We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average but needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Better than average but needs some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

First, the staff deserves an excellent rating. From check in to check out all staff seem genuinely interested in your satisfaction and comfort. That said, they need to upgrade their mattresses, at least in our room. The room is typical of this chain, fairly comfortable and large enough for two. Great water pressure in the shower with plenty of towels. On that downside, the mattress was not bad but it had a few lumps that suggest it is past its prime. With a new mattress this Inn would deserve an excellent rating but not when you wake up feeling somewhat unrested. Breakfast offering are in the good category. Did not use the pool or fitness room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkblot_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Inkblot_doc,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

While we are pleased to hear that our staff went above and beyond to provide you with exceptional service, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to your guest room. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of the quality we are known to provide. Nevertheless, we want to assure you that the points you've raised in this review will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your comments as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
36
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I travel extensively for work and have stayed in at least 30 HIE. I can only remember staying in one other one this ran down. Despite that I wouldn't have bothered to write a review, but the hotel is permeated with a musty smell that is quite unpleasant. Pay the $10 extra for the Hampton across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metroredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear metroredneck,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great weekend trip to take in the outdoor drama about Tom Dooley there in Wilkesboro. Our hotel was great, couldn't have asked for better. Clean, comfortable room with a great breakfast in the morning!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Overnight stay while in town on business. Brought our Westie with us so we wouldn't have to board her. Pet room was near an exit and the furnishings were clean and looked new. Bed was wonderful. Comfortable, clean and fresh. There was a faint odor of urine, but it's a pet room! Staff wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Close to shops and restaurants so we didn't have to leave her alone for very long when we went out for business and meals. They charged us $30 for the dog, but she didn't damage any thing and the charge was removed at check out.
My only suggestion for the management is to replace the carpet with some sort of nice flooring. As pet owners, I don't think we would mind the rooms not having carpeting, and it would be so much easier to keep clean and odor free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grillgal-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've stayed in a couple of other hotels in Wilkesboro. This hotel is very easily accessible off US-421 and close to a lot of the stores and restaurants in the area (Wal-Mart, etc). The staff was very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast was really great. For the price, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLuxeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear NYCTraveler76025,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel tried a 'bait and switch' on me. I booked, fully knowing that there's a $30 per night dog fee. When I got there, they tried to charge me MORE for a second dog. The hotel website had AMPLE opportunity to CLEARLY state their dog policy. Then, the front desk guy tells me that I can't bring the dogs in through the lobby. What? He stated, "The management really doesn't want dogs here." Great. So we go to a SIDE door, and there's a NO DOGS ALLOWED sign. Really? Of course, it's next to the dog waste bags. Hm.

So, we get in, and the room stinks of stale smoke and mold covered up by perfume. This in a non-smoking room. Great. I try to connect to the wi-fi and...pffft. It's so slow that my 3G phone is faster. I go downstairs to the business center. The computer there is slower than a snail. The gal using the computer said she talked to the front desk guy about the wi-fi and he said "yeah, that's the way it is."

I guess this Holiday Inn Express believes that profits come first and the guests come last.

SKIP IT. This poor stay cost me a total of $150. In Wilkesboro, NC. Don't stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MWD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear MWD123,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked a last minute room while on the road. It was a few minutes past midnight so I accidentally booked the wrong day. The front desk agent was very helpful and fixed the issue in about 10 minutes. Noticably friendly staff and we were only there for about 7 hrs

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon-son2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilkesboro
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilkesboro
Hampton Inn Wilkesboro
#1 of 6 in Wilkesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Wilkesboro
Days Inn Wilkesboro
#3 of 6 in Wilkesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
22.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yadkin Valley Inn & Suites
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Jonesville
Comfort Inn Jonesville
#3 of 8 in Jonesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
21.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro

Property: Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro
Address: 1700 Winkler St, Wilkesboro, NC 28697-2251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Wilkesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated as of April 2015! The Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, North Carolina is nestled in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, home of the famous 'Merlefest Bluegrass Festival.' Rushing waters for tubing, kayaking, canoeing or rafting, challenging bike trails, serene hikes and horse back riding are abundant in Wilkesboro, North Carolina. Whether you are traveling on business or leisure you will enjoy the breath-taking mountain views from our outdoor pool or relax in our spacious lobby and meeting facilities which seats up to 300. Come enjoy the history, ambiance, wineries and everything else Wilkesboro has to offer including Wilkes Playmakers famous Tom Dooley Legend. Our hotel is in close proximity to restaurants, local business and shopping with Appalachian State University, Boone and Blowing Rock only a convenient 25 miles away. Our gracious, experienced and knowledgeable staff awaits your arrival and looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express In Wilkesboro Hotel Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Express Wilkesboro
Wilkesboro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing