We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delcious fudge!”

Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delcious fudge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We came specifically for the fudge! The cheese is great, too, but it's a mountain tradition for our family to go to Smoky Mountain BBQ then come here for fudge to take back for dessert. It's delicious, especially the Snickers!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinagirl0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    76
    28
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fresh cheese at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A must stop for locally made cheese and butter in downtown W Jefferson. Reasonably priced and the store also carries local wines, preserves, jams etc.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheesy Goodness..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ever since I was a kid, I have been hooked on cheese curds (also called squeaky cheese) that Ashe County Cheese sells. I recall the school field trips to the cheese factory where I would purchase a bag and have the entire package consumed before the bus pulled back up to the school. I am thankful to still be an Ashe County resident because about once a week I make a trip to get my nostalgic squeaky cheese. At exactly 4 dollars a bag, this is a gem that I feel is best eaten when it is slightly warm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice store, friendly people and great cheese! I always enjoy going there when I'm in West Jefferson.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We always visit here when in town...the cheese in very good!! It is a must if you are in town! They also offer a tour which is pretty cool if you have never seen cheese made!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2go-va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ashe County Cheese Factory and Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing