We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dive-ish”
Review of Smithey's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smithey's Cafe
Restaurant details
vientiene
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Slightly dive-ish”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

....and heavy on the grease. Low quality, unimaginative food at a correspondent price.

On the other hand, the old people locals love the biscuits and gravy here.

If that's not a warning, I don't know what is.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“basic fare”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you're looking for "home cooking" this is the place. You'll get your week's worth of cholesterol and then some here. Try not to let the local customers scare you!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast gravy and biscuits......but.....”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We eat breakfast there on Saturday mornings when we visit the Farmer's Market on the opposite side of the street. My eggs are always cooked perfectly and the browned country gravy over the perfectly made biscuits is to die for.....but......they just can't get the service part of it right. Every time we have eaten there only half of the seats are occupied but it seems like they never ever never have enough waitresses on hand to get to the tables and take the orders quickly. Then there are always several tables that are unbused which in my mind means they just don't have enough waitresses to greet folks, get them seated, take the drink orders quickly and get the food distributed quickly and then clean up to seat the next round of people. The restaurant business is HARD work I get it but I work HARD for the money I spend there so get me in and out more quickly. Understaffing might save some bucks for them but no matter how good the food is...... when you have to read something to occupy your time you feel you are wasting time going to Smithey's. I would suggest having two additional waitress/bussers on hand or having a strong buffet where you walk in, get seated, then go to the buffet and get what you want. But then buffets never taste as good as they look.....which Woodhaven II is a fine example of total disappointment but that is another review all together. Smithey's.......wake up and add more people to take care of your stuff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beboboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“country cooking”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Country cooking lives up to its name at Smitheys. Old time atmoshpere and down to earth staff! Good place to have breakfast!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank daylilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average Country cooking”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

They try their best here, but it is sometimes great, and sometimes just so-so; so call a head to see what they will be serving that day! The waitresses provide fast & friendly service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank starbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithey's Cafe also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing