We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family had a very nice, fun filled and relaxing weekend here. The rooms are clean and nice. Nancy really knows the area and can tell you all about the history as well. She is very pleasant to chat with and helpful about sights in the area. Tisha made amazing breakfast and dinner - we really enjoyed the food. They are close to Cherokee (fun shopping), Maggie Valley, Smokey Mountain National Park and many other fascintaing sights. We took a helicopter ride that was fantastic - the guys were great! Hiking is anywhere to be found at the Lodge wih the thousands of miles of logging trails - we loved that too. My favorite thing by far was sitting in the rockers on their front porch with that spectacular mountain view - I just couldn't get enough! We did have a dinner on the porch that was quite romantic! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Pearl Suite with two rooms adjoined by a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllenM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My family had a really nice stay at the lodge during spring break. Sitting on one of the many rocking chairs, enjoying the mountain views from the front porch, was my Heaven. Tisha & James are gracious and accommodating. Their son Kelly is so bright and witty, my boys absolutely loved him! Their breakfasts were delicious & hearty. The lodge is right off a main road or hwy, we were able to easily navigate around NC and TN. We will definitely come back to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgatilao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took advantage of a Groupon for 2 nights. The owners were all very nice and helpful. We really appreciated the fact the lodge is pet friendly. The food was excellent. We had dinner one night and breakfast each morning. We enjoyed sitting outside and just relaxing/reading under the porch heater. The owners were helpful in recommending places to explore. If the weather had been nicer we would have done some hiking but we toured all the little nearby towns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyJ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend celebrating her birthday, and while the inn had a full house we were never disturbed. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the made-to-order breakfast was enough to bring us back. We were there during a dreary, rainy weekend at the end of winter, which lent itself to finding small, local shops in the area full of owners who would talk to you like family. You could certainly have a different experience all four seasons of the year, with wonderful winter scenes, bright green springs, river rafting in the summer, and beautiful foliage in autumn.

Room Tip: We were in the Topaz Room, which is still in the process of being converted, and while we really did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jffdevore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved this experience! The drive up the mountain was a little hairy the first time, but it got easier (it is 3000+ feet up), the lodge decor is 50's/antiques; each room has it's own style and main color. We stayed in the Emerald room- great views, a lot of light, very comfortable atmosphere. The meals we had were delicious (breakfast and dinner- thanks James) we explored Sylva and Franklin the other days. Family friendly, dog friendly, quiet, breathtaking views. If you want to explore- ask Tisha. She is a wealth of knowledge and directions.
Thanks for a great Anniversary Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge!!!
Mr & Mrs K

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was very comfortable and quiet, yet kid and pet friendly. The outside of the property is taken care of very well and the inside is kept clean and cozy. The lodge has a 1950s feel and is not very modern but it makes for a perfect stay in the mountains. However, there is wifi and tv in the common rooms to keep you occupied during bad weather or at night. All in all, a great value for visiting the mountains.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Riley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The lodge sits up on a mountain with a beautiful view of the Smokey Mountains. Family-friendly environment, but also a nice couples retreat. Run by family, good service & great food. Made to order breakfast & very comfortable, "make yourself at home" feel. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acarterx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
6.0 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Property: Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-7804
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing