We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Mountain Home”
other travelers have booked this property
NATURE'S RETREAT - SECLUDED IN THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
NATURE'S RETREAT - SECLUDED IN THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS
YOU'LL SHARE THE LIVING ROOM WITH THIS BEAR ! THE VIEW
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
NATURE'S RETREAT - SECLUDED IN THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS
YOU'LL SHARE THE LIVING ROOM WITH THIS BEAR !
THE VIEW
KITCHEN
A COZY SOFA UNDER THE VAULTED CEILING
HOT TUB WITH MOUTAIN VIEW
PAVED PARKING AND EASY ACCESS ON ALL PAVED ROADS
THE BEDROOM HAS IT'S OWN BALCONY JUST OUT THE SLIDING DOORS
THE OTHER UPSTAIRS BEDROOM HAS TWO QUEEN BEDS
SLEEPS 6 COMFORTABLY
THERE IS A TV IN EACH BEDROOM
KING BED
LIVING ROOM OPENS RIGHT UP TO THE HOT TUB
THE DRIVEWAY IN THE WINTER FROM THE UPSTAIRS BALCONY
ON THE FRONT DECK YOU CAN PLAY CHECKERS OR ROCK YOU CARES AWAY
ANOTHER VIEW OF THE KITCHEN
YOU CAN ESCAPE TO AN OFFICE/PLAY DESK IN SOLITUDE FROM THE REST OF YOUR GROUP
DINING TABLE FOR 6
DECOR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whittier, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gordon W
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Mountain Home”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Tight one lane road around a sharp curve to the driveway, can be nerve-raking because it's a blind curve. Can turn around in the drive way, but tight, many scrape marks. Hot tub is OK, do not know how often the water is changed. The electricity has some concerns, light switches work backwards, and the circuit breaker will go off. NO CEMTRAL air condition, all window units. View off deck is strictly trees NO long view. Very close to Bryson City and Cherokee, easy access for fishing. Very nice deck, only one bath up stairs where the bedrooms are and isn't connected to any bedroom. The other bathroom is a half bath down stairs-made it crowed for 4 adults. READ THE RULES CAREFULLY, several restrictions and must fill out a two page information sheet several weeks before renting, management is OK.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammantha...
2 reviews
“Great getaway cabin”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great time staying in this cabin. We were all very comfortable and greatly enjoyed the hot tub. The only issue we had was the amount of chlorine in the hot tub. It faded some of the bathing suits and left spots on a cover up. Other than that we had no issues. There was a problem with a power outage upstairs but we were able to get a hold of the manager and the issue was resolved in no time. I recommend this cabin to anyone looking for some peace and quiet.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louanne O
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“They Thought of Everything”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are a family of 5 with two pre-teens and one high schooler. Being from Arizona, we had traveled a great distance in a minivan and were ready to get out and away from each other. We were looking to have a Cabin experience. We had already done the hotel "thing" and wanted a rustic feel (but we did not want to "rough it") in an area with tons of stuff to do. Nature's Retreat was just the ticket. We had the best of both worlds: a rustic feel with all the modern comforts of home. The cabin was emaculate! A spacious kitchen with room to work. The beds were comfortable. Whoever decorated the cabin did a fabulous job. It was so cute. It felt secluded, yet we were close to Bryson City and Cherokee. We went tubing, and will go horseback riding, and white water rafting and then into Asheville for a music festival on Friday. Every morning I would sit on the porch with my cup of coffee and listened to the birds and the rush of the river below. I heard nothing else. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cabin feel, yet clean and modern
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trishnkei...
1 review
“Absolute Peace”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was one of the best cabins we have ever rented! The location was perfect! Make sure to get your groceries before you settle in, as the closest place is about 6 miles away, and on a motorcycle, after driving 450 miles, that is key :) and make sure to buy your beer before 6pm on Sundays ;) as we found out the hard way! Lol. We had the most amazing time! And as the sign in the cabin says - "what happens in the Smokies, stays in the Smokies" :) lots of amazing memories to hold onto! I'm sure we will do it again! Thanks Alan for such wonderful service when we needed it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Super glad you have great memories of your stay at Nature's Retreat Cabin. You were great guests and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beepnbop
South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quiet Cabin in the Smokies”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This cabin is perfect for many things. It is secluded enough for a couple to have a romantic getaway all the while being close enough to many great places and sights in the Smokies! Not to mention the TV, WIFI, DVDS, and board games they have on hand if the weather isn't cooperating or you just want to take the day off from nature. Speaking of inclement weather, if it happens to rain overnight I would highly recommend waking up before the sun rises, slip into the hot tub and enjoy the "smoke" rising from the valley into the Great Smokies themselves. WHAT A SIGHT! The beds were very comfortable, towels were provided for the hot tub and bathrooms separately. We would definitely return. The hardest part isn't getting there, it's leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How secluded yet close to area attractions, waterfalls, hiking trails, etc.
Liked least: Getting out of the hot tub when it was cold outside.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Thank you for spending your getaway at Nature's Retreat cabin. As you experienced, even if you do get bad weather, staying in the cabin is just as exciting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SAM O
Morganton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will not go wrong if you rent Nature's Retreat Cabin!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything you need for a great get-a-way...To start with, the cabin is BEAUTIFUL! You can tell the owners took a lot of time furnishing/decorating the cabin with the surrounding mountains in mind. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything needed to cook/serve meals. The hot tub on the deck is very relaxing and the grill outside is a nice touch (along with the rocking chairs and picnic table)! The beds have wonderful bedding/mattresses for a good nights sleep. The owners have even thought to provide board games to go along with the 3 TVs for entertainment. WE WILL BE BACK SOON!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Nature's Retreat. The new furnishings and decorations were especially selected so that our guests would have a great mountain vacation experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing