We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a milkshake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candy Shack Cafe & Mercantile - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Candy Shack Cafe & Mercantile
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Get a milkshake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped here for ice cream after eating lunch at Black Jack's -- it's right down the street. My husband and I both ordered a chocolate shake. My husband asked if they made the shakes with vanilla ice cream and choc syrup, or if they used choc ice cream. The young girl behind the counter said that they used choc ice cream. We prefer the old-fashioned way, with the syrup, so we were delighted when the man working the café part of the restaurant offered to make our shakes the way we like them. He said that's how they're supposed to be made, but no one does it anymore. Our thoughts exactly! A small thing, but excellent customer service. The shakes were delicious. As we were leaving, he told us that if we were in town on Fri or Sat night, that they have live music in the back and that everyone has a great time, dancing, etc. Wish we could come back on Friday!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank she23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Jefferson, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even for somebody like myself who is from the town, the Candy Shack has a need little atmosphere that I really enjoy. Not to mention, the food is great and very reasonably priced. They also have live music on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nh70744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Chicken Awful-fredo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were told that "the food is very good," so we gave it a try. Sorry to say, it wasn't. If it were not for the candy section, the friendly staff, and the quintessential Smokey Mountain main street setting, the rating would be even lower. The Chicken Alfredo special was supposed to be sauce over vegetables (brocolli and carrots), but it arrived as soup on a plate; it should have been the soup d'jour rather than the main dish. We ate it anyway, because we were that hungry at the time. However, we will not be coaxed into the Candy Shack, especially if we are told "the food is very good."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Grill and Candy Barrels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Sit at an old fashion bar and enjoy a great hotdog, burger or special of the day. There is live music some nights, bluegrass or country. Have an ice cream cone or frosty drink to finish it off. Stroll around the little general store and get you choice of "penny" candy that we all remember from the good ole days.
The Candy Shack is on Jefferson Ave and is a great addition to downtown West Jefferson

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daylilygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candy Shack Cafe & Mercantile also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing