know that our guests appreciate the hard work that they put in to making our hotel a great one. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    75
    46
    19
    7
See reviews for
107
58
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in a whirl pool suite- with it being a Holiday Inn, I wasn't expecting much. However, the service was very friendly when we checked in. Our room was gorgeous! Mini kitchen, separate sitting room (with a pull out bed) and even a bedroom with a tub in it. The bathroom was very clean and updated. I was overall pleased with everything in the hotel- great for the 2 nights we needed it for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xo_brianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear xo_brianna,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. Our luxurious whirlpool suites are always a good choice for guests looking to have a very special stay in Wilmington, NC, and I am so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your suite's accommodations, as well as with our staff's great service. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center. Please let us know if there's anything that we can change during your next stay that would further enhance your experience with our hotel and help us to earn a 5-star review from you.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here after being displaced from our home for 2 weeks. Great overall experience. Friendly staff. Stellar wi-fi. Grounds immaculate. Free hot breakfast was a treat. Very central. Walking distance to several eateries. Walmart across street in case you have needs. EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear DaveHTx,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out a review on TripAdvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us and with other TripAdvisor members is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. I realize that the circumstances of your stay with us were less than ideal, but I am so glad to hear that we were able to turn a potentially negative experience into a very positive one for you. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you, and we hope that you will allow us to welcome visiting friends and family members to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in Oct bc we were planning our wedding. Everyone was very kind and accomodating. The room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. They have the best continental breakfast Ive ever had and its free! They even suggested a discount for our wedding guests to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear aquaboo2,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. I certainly hope that you will have a successful wedding weekend when the time comes! The Wilmington, NC area is such a perfect choice for a place to tie the knot, and we look forward to providing lodging for your guests when you return. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Overall I think this one meets the standards for the brand, though it seems somewhat worn. I thought the biscuits & gravy for breakfast were above average for HIEs I've stayed at. The curved shower curtain rod didn't seem necessary based on the size of the tub and let water spill out. Convenient location and the staff were helpful & quick with service. Great place to stay for a business trip, particularly if you do Priority Club.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FritzGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Eric B.,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We appreciate knowing the things that please you, such as our staff, our breakfast, our location, and our connection with IHG's Priority Club Rewards system. We also appreciate knowing about those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Holiday Inn Express brand. I am sorry that you were inconvenience by the curved shower rod in your guest room. These types of rods are a brand standard of all Holiday Inn Express hotels and are required to be installed in each guest room, regardless of tub size. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

With your input, we can constantly monitor and change our product to maintain the high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I stayed here recently on a weekend beach trip. We have two young daughters, ages 5 and 8, and went to Wilmington for the night with another family. We booked a couple nights ahead of time and ended up with two rooms next to each other on the 3rd floor, which was nice. The hotel is in pretty good condition, clean and well maintaned. We used the outdoor pool several times, it was clean and in good working condition and they provided towels. The room was modern and in good condition also, and the beds are queen sized (which is definitely much nicer than a double bed).
The breakfast bar was adequate and the staff was friendly/helpful. We had a question about nuts in the muffins (nut allergies) and they got the packaging and showed it to us, which was very nice. The layout of the breakfast bar is not very good as traffic does not flow well through it, so the wait was a little long, especially on a holiday weekend.
Front desk staff was very helpful, we needed extra pillows and they sent them up for us.
Also, it's within easy walking distance of some restaurants including a Carolina Ale house where we caught some college football games and enjoyed dinner/drinks.
Overall, a well run and clean Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoontaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear yoontaylor,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out a review on TripAdvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us, and with other TripAdvisor members, is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. We know how difficult it can be to travel with younger children, and I'm glad to read that our hotel provided adequate accommodations for your family! I do apologize that you found the layout of our breakfast area to be not conducive to heavy volumes of guest usage. We will certainly look into ways that we can improve the guest experience in that area. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center. If there is anything that I can do to ensure that your next stay is worthy of a "5 star" review, please let me know by contacting me directly at gm.hxwilm@centrexproperties.com or (910) 392-3227.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

September 2011 we chose to use your facility to be the host hotel for our daughter and now son-in-laws wedding. Family members drove from Tennessee, Kentucky, and Ohio for this Wonderful occasion. We also used the facility to hold the rehearsal dinner that Friday night. I want to personally thank the staff and management for the professional and warm assistance that was rendered to our family in this potentially stressful time. The service was outstanding. Everyone was very helpful and courteous. A special thank you to Lucy and Penny for their quick responses to our needs. We have visited quite often them that time and each time Lucy has greeted us like old friends. We will always choose HIE when we visit Wilmington. L & O Lindsay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llindsay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out a review on TripAdvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. I will be certain to give our staff a huge "pat on the back" for the awesome job that they did making your party feel welcome and well taken care of during the wedding activities! We know that weddings can sometimes be stressful events for those in charge of planning them, and I am beyond excited to hear that our hotel eliminated any such stress from your family's special weekend. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

I hope that you and your family will choose to return to Wilmington, NC again in the future! It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#22 of 44 in Wilmington
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express(R) & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 80 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing