We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local and down home”

Smokey Mountain Barbecue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Local and down home”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Order at the counter and take to your table. Tasty barbeque with tangy vinegar red slaw. Definitely a local institution.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank beanthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    30
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My second time here. We used the drive thru this time. As we pulled up to the menu, the person taking the orders noticed that we were still checking the menu. He wisely said, take your tome and let me know when you are ready. Wow! This a first for me. After ordering then pulling up to the window our dog made his presence known and he asked if he would like a hush puppy. Again, another great customer service moment. We got our food and left happy. Thank you, and the chicken livers were perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimp92658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The food is top quality. Menu full of hidden gems.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My hubby and I are practically BBQ experts. At one point, he had a professional obligation to eat BBQ. And I can tell you Smokey Mountain is doing it right. We eat here, with our kids, with inlaws, each and every vacation in Ashe County. The pork bbq has delicious flavor and is lean, chopped shoulder meat without any less quality bits to add bulk. The bbq chicken is smothered in a sauce that I could eat with a spoon. The Brunswick stew has such complex, layered flavor that I somehow make room for it on my plate nearly every time. People if you like corn dogs, PLEASE order one here. They are housemade with hushpuppy batter on the outside and truly special. The sides are plentiful in choice. I like the pinto beans a lot, especially with a splash of the vinegar based sauce that is offered alongside the tomato one. This place has it all. They even have a grilled chicken breast and a salad on the menu. But don't miss the bbq folks. It is delicious. Doing it right at Smokey Mountain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteelMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken, filet and chopped A+”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Best fried chicken in town, not big on the country ham, but all three chicken meals, fried breast, chopped and filet were all delicious. Byron is a star!!!

Helpful?
Thank Louco1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, good home cookin'!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Rode by on the way to downtown West Jefferson and it was packed. Figured it must be good with all of the people/cars there, so we stopped on the way back by for lunch! I ordered white meat fried chicken with sweet potato casserole and macaroni & cheese. It was really good! The Mac & cheese wasn't that good, but unless it's the typical thick homemade kind, I normally don't like it. Next time I'll get double sweet potato casserole - I love it! Chicken was good, hush puppies were best I've had in a while. My boyfriend ordered BBQ sandwich, fries and brunswick stew. He enjoyed it, except for the brunswick stew. It's nothing like brunswick stew we've had in eastern NC, so that was a little disappointing. Overall pleasant experience! Good value at about $6.50 each.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Mountain Barbecue also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Smokey Mountain Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing