We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Williamston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been waiting for a few years to be able to head from our home in northwestern MD to eastern NC for a relaxing weekend (our daughter graduated from High Point University in central NC in '10 - too, too far away from Williamston!). We were NOT disappointed! Chloe welcomed us at the front porch and we fell in love with her immediately. She is everything that an innkeeper should be - kind, giving, generous, warm, gracious, there when you need her but out of sight most of the time (except when we would see her running breakfast trays to all the rooms in the early evening!), full of fascinating stories and just an all around phenomenal woman! Her B&B is everything we were looking for - after a crazy few weeks at work, my husband was able to get Friday off for a long weekend trip, so I made reservations - The Mardi Gras Suite was the only room left -and we were not disappointed. He had computer work to do over the weekend, so the cafe table was perfect for his laptop. We happened to go on one of the most heat oppressive weekends (heat index over 110 degrees!) we had ever experienced, so we spent most of our time enjoying our suite. The beds were SO comfortable, the pine floor in the bedroom was gorgeous and the shiny brick floor in the living room was just so interesting and cool (why did I bring my slippers?), nothing like well water for a nice cool shower, the wall decorations and wall paintings were a special touch, the chaise was perfect to read my KINDLE in, and the table, chairs and umbrella and then the small memorial pond and hanging wicker loveseat right outside our French doors were just so special to look at (too hot to enjoy breakfast outside each morning). We don't know why Chloe calls her breakfasts "continental plus," as they were fruit skewers, sweet breads, two kinds of quiche, and fresh juice and milk each morning -so very filling that we didn't eat lunch each afternoon. We spent one evening after dinner in town, walking all around the spectacular grounds; we saw the outbuildings where the other rooms are, we saw Chloe's flower and vegetable gardens, we were fascinated by the cotton fields next door, the lake was beautiful, the hammock looked inviting if not for the heat (!), all the metal geckos climbing the building walls were adorable as were the "whirlygigs" placed around the grounds, and her brother lives across the road and he has done up his grounds in the most unbelievably stunning way - and all are welcome to go over there and walk around and take pictures! We took a total of 400 pictures while at Big Mill and all around Williamston, so I can't wait to start scrapbooking! We have stayed at luxurious inns all over New England, but we will take an enjoyable looooong weekend (at least 3 nights next time!!) at Big Mill over those stuffy inns any day! I got a quick chance to meet her 18 year old precious cat named Moses - she gave me a "meow" as soon as I started talking to her (Yes, "she" is a "she")!! I just wanted to take her home!! All the flowers and vines growing everywhere were a beautiful touch, as were the white Christmas lights we saw around the place at night (esp the large star on the wall of one of the other buildings)!! Last but not least, I thought this was so cute and so inviting - Chloe had an Italian chef holding a chalkboard (about 3-4' tall) right outside her front door, and on it, she had a written welcome for every person/couple staying at the B&B that weekend. We saw that before we even met Chloe and knew right away that she was going to be OUR kind of an innkeeper! We can't wait for our next visit as Big Mill B&B and Chloe are now our favorites. Take care Chloe and Moses!!! :-)
Joe and Gayle
Gaithersburg, MD

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are in various outbuildings on this spectacular 200 acre farm out in the country. Each r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We saw the glowing reviews and gave this place a try. It didn't look impressive when we drove up but MAN was it just perfect. The room we stayed in was full of lovely, personal touches that made us smile. Thoughtful, useful things -- from extra outlets, and a little fridge -- to whimsical touches. The gardens are beautiful. The pond and boat and the swing in the pecan trees, great breakfast -- and of course Chloe, the innkeeper. She has stocked the room with beautiful amenities, makes a terrific breakfast with things grown right on the farm, and is one of the most generous spirits you'll meet. I felt like we'd been away longer than we were, just because it was so rejuvenating. If you're headed to the OBX, you should be stopping here before or after the drive, or both directions. Absolutely, Big Mill deserves every accolade it gets!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an excellent BB. The room was a good value, as it actually was two good sized rooms, one with three beds, the other with living room and dining furniture. Everything was very clean and tasteful. The owner was very friendly. It is a property that has been in her family for generations. Don't miss the evening primroses when they open at night if you are there over the summer. The county as a whole is very neat and clean, with many homes, including modest ones, immaculately landscaped.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tends2kvetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are driving to the Outer Banks make it a point to stop at Big Mill to spend the night on Chloe Tuttle's family property where barns have been made into gracious and lovely accommodations. The rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable -- ours had a cute kitchen complete with stove, small refrigerator, and coffee machine (Starbucks coffee provided). Sit in a swing next to a lily pond or lie in a hammock and feel the breeze. Enjoy a glass of wine while viewing the opening of Evening Primrose as the sun goes down. The Big Mill will take you back to former times when you went home to see your family who met you with open arms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

In May of this year, my wife and I set out for a long awaited vacation. We lodged at many B&Bs along the East Coast. Two of those nights were at the Big Mill while we toured the Outer Banks. Our suite (Mardi Gras) was actually much better than the photos depicted. We were delighted to find spacious rooms, fabulous views and great breakfast. The inn keeper (and owner) was knowledgeable of the area and made sure that our visit at both at her estate, and NC, was enjoyable. It was amazing to me the great amount effort Chloe put forth to assure our visit was just good, but GREAT. If you are considering a B&B, don’t miss this one. And bring a camera…you’ll see what I mean when you get there!

Room Tip: Chloe seems to accomodate most reasonable request. Dont be afraid to ask if you have a question...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marywvo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We went to Merchants Millpond to kayak then drove back to stay at Big Mill. We don't often stay at B and B's because we own a gallery and talk to people all day long so when we travel we tend to keep to ourselves. So we were trilled when we arrived at this charming B and B. It's a family farm and the rooms are in the out buildings. We stayed in the PackHouse suite. Which had a full kitchen. The livingroom/diningroom/kitchen was a large room furnished with everything you could want. Breakfact was delivered the evening before, lots of yummy food. So we were able to get up and eat on our own. The grounds are beautiful and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: loved the packhouse, big 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed for one night during our snowbird migration north. The location was quiet and peaceful, but not far from town. The room was very large and beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Chloe made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
371 reviews
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#2 of 6 in Williamston
41 reviews
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
66 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#1 of 7 in Washington
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1607 Big Mill Rd, Williamston, NC 27892-8032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williamston
Price Range: $85 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Mill Bed & Breakfast sits amid acres of farmland and forest in the quiet coastal plain of eastern North Carolina about two hours from Raleigh and Norfolk. Featured as one of North Carolina's best botanical B&B's, this romantic getaway has over 200 acres to roam. Minutes from major highways- a perfect stopover to the Outer Banks. Wireless Internet, kitchens, private entrances and commanding lake views ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing