We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The view from the lodge is as good as it gets in the Smokies. It is located very conveniently to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the main body of the Great Smokey Mountains Park as well as to one of the special portions not connected to the main park.
The lodge was built by a wealthy businessman as a family retreat and hunting lodge. The food was good and the owners were excellent hosts. Our room was very nice - large and quiet.

Room Tip: If you have children, you might want to be located close to the game room. We preferred being away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrynorcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This lodge was built in the 1940's and sits high on a mountain. Our suite accomodated up to 4 adults, so my husband and I invited a couple of friends to join us on our weekend getaway. We stayed in the Sapphire Suite, which is right next to a nice large game room, perfect for kids and adults to enjoy, as there is a pool table, juke box (that plays oldies), video arcade games, a flat screen tv and comfortable seating. This inn is filled with plenty of antique furniture and decor. The staff and their children are friendly and helpful and a delight to be around. Our room had wonderful mountain views. One of the rooms in the suite has a small fridge and electric fireplace. The two bedrooms share a bathroom. The bathroom is small and adequate, but may prove a bit challenging for today's modern woman to 'get ready' in the morning, as there is no vanity to set your products on -- just a small old fashioned sink. Also, be sure to bring your own hair dryer. I did not bring my own, assuming the place had one, but it doesn't. But, I did find that the little electric fireplace dried my hair fairly quickly. :) If you are allergic to animals, you won't want to stay here. I was delighted to see there are several dogs and cats on the property, and guests are allowed to bring pets as well. While I greatly enjoyed visiting with the other guests and their animal companions, it's worth mentioning for the benefit of those who don't. Breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed lively conversation with the other guests as well as the staff. If the weather is nice, take your meal out to the porch and enjoy the gorgeous views. We were invited to enjoy a nice ham Easter dinner prepared by the staff and served by the children. We all chose to eat on the porch and it was a wonderful experience. And the staff also lit a nice small bonfire in the evening. It was a perfect ending to the day and gave the perfect opportunity to do a bit of star gazing.

Room Tip: The Sapphire Suite is a perfect choice if you are travelling with friends or children, as both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days and just hated to leave.Smoky Mountains National Park was close so we enjoyed hiking, and exploring new trails and waterfalls there. Also a great trip to Biltmore Estates was less than an hour away. Nancy was great with suggestions for things to do and places to eat, as well as history and interesting facts. Tisha and James were also so friendly and great cooks serving the best breakfasts. Views from the huge front porch were amazing, and we can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

When going on trips my family has always been picky about getting a good hotel room with a nice view and a clean good smelling room. I was a little nervous about a B&B up in the mountains because I watch too many scary movies but it was amazing! The room was spacious with our own bathroom that had a shower and a bath tub. Not to mention the view was absolutely gorgeous! The people who own it are very nice and welcoming, especially for pets! We were going to check our dog into a kennel since she has anxiety and we didn't want her to mess anything up but they told us to cancel it and had their son check on her and play with her. The food they have is great and they have plenty of options for vegetarians! This was my first time in the mountains and at this bed and breakfast and most definitely will not be the last. I can't wait to go back and see what fun stuff they have in the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogibear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Celebrated our anniversary here and absolutely loved it. It is in a beautiful area in a very scenic part of western NC. Only a hour from Biltmore and close to some great hiking, sightseeing (waterfalls), and antique-ing

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you are fan of Antiques and collectables you will enjoy your stroll around the "Hunting Lodge" built in 1940 by "S.H. Kress" the one and the same drugstore magnet. His pictures hangs in the front room and was found in the attic by the current owners who are actually from Florida and semi-retired. The owners and there family makes you feel very welcome. Was the property 5 star, no but it was fun, friendly, great food, peaceful and great conversation. You would enjoy it I feel certain. 5 rooms is all they have so lots of time for personal one on one.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Very close to Cherokee Harrahs Casino and Sequoyah which both are excellent fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband, mother and I just returned from a 4-night stay at this lovely, out-of-the-way lodge (really a bed and breakfast) that is wonderfully located to allow easy access to much of western NC from Asheville west. We had found the property through Groupon, so we had no preconceived notions about it, and we were very pleasantly surprised both with the spectacular beauty of the location (million dollar mountain views!) and the warmth of the hosts. It's a family owned and operated inn, a former hunting lodge of the rich and famous from the 1940s-50s, that is more than a mile off the main road at the head of a narrow cove, so it's *very* private. It's old and a little rustic, not slick and glossy like many newer hotels, but rather like visiting in a very large private estate where you get your own wing.

Nancy Hopp (the owner) and her daughter-in-law Tisha are very much available to ensure that their guests' every need is met. They welcomed us and our dog (it's a very pet-friendly place, with several resident cats), showed us our two-bedroom suite as well as the ample public living rooms (furnished with comfortable antiques, as well as TVs), and provided lots of tips about places to eat, buy wine, crafts, and sight-see. [Nancy is also a jewelry maker, appraiser and seller, so ask to see her sales room if that interests you.] I loved having access to a microwave, coffee and tea at all hours. The huge rocking-chair veranda overlooking the valley and distant mountains will be a great place to hang out when the weather is warm. And oh, I almost forgot to mention the luscious breakfasts that are included in the rate--really top-notch, fresh, healthy and made-to-order plates with eggs, omelets, pancakes, french toast, waffles, fresh fruit, potatoes, and so forth. Other meals are available upon request. Tisha and her husband are the chefs.

I really felt quite at home by the end of my stay, and we intend to return for another visit. It's hard to think of any negatives. Just some FYI's. There are fairly steep steps going into the building (the main floor is the second level), so it's not handicapped accessible. Carrying heavy luggage up the steps would have been very hard for me if I hadn't had a kind husband willing to do the lugging. So pack light bags when you come! Also, like most B&B's, this is not the kind of environment where you can be anonymous; there is a built-in degree of interaction that one can expect, though the hosts are not at all intrusive and definitely respected our privacy. This is the type of place to choose if you enjoy having meaningful conversations with other guests across the breakfast tables, or with the friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whittier hotels
2.8 mi away
The Chalet Suites Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
Gear Head Inn
Gear Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Whittier
54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Farm Cabins
Sunset Farm Cabins
#5 of 9 in Whittier
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Qualla Cabins and Motel
Qualla Cabins and Motel
#2 of 9 in Whittier
27 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fort Wilderness RV Park and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-7804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing