We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst smelling room ever.”

Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
south carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst smelling room ever.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed during Merlefest at $575 for 3 nights. Was placed in a smoking room after being told three times including at check in that it was not. Was actually told that someone put ashe trays in the room by mistake.Terrible customer service and no interest in helping in any way. Third year staying here but never again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southcarolinamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
7
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Airy NC
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

At half the price of the place across the street, it was good enough. The desk staff was delightful. Not only did we get information about where to eat, but there were menus on hand to preview before we made our selection. On our first stay, we ate at The Sushi restaurant on site. The portions were generous and the service quick but the food was bland. Back to the not so good: The paper is falling off the walls. The carpet was clean but there was a large tear in front of the sink. The cabinets looked like they had been underwater. The bathtub was very clean but the non-skid strips were coming up. How can towels dried in a dryer feel like they were hung outside? Stiff. Needs updating drastically. Violation of Fire Directive: Doors to the pool area were chained. Since we had to come back to the area the next week, the friendliness, cleanliness, and price brought us back. We can overlook rundown.

Room Tip: The contractors stay in the back. So if you want to sleep later, don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Will not be staying here again. For the price I expected much better, pretty much expected better at any price but especially for what we paid, we paid a good bit not $40 or $50. We didn't expect to see holes in the carpet, dry wall crumbling and just plain dirty. Not sure where some of the good reviews came from. This room was terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilkesboro hotels

Atlanta, Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

While we needed a cheap place to stay, and this was, the rooms were stale from smoke, the wall paint and paper was falling off, the carpet was dirty and I could not walk around on it in socks because it felt slimy. The hotel rents rooms to long term construction workers and while they were not bothersome to us we did feel intimidated by them hanging out in the parking lot by their trucks after work. The bed sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. But that's the only positive things I can say, we won't be back! ...also the towels were thread bare, I could have dried off better with paper towels.

Room Tip: Won't find one here...go some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMwilkes, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dearest Leslieonthego,
We are very sorry your stay with us was not more enjoyable...
Our front desk staff try very hard to accommodate each guest and assure their experience with us is much better than "not impressed."
Our housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of keeping our rooms clean & comfortable for each guest.
We are working very hard on improving our rooms & hope you'll give us another opportunity. We'd like to offer u a 20% discount on your next visit to our area!
Please, feel free to contact us at any time!

Kindest Regards,
Red Carpet Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We needed somewhere cheap to spend the night after attending a wedding and this hotel was recommended. It was easy on the money, but I was not too impressed with the hotel. Clearly it was out dated, but I expected that. Though it wouldn't hurt to do a paint job on the rooms. We wanted non smoking, but it had ashtrays in there, the beds were hard and uncomfortable, the pillows flat. If one wanted to iron something one had to get the board from the front desk. The good thing about the hotel was the price, the restaurant (this was a pleasant find. Try it out), and the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesthesea051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ordered a non smoking room, and they put us in a smokers room. I had lil kids! I don't want them breathing stale smoke. The towel thing is true.. Only 2 washcloths and 2 towels for 4 ppl and one baby. I found bugs on the bed and dead bugs in the corners of the room. Not really impressed at all. Next time I'll book in at the Hampton across the street.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Red Carpet Inn is a great place to stay.The Price was cheap and the staff members were very nice.The hotel was clean and they have a variety of different food in their breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopemprci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilkesboro
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Wilkesboro
Days Inn Wilkesboro
#3 of 6 in Wilkesboro
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilkesboro
Hampton Inn Wilkesboro
#1 of 6 in Wilkesboro
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Jonesville
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Graystone Manor
#1 of 1 in Wilkesboro
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro

Property: Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro
Address: 1206 River St, Wilkesboro, NC 28697-2138
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Wilkesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Wilkesboro Hotel Wilkesboro
Wilkesboro Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing