We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ralph's Barbecue”
Review of Ralph's barbecue

Ralph's barbecue
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Weldon
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ralph's Barbecue”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ralph's serves buffet style--barbeque (minced, pulled, anyway you want it) plus chicken and seafood on some days. They offer good, down-home country cooking with collard greens, mashed potatoes, gravy, cole slaw, and much much more as well as fresh tossed salad and all the fixings. Their banana pudding is superb. The staff keeps the food replenished and looking inviting. We stop every time we pass through Weldon and are never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikerGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    86
    37
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RALEIGH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent bbq buffet”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The buffet is a great way to get to taste many different things. Ralph's is a diamond in the rough. If you're in the area definitely go there because there's nothing else to do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best of Eastern NC Style BBQ”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the barbecue style I grew up on so I make sure to stop by here whenever I'm in the area and bring some home. Great bbq, chicken, and the fish is tasty as well. I would highly recommend their Brunswick stew!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Barbecue but fried chicken was the BEST!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good barbecue served several different ways on the buffet but the fried chicken was the BEST ever! I don't know who concocted that recipe as it was almost like a tempura batter. The same person needs to work on the hush puppies recipe - the were heavy and chewy! The buffet on Friday night also had shrimp and scollops and included the drink for $11.95. Beware - no credit cards - only cash and local checks although there is an ATM machine in their lobby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diamondgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great buffet - Carolina barbecue 3 ways! Servers are very friendly and helpful. Food is really good and very traditional. Stop here every time we're in the neighborhood!

Helpful?
Thank Leza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph's barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Ralph's barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing