We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Housekeeping is terrible.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Housekeeping is terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast attendant is very friendly and does a great job. Breakfast is ok. Don't expect towels in the workout facility. Oh, and don't expect housekeeping to actually come take care of your room on a daily basis or completely do their job....they are unfriendly, never completely serviced the room, and one day they didn't bother to come at all. Wifi connection, not fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elviswasrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Elviswasrad,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor describing your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate your candor and hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that was caused by the problems during your stay.

First, thank you for your compliments regarding our breakfast hostess. I will be certain to share your review with her so that she'll know our guests truly appreciate the work that she does. Second, we are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly. I will be discussing your review with our Director of Housekeeping. I am very sorry that you were not provided with proper room service during your stay. If you ever experience an issue of any sort during a future stay with us, please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will ensure that your issue gets a prompt and effective resolution.

With your input, we can constantly monitor and change our product to maintain the high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    71
    43
    19
    4
See reviews for
102
54
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express on Van Campen in Wilmington is clean and the staff is professional. We have stayed there many times when we travel to the Wilmington area, and never been disappointed. The king suites are a welcome treat for us, as well as the business center and breakfasts provided. Property is maintained well and all services are what we have come to expect from this HIE. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoMuchToSeeOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear ontheroadagainNC2006,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center during your recent trip to Wilmington, NC. We appreciate that you made that choice and we also truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our hotel with us and with other TripAdvisor members.

I enjoyed reading about your experiences with our hotel. I'm glad to hear that we've become a "home away from home" for you while you're in the Wilmington, NC area! Our king suites are a very popular choice with a lot of our guests - and really, who wouldn't enjoy having a suite with a king bed in a private bedroom and a comfortable living room area that has an additional full-size sleeper sofa?

I certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon to our hotel. There's quite a bit of summer left, and autumn is also a wonderful time to visit our coastal city. If there is anything that we can do during your next stay to earn a 5-star review on TripAdvisor from you, please let me know!

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We chose to stay here because we have a 1 year old and we needed a suite. The other hotels in the area that offered suites were extremely expensive...this hotel was reasonably priced. This suite was perfect because our daughter slept in the living room while we stayed up a bit longer watching TV in our room. The little kitchen area was perfect for washing her bottles and keeping her milk cold. A crib wasn't available the first night we stayed, but we were able to get one the next two nights. The suite was small, but perfect for our daughter to play, crawl and walk. The hotel is centrally located between the ocean and downtown Wilmington. It was about 6 miles to the ocean and about 4 miles to downtown Wilmington...both easy drives. Walmart, Target and great restaurants are all right near the hotel. Our only complaint would be that we couldn't connect to the WiFi all three nights. We had no trouble connecting to WiFi during the days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Amy S.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites during your recent trip to Wilmington, NC! We appreciate that you made that decision and we thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and to other TripAdvisor members regarding your experience with our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you found one of our suites to be a perfect place to stay while you were traveling with your toddler.

While we appreciate knowing the things that please you, we also appreciate knowing the areas in which we could improve. I am very sorry that there was no crib available for use during your first night with us, and I apologize for any inconvenience that was caused by that issue. I also am sorry that you experienced troubles connecting to our hotel's wireless internet service during certain times of your stay. If you ever experience this issue during a future stay, please feel free to call our dedicated technical support team (their phone number is on every guest room desk) and they will work to ensure that you are given connectivity.

I hope that your family will be able to return again soon to the Wilmington area. After all, there's plenty of summertime left in 2012! Of course, autumn is a beautiful time to visit the Carolina coast, as well. No matter when it is that you are able to return to our area, though, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I often go to Wilmington on business and this hotel is always my first choice. Great location next door to Wal-Mart for anything that you may have forgotten as well as many restaurant choices within walking distance or a short drive away. Staff is always friendly from check in to housekeeping to breakfast attendants. Rooms are comfortable and everything works. Good internet connection, strength, and speed. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northcarolinatravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear northcarolinatravele,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. I will be certain to share all of your remarks with our staff. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was in Wilmington just for the weekend for my best friend's bridal shower. I checked into the hotel at 11:30pm completely exhausted and was pleased with how polite and attentive the man working at the desk was. I don't remember signing up for the Priority Club (apparently free though) when I reserved my room, but they had a welcome bag of bottled water and Milano cookies waiting for me and check-out wasn't until 2pm!

Room was clean, well-maintained, HVAC system worked great to keep me cool and not sticky with humidity, bed pillows were marked as "firm" or "soft", which I thought was a great little feature, and the bed was comfy overall. My iPhone didn't want to connect to the wifi at first, but I think that was a case of user-error. Internet speeds are likely not sufficient for needy programs, but were sufficient for basic web browsing/email purposes.

Rather than the typical rush in the morning to eat/shower/dress/pack before checkout, I got up, had a leisurely breakfast downstairs, and then came up to relax in the room for a couple of hours. Left around 12:30 feeling refreshed enough to go less than a mile away to the Costco and shop for a couple of hours before my 6 hour drive back to Virginia! I was expecting to be a zombie on Sunday from all the activity and was pleasantly surprised that wasn't the case.

Would certainly recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Join free Priority Club for late checkout and other perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suncatnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear suncatnin,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center! We appreciate that you made that choice. We also truly appreciate that you took the time to reach out to us and to other TripAdvisor members via your online review.

Your positive feedback of multiple specific items will certainly give me things to commend various members of our staff on. I am glad that everything went very well for you while you were attending the bridal shower. It's great to read that you expected to feel tired after your weekend, but that our hotel allowed to return to Blacksburg in a well-rested and relaxed state.

I certainly hope that you will be able to return to Wilmington, NC soon! We look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
352 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, with hot breakfast and good internet. Gym could be better, but that was my only real complaint. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very pleasant. Very good location, close to food, shopping and university. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear efm16,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Holiday Inn Express brand. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our on-site fitness facility. For a more in-depth workout during any future visits, I would certainly encourage you to take advantage of the complimentary guest pass to the nearby Gold's Gym, which is an amenity that we offer to all of our guests. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

With your input, we can constantly monitor and change our product to maintain the high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was in town for my friend's wedding and this was the hotel picked for the wedding party and guests. It's a great location, within in short walking distances to Target, Wal-Mart and many other stores and restaurants like Olive Garden and Waffle House, but my favorite... Chick-Fil-A is across the street. I arrived about 4 hours early for check in due to the timing of my flight and they had no issue with allowing me to check in early. The night before the wedding I had the bride's son stay with me and my daughter to give her a break and needed a fold away bed brought up and it was close to midnight. The staff brought it up with a smile and no complaints. The hotel's complimentary breakfast is decent. They have really good cinnamon rolls, surprisingly. I recommend this location 100%.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Tracie M.,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center by filling out an online review. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff, facilities and that your stay was so enjoyable. It always makes me happy to hear about things like a staff member delivering a roll-away bed at midnight with a smile and no complaints! I'm also glad that you found our location to be close to many great restaurant and shopping options. With your input, we can constantly monitor our product to maintain high standards of quality and performance that have become a Holiday Inn Express tradition. Thank you again for your comments.

It was indeed our pleasure serving you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington – University Center.

Regards,

Ella Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express(R) & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 80 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing