We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat at Smithey's.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smithey's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smithey's Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat at Smithey's.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have had one meal here so far, which we enjoyed. The food was good, fresh, and pleasantly served. We will go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancySkates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, NC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Now in Lansing. Basically a sandwich shop, but they do those well. They have a small indoor seating area, but their main business is take out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were hoping for a Southern home cooked dinner but it was not to be. The fare was very generic and not very tasty. It took forever to get our food and it wasn't worth the wait. The waitress was very friendly but she was the only one for quite a few people. The only entertainment was the fly buzzing our table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redbirdgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Slightly dive-ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

....and heavy on the grease. Low quality, unimaginative food at a correspondent price.

On the other hand, the old people locals love the biscuits and gravy here.

If that's not a warning, I don't know what is.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“basic fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you're looking for "home cooking" this is the place. You'll get your week's worth of cholesterol and then some here. Try not to let the local customers scare you!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithey's Cafe also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing