We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fireside Paradise with Options”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Jefferson, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon P
2 reviews
“Not what it seems, a/c unit loud and did not cool, bad road to cabin, porch very nasty!”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cabin is located right on the river. You will need a 4 wheel to get in and out without problems. The AC unit was right in the middle of the living room and did not keep the cabin cool. It was so loud we could not hear the TV on the loudest level. No air circulation, even with ceiling fans on high. Damp and musky smelling. Once home all our cloths smelled like old smoke. You will need to wear flip flops in the shower, not clean at all. Our hopes for a lovely, quite week was nonexistent.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Hi,
We appreciate your visit and your experience seems to be quite different than others that have thoroughly enjoyed this lovely, quiet, quaint, river front "Casa De Rio". We are working on some future road upkeep and hope you will consider staying with 4 Seasons Vacations again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipsj...
Pulaski, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fireside Paradise with Options”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Down through the mountain laurel thickets on a bumpy mounatin road you go - popping out at the bottom on a spectactular and wilderness fork of the New River. A quick check of assets lends you canoes, tubes, kayaks, paddles, smokers, and grilles. More suttle furnishings include kerosene lamps, fishing equipment and gear, a humming bird feeder, an outside wash down, decorative porch lights, and fire pit. The kitchen and bath furnishings and supplies are well thought out and complete - right down to a first aid kit and a cork screw. A stone walkway leads you right into the water. Views are spectacuar and non stop. Huge undivided windows keep the river show on 24-7. Bring some firewood and charcoal for the firepit and light up a perfect stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gotta see it to believe it. Perfect get away.
Liked least: No problems at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Hi, We appreciate your poetic, picturesque description of Casa De Rio! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will come visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillK258
Oxford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Relaxing!”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was by far the most relaxing vacation we have had. The cabin was very clean! We enjoyed setting on the porch and by the river. The river water was cool and perfect for kayaking and relaxing in. The kitchen had everything we needed and the grill was perfect for cooking our dinners. West Jefferson was about 10 mins away for site seeing and grocery shopping. The road to the cabin could be a little rough for low clearance vehicles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Hi Jill, We appreciate your feedback/review on Casa De Rio. This river front cabin can bring GREAT relaxation to any couple or small family! We are so glad the cabin was well stocked and you found the convenience to town suitable. Our cabin, Casa De Rio, is perfect for those who want to just slow down, relax, and get away from it all! Slowing down on the community, gravel dirt roads to our mountain cabins, is always a good idea. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kikid1514
1 review
“Relaxing and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of four really enjoyed our stay here. The view was beautiful, the water was clear and we loved going canoeing & kayaking.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Hi,
We appreciate your feedback/review on your stay at Casa De Rio, and this house on the river has so much to offer a couple or small family of four such as yours. The river is very inviting and we are glad you were able to enjoy it and your stay at the cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing