We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in West Jefferson”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nation's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nation's Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Jefferson
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Sleepless in West Jefferson”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had read the reviews on this site and felt comfortable booking this hotel. On arrival to our rooms found stains on floor and bedding as well as mold in bathroom. There was a strong odor when we walked into the room. The crowing moment was finding the hair all over sink and in bath. I did ask to move rooms and the next room was better, but still had cracker crumbs on floor and table. Did not get a lot of sleep that evening.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newslady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad that the staff moved you to another room, but I'm sorry that housekeeping had not been thorough in vacuuming, we have addressed issues with housekeeping and hope you'll give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    15
    12
    14
See reviews for
18
24
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va/Nc Border
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ok, I stay here often when I travel to West Jefferson....yes it's not the Four Seasons...no gym...no pool...no evening cocktails....but I'm cheap when it comes to hotel costs. It has great rates that include my absolute necessity of wi-fi internet, very friendly staff, clean rooms, perfect location (a giant Ingles grocery store is across the street with several deli sections so you CAN eat healthy...and if like me you've already done all the restaurants). Josh is great, and did I mention the very reasonable rates?? Yes the continental breakfast is real basic but so what considering the other factors, oh and in room coffee and mini fridge too....and I like CLEAN. I will stay here the next visit...not worth it to me to experiment when I have a good thing...stay here several times a year minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad that everything met or exceeded your expectations, we do hope to see youa gain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed there for a week, the first day in, I have this habit of pulling the comforter off and putting it away, then I noticed my bed was not really made and the sheets looked ... well worn. I pulled the sheets back and sure enough there was actually debris, as if someone had been walking in the woods and then just climbed into bed, I was totally grossed out!!!
But with a simple call to the front desk a cleaning lady came right up, took everything off the bed and with fresh everything!! aaahhh that was more like it.
What a great staff, everyone is so friendly and really wanting to make sure your stay is nice.
The cleaning crew was amazing and did a great job each time they came in.
The breakfast is well.... not so continental but for the price of this hotel per night, you just cannot complain! I would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: The top floor corner rooms seem to be the most quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoyLifeSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you found your stay exceeded your expectations after a bump at the start. I'm very elated to hear that my housekeeping staff immediately remedied the situation and did a good job thereafter, that's what I like to hear. I do hope you'll stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This motel is a bit off of the Blue Ridge Parkway but in an area saturated with over priced accommodations, we felt like this would be a good place. While the location was ideal, the rooms were somewhat clean. Our room refrigerator seemed to leak a bit as the carpet around the unit was dampish and was stained like the problem was ongoing. Staff at the motel was friendly and accommodating offering us extra pillows. There are no quality restaurants within walking distance of this motel; just fast food places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear my staff was friendly and quick to respond. I'm glad most of your stay seemed to exceed expectations, we have replaced a few of the fridges due to concerns such as yours. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is ok. I was not greatly impressed. The room looked pretty nice and parts of it were clean. The show curtain had mold on the back which means they never close it to look at it. The bed was ok, but the pillows not real comfortable. The breakfast again, was ok, but could use some more items, as it had a very small selection. Might try somewhere else next time I stay in town. Most of the staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We have been working with housekeeping to better train them. We do hope you will give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I make a couple of trips to West Jefferson each year and on the most recent trip I decided that, rather than stay in Boone to collect Marriott or Priority Club points, I'd stay in West Jefferson and cut down on driving. I'd read reviews about new management at Nation's Inn, so I had my first stay there despite having driven by it many many times.

I booked through the online reservation form but had to phone to move back my arrival date. The front desk clerks were personable, cheerful and efficient on the phone, at check-in and at check out. I reserved a king non-smoking. The room was spacious and seemed larger than the rooms in Boone, though the bathroom was small and much more compact than in Boone. Nation's Inn was built before interior corridors became de rigueur for motels; that was also before travelers carried a lot of electronic devices, but the room had numerous electrical outlets. The free wifi was strong, fast and reliable. The room had a mini-refrigerator - one of the new models with a proper temperature control that keeps your beverages chilled without turning them into ice cubes. It didn't have a microwave, but a diner and a KFC/Taco Bell are just a few steps away. Watch your step while walking across the grass separating the parking lots, though, since guests use that area as a dog walk. Apparently the Nation's Inn is still one of the few hotels in the High Country to allow pets.

The breakfast area had two cereal dispensers and a waffle maker. Milk and juice appeared to be in canisters in the refrigerator rather than individual serving boxes. I skipped the continental breakfast because the rate is so low you don't feel like you're losing out if you don't take advantage of a perk. Also, many mornings I stream West Jefferson's radio station, WKSK, on line, and I'd heard so many commercials for "Louise's Sweet Tea Cafe located in People's Drug Store" that I had to have breakfast there while I was in town.

Room Tip: The online reservation form offers the option of "Mount Jefferson view" or "Mulatto M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellINever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad you found our staff courteous and well trained. I'm elated that the stay exceeded your expectations with perhaps the exception of the breakfast, unfortunately the lack of a proper kitchen limits what we can offer by North Carolina law. (That is we don't have stove or dishwasher). We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We always stay here when we come to West Jefferson. Staff is always accommodating. Rooms are clean. Very nice staff and pet friendly. Very easy to book. Across from grocery store and fast food. Near golf course

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pineheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK S, Owner at Nation's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for enjoying your stay. We are indeed very close to the Mountain Aire golf course and we do hope others will take advantage of that. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Jefferson
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
15.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
15.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
4.2 mi away
Buffalo Tavern Bed and Breakfast
Buffalo Tavern Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in West Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nation's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nation's Inn

Property: Nation's Inn
Address: 107 Beaver Creek School Rd, West Jefferson, NC 28694-7197
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > West Jefferson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nation's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Nation's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing