We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monty's Moose Cabin”
Review of Sunset Farm Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Farm Cabins
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We originally had reservations for the Raccoon cabin, however our host extended us a special rate for the larger Moose cabin. We really enjoyed this cabin, especially since our visit was the week of Thanksgiving and no other guests arrived until Friday night, so peaceful. We loved the firepit, every night it was ablaze. The cool, nippy mountain temperatures made the fire extremely cozy. The cabin was clean, comfortable and well cared for. Wouldn't change a thing and would love to return one day. One of our highlights was finding and hiding the cabin's mascot, no other than "Monty the Moose", what a great time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fezziewhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Farm Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Farms Cabins as part of a family reunion the weekend of Nov. 2-4, 2012. We stayed in the "Moose" and it was very nice. Clean, roomy, new HD tv, and right next to one of the outdoor hot tubs. The cabins are central to Cherokee and Dillsboro. The cabins have very good views of the surrounding mountains. The group rented out 4 cabins and everyone was happy with the stay.

They have new owners who are very nice. Michele was very helpful and her husband entertained by playing his guitar at the fire pit. Great place to visit. We'll likely return.

Room Tip: The Fox cabin has been renovated and has the newest interior.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamaicaparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in May 2012 during our road trip, out of the 10+ places we stayed on our tour, it was by far the most welcoming, we felt so comfortable there, it felt like being at home. Randy (the owner) was always willing (and very happy) to help out with anything you needed, from starting you a fire in the firepit outside (a lovely place to meet and greet fellow travellers if you so wish) to giving you directions/information about the local area, or just about anything you needed. The cabins were lovely and clean, very home like, and extremely comfortable, as I said, we didn't feel like we were "on the road" so much as taking a vaction from our vacation!

The local area is fantastic, incredibly beautiful with plenty of hiking, natural sights to see, and great to drive around, the locals in Whittier and Bryson City were all a pleasure to meet as well. Make sure you go tubing on the local rivers, and the Natahala Outdoor Centre does some great water rafting experiences, even for newcomers like us!

Staying in Sunset Farm Cabins was a genuine highlight of our trip, I actually feel bad that it has taken me this long to write a review! Bottom line, go to the Smokies, they are beautiful, and stay here, because it's a great place to stay. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Fox Cabin, it was lovely, I'd heavily reccomend it. :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meitnerium85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day weekedn 2012 and had a great time. The location is perfect. It's secluded but we were within a short drive to several things. We went up to gatlinburg one day and that was about an hour or so. The owners are great and the area is well taken care of. The central area is grass and well done. Play area for the kids, picnic table to eat at, fire pit to roast marshmallows. I don't know if they keep the area sprayed for bugs but we weren't bothered by a single mosquito which was very nice. All cabins had a porch area that we sat on at night. The cabin had a visitor log and it was fun to read what other people had done and there were actually quite a few people that mentioned gem mining. Based on that we decided to go and had a blast. It was a nice touch. We are pleasantly surprised and would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at Sunset Farm Cabins for a weekend in mid-October 2011, and we fell in love with the place. We have been going to the Smokies on hiking trips for 12 years, staying at motels, but this year, we wanted to try something different, and we were not disappointed. The place is extremely well-managed by very nice people, the manicured grounds are inviting, the cabins clean, well-maintained and comfortable, and the prices very reasonable. What we thought was particularly remarkable was the attention to detail: we had everything anybody could need in the kitchen, delicious brownies waiting for us on the table, and our host even offered us marshmallows for roasting over the fire pit! Both nights, we relaxed and drank wine at the large communal table in the yard, used the grill provided outside our cabin (Opossum) to cook dinner, and finished the evening around the fire pit, drinking more wine and roasting marshmallows with other guests. In the morning, we had breakfast by the window of the living room, admiring the gorgeous view and enjoying the gas fireplace. We liked the place so much that we did much less hiking than usual in order to spend more time there, and we even considered extending our stay by one more day. Needless to say, we will be back. We highly recommend Sunset Farm Cabins!

Room Tip: We satyed at Opossum, which has the best view. It as a rustic interior. Some of the cabins, very rec...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMax999000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fall weekend trip for whitewater rafting with my family which included four children from ages 9-16. Sunset Farm Cabins is a great place to stay. All cabins were occupied during this weekend yet it remained pretty quiet. The children extretmely enjoyed the games and making smores at the fire pit. We all enjoyed the hot tub! We rented "Deer Cabin" and found it to be clean and well maintained. The kitchen/living room area was spacious. The bathroom was small with a standing shower. The kitchen had everything we needed. I found this cabin to be very reasonably priced and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My group of motorcyclist just got back the mountains and we had a grand time,,, saying that if you like to ride through some nice curvy roads and see some of the most beautiful country ever, saddle up, the owners even worked with us knowing we would be arriving very late,, I have stayed here before and it was like coming home to me, the lights were on and the brownies were on the table.. Riding all day and just hanging out at night
These cabins are a close driving distance to everything they have a fire pit, with wood, hot tubs, and a beautiful view. My cabin had a kitchen and cable. The cabin was roomy and extremely clean.
We will be back and with a much bigger group
TMS Fayetteville NC

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsarbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
4.6 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
5.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
4.7 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Farm Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Farm Cabins

Address: 68 Vacation Dr, Whittier, NC 28789-6892
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Whittier
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Farm Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six rental cabins snuggled in the hills of Western, NC. We have two one-bedroom cabins and four two-bedroom cabins with both King and Queen size accommodations. We have two hot tubs on property, a fire pit (firewood provided), and a common green with lawn games and ample seating. Each cabin has a covered picnic table and charcoal grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Farm Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing