We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to North Carolina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gear Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gear Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
“First trip to North Carolina”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my first trip to NC, my girlfriend and I stayed at the Gearhead Inn, Mary and Jim the Owner/Operators were awesome. So friendly, and helpful, giving us tips on where to eat locally. The 'Roadrunner' room, was neat and clean. Whatever we wanted, all we had to do was ask. Always a wave hello/goodbye whether you were leaving, or returning. While we were too busy with friends in the area, the pool looked very inviting, and they even had the fire pit going, we roasted marshmallows and made smores, so very homey. Old fashioned service thats hard to find at a chain. Will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Love all the improvements at the Gearhead Inn. We love the idea and theme rooms. The mustang room is our favorite! Thanks again, Jim and Mary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adcveykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Jim and Mary at the gear head went out of there way when we ha d issues with our bikes. The rooms were clean. And the muffins on Saturdays were top shelf. Good value for the rooms , and the freandship extended to customers invaluable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmaofwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for a guys weekend motorcycle adventure. The roomers were spotless. The hospitality was fantastic. There's even a fire pit in front of the pool where the owners roast marshmallows at night. No joke. Real deal Americana the way it should be. While automotive themed this is a clean place you can take you wife too. Shell be skeptical but satisfied in the end. Thanks well be back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davmaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Rooms are huge, much bigger than the big chain motels and Gearhead is themed around muscle cars and motorcycles. Each room has a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee. They also have free Wifi. To be honest, we made a trip 2 weeks before up the Blue Ridge Parkway and stayed at a big chain, Gearhead's pillowtop mattresses were more comfortable than the chain motel's. We plan on staying at Gearhead on all of our future trips to Cherokee, NC. It's comfortable and convenient to local attractions and they are biker friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel is a quaint place to stay. They are still doing renavations to the place but it is looking great. The room we stayed in had a kitchenette and was very spacious. The owners are absolutely wonderful and a delight to be aroun. We have added Mary and Jim to our extended family and hope to stay in touch with them as well as stay there again. We are planning a trip out there in June 2011 as well as in November 2011 and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SissyT213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, S.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed at the Gearhead Inn with our 2 boys in July. We had been staying in Cherokee at the Cool Valley Motel since 2000 and when we found out it wasn't going to have a pool this year we started looking around and we found the Gearhead Inn. Jim and Mary are the nicest people and we so enjoyed our stay at their motel. Our boys who are 16 and 13 loved the pool and stayed out there the whole time we were there. I would recommend this motel to anyone. It is a very nice motel and the rooms are clean and oversized and all 4 of us stayed in the room and we had plenty of room to move around. We have already gotten reservations for next year in July. Can't wait to go back.
Beverly from South Carolina

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof2boys15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
0.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
0.9 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
204 reviews
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#15 of 28 in Cherokee
194 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gear Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gear Head Inn

Property: Gear Head Inn
Address: 6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-8682
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gear Head Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the greatest cruising country in our nation, the Gear Head Inn is a destination for the young and young-at-heart who have a love affair with the open road. Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains, we are located on State Road 19, between Cherokee and Bryson City. Gear Head Inn is unique in its friendly atmosphere and immaculate,spacious accommodations. You'll feel right at home--here in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gear Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing