We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love the Corvette Room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gear Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gear Head Inn to your Saves list
Gear Head Inn
1.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Boone, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Corvette Room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It was a late night, leaving the casino, Didn't want to go down the mountain, Gear head inn was on my left. Jim and Mary woke up to let me stay. Love them for that. The room was large and clean. Gave Me the Mountain feeling I was looking for. Second trip back I needed to get away to study for an exam. Peaceful I enjoyed myself every time I went. Thanks and I will see you soon.

Room Tip: Just don't take mine. I Love the Corvette Room. Near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent a long weekend at this motel and was pleasantly surprised at how well maintained and convenient this place was. Super large rooms. Located midway between Bryson City and Cherokee it offers a great base for whatever you may want to experience while in the Smokies. Wonderful owners/hosts will leave you with a right at home feeling. Good rates for the area make this place one that you should definitely consider. Thanks Gearhead Inn for a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicknman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fall just around the corner in NC. Had a wonderful time at the Gear Head Inn with Mary and Jim, the innkeepers! The renovations continue and the Inn is comfortable and clean! Boys against the girls in a game of "corn hole". Girls WIN!! Wonderful cool evenings to sit around the fire. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Corvette Room! Pick your favorite. Next time we hope for the Mustang room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adcveykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellijay, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

When my wife and I decided, on a whim, to take off on the bike for the N Carolina mountains for a day on the Sunday before Labor Day, I called the GearHead Inn to see if they had a room. We got the last king bed room - seems the weather forecast had kept some customers away. Glad we did. We always prefer to stay in quirky little motels rather than the chains. Makes for more of an adventure. This place is fun. Rooms are big, clean, and comfortable. Very friendly owners, Jimand Mary, always there to help with recommendations on where to eat or visit. They sat around the bonfire visiting with the guests. Very enjoyable stay. We recommend it to anyone looking for an out of the ordinary, true old style motel experience. Just like the motor inns of my youth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My son and I decided on a road trip to spend some time in the North Carolina Mountains. Our calls to find a place to stay kept getting rejected because of No Vacancy until we found Gear Head Inn along with Jim and Mary. What a wonderful place. Motor Inn will take you back to the 60's with a modern touch. The beds were comfortable and clean with plush white sheets, a lot of people overlook this point along with nice towels. They did a good job of renovating this old Inn. New carpet and great lighting with a 60's style. Every room appears to be named after a muscle car of the 70's. The lights around the pool were shaped like a gear shifter. Jim and Mary made us feel like we were home. We used Gear Head Inn as a base camp for us to raft the Nantahla River, Jet Ski Fontana Lake and tube on Deep Creek. Worthy of checking this place out on your next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are about 17' x 21' Plenty or room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my first trip to NC, my girlfriend and I stayed at the Gearhead Inn, Mary and Jim the Owner/Operators were awesome. So friendly, and helpful, giving us tips on where to eat locally. The 'Roadrunner' room, was neat and clean. Whatever we wanted, all we had to do was ask. Always a wave hello/goodbye whether you were leaving, or returning. While we were too busy with friends in the area, the pool looked very inviting, and they even had the fire pit going, we roasted marshmallows and made smores, so very homey. Old fashioned service thats hard to find at a chain. Will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Love all the improvements at the Gearhead Inn. We love the idea and theme rooms. The mustang room is our favorite! Thanks again, Jim and Mary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adcveykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
0.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 29 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gear Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gear Head Inn

Property: Gear Head Inn
Address: 6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gear Head Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the greatest cruising country in our nation, the Gear Head Inn is a destination for the young and young-at-heart who have a love affair with the open road. Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains, we are located on State Road 19, between Cherokee and Bryson City. Gear Head Inn is unique in its friendly atmosphere and immaculate,spacious accommodations. You'll feel right at home--here in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Gear Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing