We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many to try!!”

Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So many to try!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

They have lots of different styles and types of cheese. Try a small sample of 4-5 to really appreciate the quality

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly27896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    77
    28
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“tasty stop”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice shop features locally made cheeses, which are awesome. Tours of factory are available, but did not have time to take one.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of Cheese!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you like cheese, don't miss visiting the cheese factory and cheese store in West Jefferson. The store has a large variety of cheeses made at the factory as well as cheeses made in other states and countries. There are wines, sauces, jellies, and other items available for purchase. They do offer cheese at a discount, too! Just look in the refrigerated wall case for the cheese trimmings and get 30% off. Be careful if you are looking for "made in NC" items - read the labels if that is what you want. Great place to get gifts to bring home to family and friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gurln2vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definitely stop in if you are passing through”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great visit to the cheese factory and store. They were making cheese when we were there (check the schedule on their website). We only hung out a few minutes in the factory area and then we were off to the store. Great variety of products, the cheese is absolutely delicious. Be sure to pick up some cheddar and cheese curds. We returned the next day for ice cream which was also amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Trip from Charlotte”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The town has some neat little shops and the cheese factory was good.
Read the prior reviews so we knew not to expect a fancy guided tour.
They had 3 or 4 kinds of cheese for tasting and we bought a few.
Was neat and we had a good time.
Would not take the drive up the mountain just for this, but combined with all the other touristy shops and such, it was worth the drive...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing