We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Little Escape in the Mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy Little Escape in the Mountains”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a Loclly find for us and we booked it as a getaway for my wife's birthday. Its location in Western NC makes it easy to get get to from Atlanta and provides access to all that Western NC has to offer (30 minutes to Cherokee/Bryson City in one direction and an hour to Asheville in the other).

The staff is nice and very accommodating and the lodge does have the rustic feel of the 1950s. It truly felt more like a mountain lodge rather than a B&B. The view from the front porch is amazing on clear days and nights and its easy to loose track of the time sitting in a rocker talking with Nancy or Tish.

Breakfast was served fast and was a good portion as well. The room was nice and almost all the rooms have excellent views of the mountains.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but ask for a south facing room to make good use of the mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcangeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We found the lodge through Loclly for a two night stay. We booked 2 bedrooms since we brought the kids. The rooms were nice and cozy, bathroom could have been cleaner but overall it was a comfortable stay with the exception of uneven temperatures. The bedroom that did not have a portable fireplace/heater was very cold. We had to keep both doors open so the heat would be evenly distributed. It wasn't as private as it could have been. The food was really good, everything seemed fresh and made to order. This is a family run business and everyone was friendly and attentive. Lots of activities available; game room, tv, books, board games, etc..
For a rustic, inexpensive, laid back getaway, I would recommend and also revisit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kturner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wanted mountains on this getaway and mountains we got! Wow! The views were so picturesque. Even that 1.5 mile drive up, up and away to the top of the mountain was an adventure unto itself. Steep but worth every second. The Hopp family owns this lodge, and members work together to see to everyone's comfort. We found each member to be personable and enjoyable. Wish we could get back there during a nice snow! Can't imagine the tranquility. On our trip, my husband resumed writing poetry and other recollections while resting in a rocker and taking in what he called a spectacular view from the lodge's large front porch. We also figured: Why go to town for dinner when dinner is cooked to order there at very reasonable prices billed at the end of the stay? We felt rather pampered with the service, the delicious food and the view from the dining room. Nancy Hopp (our host) is also great with directions to waterfalls and other interesting things to do while in the area. Our desire is to return with friends or family, for this is a pet-friendly place to be experienced.

Room Tip: All rooms are inviting. If you are into games for any children, choose a lower level room; several g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The one thing we LOVED about this place was the hospitality! The folks that run the place are FANTASTIC! So nice and welcoming! If you are looking for a TRUE
get away from it all (including internet cause it don't always work when you are there) then this is the place for you! The breakfast/dinners were fabulous!
I would recommend this place over and over again !
The Bryant's-- West Palm Beach, Florida

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff is warm, welcoming, knowledgeable about the area and attractions. My husband and I have stayed here twice for Parents' Weekend at Western Carolina. Hotels are hard to come by~so come here instead! Bed and Breakfast Inn, cozy, decor is very 50's-fun, interesting, and a little bit campy. Bedrooms are clean, uniquely furnished, comfy. Bathrooms are clean-very 50's style in terms of hardware-water pressure is fabulous in the showers. Dining~fabulous. We've had beef tips, chicken marsala, steak-prices are really, really reasonable, and the food is excellent. Breakfast is fun-everyone meets in the soda shoppe or on the rocking chair porch. Breakfast is made to order and worth the wait. This is about ten miles from campus and the best deal you will find. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Face the mountains~there's nothing like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nova86gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Enjoyed this old lodge at the top of the mountain. Beautiful views of the Smoky Mountains. Spent most of our time sitting on the grand porch rocking the time away, playing with the cats, chatting with guests, watching the mist rise/sun set/moon rise. Very low-key. Food was better than average, huge portions. Loved that it was a family affair and the kids were helping Mom and Dad out. This is rustic, not luxury. Biggest con: had to drive to everything! Made sure we were snuggled back at the Lodge before dark.

Room Tip: I would not care for one of the rooms off the game room but that's just me. Ruby Room has a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 2nd wedding anniversary this summer, we were able to bring our dog along as well. The retreat is way up a mountain and it is worth the trip as the views that greeted us each morning were spectacular. Our room had its own bathroom/shower, no sharing here. There is a nice community room with games and a tv where you can relax, we had it to ourselves. Staff was awesome and so gracious to us, they loved having the dog around. Breakfast and lunch were included in our package and the whole menu is available.

If you go, spend your mornings on the front porch with a cup of coffee and your evenings on the same porch with a glass of wine. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
655 reviews
6.1 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
207 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
2.5 mi away
The Chalet Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Property: Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-7804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing