We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food for a reasonable price.”

Shokudo Japanese Seafood
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food for a reasonable price.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a dinner here. He had the steak with vegetables and I had the chicken with vegetables. We also ordered the pot stickers. Pot Stickers were okay, but could have used a little more flavor. My husbands steak was a little overcooked. Vegetables were delicious. We would go back. Atmosphere is lacking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodieoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crumpler, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food is very good, nice waitstaff, average pricing.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food has always been very good, the waitstaff is always very nice, the atmosphere is pleasant, the pricing is average and actually very good for lunchtime, the restaurant is always clean.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank enlighteneddecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service, small portions, burnt steak, unclean establishment, lazy staff.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Restaurant at one point in time was good....no longer!! Very small portions, steak was ordered medium but cooked beyond well done. Watery shrimp sauce, server never checked back...ran out of drink. Dining room was terribly dirty, wait staff stood around on phones discussing personal life. Only two tables in the entire place. Complaint of food quality was met with sheer resistance. Only positive - cold beer (the one I was served). What a waste of time and money!! Will never return!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarsonDandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefferson, nc
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Big portions, decent quality of food, good service, varied selection, clean restaurant, good atmosphere, not bad for Japanese in the mountains. The one time I ordered take-out they messed up my order resulting in an extended wait time, the staff is difficult to understand and does not speak good english

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackbear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very decent and flavorful japanese type cuisine Reasonable prices and service. The quantity of food is plentiful and served in a timely manner

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank daylilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shokudo Japanese Seafood also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Shokudo Japanese Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing