We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really, in 2014?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williamston
Floral Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really, in 2014?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I reserved a two night stay at the Inn at Moratac, Williamston, NC, after a representative from Hotels.com recommended it. This place is a dump. I think it's partially abandoned and I believe only one or two other rooms were occupied. I didn't feel safe and the room didn't appear sanitary at all. Mats in the bottom of a bathtub? How unsanitary is that? Sofa and chair in the room were stained and the room had a mildew smell. So, so disappointed. My husband was so angry that I went with this place and not a chain hotel...lesson learned. It felt like a short stay motel where youngsters go to have fun for two to three hours. It's not worth the 66.00 per night we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Were in town for a sick relative , inspected room and it wasn't too bad but smelled , musty like mildew and maybe old smoking smell . Around the back where they would have put us it would have been quiet but strange people were wandering there . The outside of the building needed maintenance and grounds were overgrown. We ended up with lodging elsewhere , was pricier but well worth it.
This place would be okay if you had animals which might not be welcome elsewhere. I'd ask for a room on a street side for safety.
Sister said beds were comfortable.
Two of our relatives said the restaurant was okay but the hotel itself suffers from neglect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 262Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamston hotels

Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped in Williamston recently driving from Massachusetts to MyrtleBeach. We had a great meal, a clean,quiet room, and a great breakfast at the Inn all doe under $110.00. No kidding! The inn is older, but very clean, the front desk staff is pleasant. I would recommend the Inn at Moratoc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severn, md
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just spent a few days at the Inn At Moratoc for a family reuninon. The place was not as bad as some of the reviews I read. This is a small town and there is not a lot of things going on in the town. So, I didn't expect a stay at the 4-Seasons for 69 bucks a night. The lady at the front desk was very nice. The breakfast was pretty good too and cheap, $7.95 for all you can eat buffet. The bed was comfortable, but the room did smell a little. Maybe like someone had smoked in there and they couldn't get the smell out. From what I understand, the hotel is about 50 years old or more, and it is showing some wear. But for what it is worth, it's not bad. The pool looks like it could do with a bit of upkeep too, but it was passable for what you get. If I had to, I would stay there again. There is a Wal-Mart right down the street if you need something. Not much in the way of food choice, but if you like Sonic, Pizza Hut, Bojangles, DQ, Taco Bell and BBQ, they are all right within a mile of each other and from the hotel. There was cable in the room, no wifi, but there was a eithernet cable. All in all, not the best, but not terrible either.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet, but check to see if the room was a smoking room before you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djtoohot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently returned from staying at the inn at Moratoc and the hotel was what I expected. I was very nervous after reading all of the reviews, but the room was clean and the breakfast was very good. i didn't expect the four seasons so I was not disappointed. I was in town for a family reunion and most of the relatives stayed here which was good. The woman at the front desk was very nice. I don't remember her name. There isn't much going on in Williamston. There aren't many places to eat other than you normal fast food but Greenville isn't that far away. They had a an exercise room which was small, but offered exactly what I needed for a great workout. If you like barbecue check out Shaw's nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yes the hotel is not a new one, and I never speak to the desk clerks. But the restaurant, which had been sold along with the hotel, I have visited for decades, first with my grandmother, now with my husband and grown children. Right after the hotel sold, the restaurant nose-dived and I swore never to go back. But we were absolutely delighted to see the class restored to this still-elegant venue, and the food was the best in town. The steaks at Hitchin Post are terribly thin, (though I love your salad bar and ka-bobs) the ones at Deadwood a bit far away (and with sides, such as instant potato buried in instant sauces, and fake butter, that could use improvement-but what atmosphere). The menu is extensive, more so than before the change, but still features the old favorites such as banana fritters. For 25 cent more we swapped a house salad for a salad bar, a really nice salad bar with lots of offerings. The food was delicious and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1poolshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stay in Williamston several times a year and decided to try the Inn at Moratoc which used to be the Holiday Inn years ago. After checking in we went around to the back of the motel to our room and we were shocked. The area was in bad shape. The building were in disrepair and we stayed in room 101 on the bottom floor. I started to ask for our money back but decided to look inside the room. The room was in better shape than the exterior of the whole place. There was new carpet in the room and it was a good sized room. The king sized bed was fairly comfortable but a couple of the pillows needed to be trashed. The AC was off and it was 100 degrees outside. It was late and we decided to stay anyway. It took a few hours to cool the room. There was a coffe maker and fridge in the room. There is no internet service in the room. The pool did look well kept but the outside areas need a major overhaul. I will not stay again unless there is absolutely no where else to go. Just drive around the building before you decide to check in. I wish I had. I hope they can do some work on this place. It is a shame to let it waste away.

Room Tip: I suggest trying the Hampton Inn first. Then try the Holiday Inn Express. Save the Inn at Moratoc fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grayson_trout2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#3 of 6 in Williamston
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
19.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Washington
Magnuson Hotel Washington
#2 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Property: Magnuson Hotel
Address: 101 E Boulevard, Williamston, NC 27892-2657 (Formerly Inn at Moratoc)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williamston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Moratoc Williamston, North Carolina hotel is located one mile north of the intersection at 17 and 64. 'We are large enough to meet your needs, but small enough to know your name.' We welcome travelers from near and far to beautiful Williamston NC. You will find all the charms of a small town with big adventures. Williamston, NC, has excellent weather for all outdoor ventures such as fishing, hunting and a cruise on the Roanoke River. Our full service hotel features The Moratoc Restaurant, famous for its home cooking, excellent service and banana fritters. The Sandtrap Lounge offers a full variety of mixed beverages, beer and wine. Local businesses and attractions include Penco, Martin General Hospital, Yarn Mill (Fruit of the Loom), Senator Bob Martin Ag Center, Deadwood, Fort Branch, Domtar and the Martin Community College.Nearby cities include:Greenville NC, Plymouth NC, Edenton NC, Washington NC, Tarboro NC and Windsor NC. All rooms are cozy and easily accessible for those looking for the 'down and outs.' We are your home away from home while in Williamston, NC. Stop by and stay awhile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Moratoc Hotel Williamston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing