We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in so many ways”
Review of Sunset Farm Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Farm Cabins
York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in so many ways”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in May 2012 during our road trip, out of the 10+ places we stayed on our tour, it was by far the most welcoming, we felt so comfortable there, it felt like being at home. Randy (the owner) was always willing (and very happy) to help out with anything you needed, from starting you a fire in the firepit outside (a lovely place to meet and greet fellow travellers if you so wish) to giving you directions/information about the local area, or just about anything you needed. The cabins were lovely and clean, very home like, and extremely comfortable, as I said, we didn't feel like we were "on the road" so much as taking a vaction from our vacation!

The local area is fantastic, incredibly beautiful with plenty of hiking, natural sights to see, and great to drive around, the locals in Whittier and Bryson City were all a pleasure to meet as well. Make sure you go tubing on the local rivers, and the Natahala Outdoor Centre does some great water rafting experiences, even for newcomers like us!

Staying in Sunset Farm Cabins was a genuine highlight of our trip, I actually feel bad that it has taken me this long to write a review! Bottom line, go to the Smokies, they are beautiful, and stay here, because it's a great place to stay. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Fox Cabin, it was lovely, I'd heavily reccomend it. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meitnerium85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day weekedn 2012 and had a great time. The location is perfect. It's secluded but we were within a short drive to several things. We went up to gatlinburg one day and that was about an hour or so. The owners are great and the area is well taken care of. The central area is grass and well done. Play area for the kids, picnic table to eat at, fire pit to roast marshmallows. I don't know if they keep the area sprayed for bugs but we weren't bothered by a single mosquito which was very nice. All cabins had a porch area that we sat on at night. The cabin had a visitor log and it was fun to read what other people had done and there were actually quite a few people that mentioned gem mining. Based on that we decided to go and had a blast. It was a nice touch. We are pleasantly surprised and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at Sunset Farm Cabins for a weekend in mid-October 2011, and we fell in love with the place. We have been going to the Smokies on hiking trips for 12 years, staying at motels, but this year, we wanted to try something different, and we were not disappointed. The place is extremely well-managed by very nice people, the manicured grounds are inviting, the cabins clean, well-maintained and comfortable, and the prices very reasonable. What we thought was particularly remarkable was the attention to detail: we had everything anybody could need in the kitchen, delicious brownies waiting for us on the table, and our host even offered us marshmallows for roasting over the fire pit! Both nights, we relaxed and drank wine at the large communal table in the yard, used the grill provided outside our cabin (Opossum) to cook dinner, and finished the evening around the fire pit, drinking more wine and roasting marshmallows with other guests. In the morning, we had breakfast by the window of the living room, admiring the gorgeous view and enjoying the gas fireplace. We liked the place so much that we did much less hiking than usual in order to spend more time there, and we even considered extending our stay by one more day. Needless to say, we will be back. We highly recommend Sunset Farm Cabins!

Room Tip: We satyed at Opossum, which has the best view. It as a rustic interior. Some of the cabins, very rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMax999000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fall weekend trip for whitewater rafting with my family which included four children from ages 9-16. Sunset Farm Cabins is a great place to stay. All cabins were occupied during this weekend yet it remained pretty quiet. The children extretmely enjoyed the games and making smores at the fire pit. We all enjoyed the hot tub! We rented "Deer Cabin" and found it to be clean and well maintained. The kitchen/living room area was spacious. The bathroom was small with a standing shower. The kitchen had everything we needed. I found this cabin to be very reasonably priced and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My group of motorcyclist just got back the mountains and we had a grand time,,, saying that if you like to ride through some nice curvy roads and see some of the most beautiful country ever, saddle up, the owners even worked with us knowing we would be arriving very late,, I have stayed here before and it was like coming home to me, the lights were on and the brownies were on the table.. Riding all day and just hanging out at night
These cabins are a close driving distance to everything they have a fire pit, with wood, hot tubs, and a beautiful view. My cabin had a kitchen and cable. The cabin was roomy and extremely clean.
We will be back and with a much bigger group
TMS Fayetteville NC

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsarbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our first trip to North Carolina and we consider ourselves SO lucky to have found such a wonderful place to stay! Sunset Farm Cabins are quiet and calming but still centrally located to Cherokee and Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mts park. Our cabin was exceptionally clean and cozy, with more than enough room for the three of us and equipped with everything you could want in a home away from home. The owners were friendly and helpful and kind, and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The homemade brownies waiting in our cabin on our arrival made for a sweet welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend Sunset Farm Cabins to anyone, and we certainly hope to be back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We recently took a trip up to NC to spend a quiet weekend in the mountains with our family of 4. We planned the trip only a couple of weeks in advance and this was the only establishment that wasn't full (which should have told us something). The grounds are ok and they have a fire at night but the cabin itself was in very poor condition. The window unit AC was so loud we couldn't sleep and the pull out sofa didn't really pull out. The bathroom was damp and smelled of mildew and the stand up shower had only a curtain which didn't keep the water in. The AC leaked water all down the wall and there were cup rings on all of the coffee tables. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, and the floor was cement with the thinnest cheapest carpet you can buy stretched over it--very hard and uncomfy. IMO you should book early and avoid this place. Also, there is no maid service, but there was an envelope to tip the maids with (wierd). I did feel safe here though so it was still better than getting one of the scary cheap motels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsgocamping10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetfarms, Owner at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
We have been in business for 25 + years and have a 99%+ satisfaction from our guests. We are not a 5 star cabin rental company but do keep each and every cabin professionally clean, not to mention a great value for our guests. It is disappointing for us to read a review from a guest that was not happy with their overall stay at the cabins but we are happy to say this is the only negative review we have ever received online. Thank you for the review and we will continue to strive for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
4.7 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
210 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
5.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
14.6 mi away
Nantahala Cabins
Nantahala Cabins
#7 of 22 in Bryson City
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Farm Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Farm Cabins

Property: Sunset Farm Cabins
Address: 68 Vacation Dr, Whittier, NC 28789-6892
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Whittier
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Farm Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six rental cabins snuggled in the hills of Western, NC. We have two one-bedroom cabins and four two-bedroom cabins with both King and Queen size accommodations. We have two hot tubs on property, a fire pit (firewood provided), and a common green with lawn games and ample seating. Each cabin has a covered picnic table and charcoal grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Farm Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing