We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte de Rey

Monte de Rey
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Wilkesboro
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

If you need a quick in and out spot for lunch or dinner- this is the place- food comes out hot and pretty good - I would rate 5 stars but salsa is too mild and tasteless or it's too hot. The friendly service however- is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candies1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent mexican food for small town NC.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I are from Austin, Texas and eat TexMex and interior Mexican food on a regular basis. It is hard to find mexican food in other states that compares with that served in Texas. Restaurant has a very nice ambiance and wait staff was good. We enjoyed our food-Chicken Enchiladas and mixed plate. However, Texas version of margarita was pretty tasteless. We shared a flan for dessert and it was okay. The cajita sauce was not as good as we are use to-but decent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love this place. You absolutely can not beat the service. The waiters are so courteous and fast! Food always comes out quickly and piping hot. Had the lunch fajitas. So tender and delicious. Arturo and the guys do it right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Creek, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mexican dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Montre de Rey is alwqays crowded because the food is good and prices are great. The serving staff is clean and polite and very nice. Always enjoy eating at Monte.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good....still good as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love this restaurant. The servers are very polite. They are attentive but not "lurky." Arturo has become like a friend to us. He is always quick to greet us and friendly.

One of my favorite dishes is the pollo fundido. So good! It's chicken wrapped in a tortilla and deep fried and topped with queso sauce. Comes with rice and beans. A gracious serving size. I also LOVE the fried ice cream. If you've never tried it, please do!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freakingumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte de Rey also viewed

Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Monte de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing