We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it here!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff is warm, welcoming, knowledgeable about the area and attractions. My husband and I have stayed here twice for Parents' Weekend at Western Carolina. Hotels are hard to come by~so come here instead! Bed and Breakfast Inn, cozy, decor is very 50's-fun, interesting, and a little bit campy. Bedrooms are clean, uniquely furnished, comfy. Bathrooms are clean-very 50's style in terms of hardware-water pressure is fabulous in the showers. Dining~fabulous. We've had beef tips, chicken marsala, steak-prices are really, really reasonable, and the food is excellent. Breakfast is fun-everyone meets in the soda shoppe or on the rocking chair porch. Breakfast is made to order and worth the wait. This is about ten miles from campus and the best deal you will find. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Face the mountains~there's nothing like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nova86gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Enjoyed this old lodge at the top of the mountain. Beautiful views of the Smoky Mountains. Spent most of our time sitting on the grand porch rocking the time away, playing with the cats, chatting with guests, watching the mist rise/sun set/moon rise. Very low-key. Food was better than average, huge portions. Loved that it was a family affair and the kids were helping Mom and Dad out. This is rustic, not luxury. Biggest con: had to drive to everything! Made sure we were snuggled back at the Lodge before dark.

Room Tip: I would not care for one of the rooms off the game room but that's just me. Ruby Room has a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 2nd wedding anniversary this summer, we were able to bring our dog along as well. The retreat is way up a mountain and it is worth the trip as the views that greeted us each morning were spectacular. Our room had its own bathroom/shower, no sharing here. There is a nice community room with games and a tv where you can relax, we had it to ourselves. Staff was awesome and so gracious to us, they loved having the dog around. Breakfast and lunch were included in our package and the whole menu is available.

If you go, spend your mornings on the front porch with a cup of coffee and your evenings on the same porch with a glass of wine. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros: Remote, Excellent Views. Food was great. Room was awesome! Beds were comfortable...the owner looked very similar to Leah Ramini!

Cons: Understaffed. Kids were waiting on us. Not the cleanest place. Grounds needed work, toilet in our room needed work...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Lodge. It is well-maintained and quiet. Breakfast was cooked to order each morning, and we were able to order supper Sunday night, which was both delicious and convenient. The view from the porch is beautiful. The owners were very friendly and made good recommendations for things to do and places to eat in the area. I would recommend the Lodge for anyone, especially those who like to travel with their pets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsmom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Lodge. The owners are very friendly and are knowledgeable about the area. If you wouldn't dream of leaving home without your pet then this is definitely a perfect place to stay. Breakfast was very good and I really enjoyed our dinner at the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtbcty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Lodge has so much potential. Beautiful view from the large front porch. Overall we enjoyed the experience and would probably return. The facility is family run and I felt were a bit defensive when any feedback was offered. There are quite a few inexpensive things that could be offered to make your visit more comfortable and enjoyable. We arrived tired and hungry and thirsty. we were told we could order dinner for that evening which we did, however, no water, soft drinks, coffee or snacks were offered or available. Same thing in the morning. No coffee in the rooms and no community pot set up in common areas. Our bed would have been comfortable except the fitted sheets and mattress pad slipped off all night making for a very restless evening. I think of a B & B as visiting in someone's home and this was not the feeling you receive here.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a working lock on the door. Ask about accessibility if you have any sort of dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
6.0 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Property: Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-7804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing