We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and inspiring”

Saint Mary's Episcopal Church
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chapel hill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful little church. Amazing frescoes. It's one of the stops on the Ben Long frescoe trail. Don't miss it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChapelHillNcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's quiant, warm and friendly. The people who are members treat you like an old friend, no matter how often you go or don't go

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wantatravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful stained glass windows and wonderful frescoes. We happened to be there when the docent was present. The church is always open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Frescoes inside this tiny church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife is an artist, and we had heard about an artist who had painted frescoes inside several churches in this region. Don't be surprised by the small size of the church, as inside are three amazing frescoes. They also have a wonderfully produced audio that describes everything about each of the frescoes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumpler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Historic Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a historic part of the West Jefferson community. We have a small, active church that is fully committed to community service, to one another and the Episcopal Church. St Mary's is home to 3 of the frescoes done by Ben Long. The other fresco is at Holy Trinity at Glendale Springs. The congregation alternates months attending service between the 2 churches. Our official name is The Parish of the Holy Communion. We warmly welcome visitors and are always hopeful for new members. Recently the Foundation for the Frescoes was started as a way to help maintain the frescoes and the buildings in which they reside. This foundation sits apart from the budget and running of the parish.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary's Episcopal Church also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Saint Mary's Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing