We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian 15 minutes from Asheville”
Review of Glass Onion

Glass Onion
Reserve with OpenTable
Glass Onion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Weaverville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Glass Onion Is Open In Weaverville, Farm To Table Global Italian Cuisine. OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK LUNCH 11:30-3pm DINNER 5:00-9pm SUNDAY BRUNCH 11:30-3:00pm Reservations greatly appreciated so we can better serve you.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian 15 minutes from Asheville”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville, the Glass Onion is a sophisticated Italian culinary find on Main Street in the small town of Weaverville. My wife and I have eaten there four times now and our verdict is that the food is consistently excellent. For example, I am not generally a fish lover, but on a recent visit we shared one of the evening specials – a whole red snapper, served with caper berries on a bed of quinoa. The fish was cooked perfectly and seemed so fresh it could have come right off the boat. (The server explained – “The chef is from the Hamptons. He is really into fresh fish.”) The arugula salad with Prosciutto de Parm is highly recommended as is the beet salad. The wine list is reasonably priced with an emphasis on Italians. There is a reasonable beer list, with a few craft beers.

A few days later, my wife and daughter hit the place for Sunday brunch. Both gave it two thumbs up.

One of the best foodie deals in western North Carolina is the every-Wednesday night dinner special in which all the pasta dishes are less than $15 and all the bottles of wine are half price. It’s well worth the quick drive over from Asheville.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    66
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner on a Sunday night”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We decided to go out last minute this past Sunday (3-2-2014) and decided on the Glass Onion in Weaverville, NC... We have eaten here before and had a fantastic dinner that night also...The restaurant was busy when we arrived, but we were quickly seated given menus and water by The host William, and in a matter of minutes our server ( Mandy) came by to take our drink order...The food, service and ambiance of the Glass Onion is outstanding...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been 3 times, and cannot wait to return! Everything is great here. Nice greeting when you arrive, great friendly service. This restaurant is NOT overprices for the terrific quality of the food, service, and excellent desserts! you get what you pay for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lot of Heart in the Food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

You can really tell that the chef's enjoy cooking and are passionate about it. I have eaten here about 3 or 4 times and loved every meal. Not only is it delicious, but it is different from the normal fare around here. Each dish is made with a lot of thought and reminds me of what a quaint little restaurant in Italy would be like. The Wild Boar Bolognese was to die for! And so was the Roasted Short Ribs with Sweet Potato Gnocchi. Everything tastes so fresh and delicious. Oh and go on Wednesdays...half price wine and $15 pasta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcharlier320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth the 10 min drive!!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times. this time my brother was in from California, and I wanted to take him to the best! we went on a sunday nite and once again were not disappointed, he had the the harvest salad special for an app which was roasted root veggies over arugula, toasted pumpkin seeds and fried goat cheese. my wife had the apple prosciutto salad also a special. I had the unbelielable delicious celeriac fritter salad. we all shared and im biased but mine was best!
entrees : he had the rabbit papperdelle which was frickin awesome!!!! she had the veal francais which was to die for and I had the shortrib sweet potato gnocchi. GIVE ME SOME MORE!!!!!!
while we were ther they got a few more people one of the c
tables had a child which they totally accompanied .This is the place you want to take people when they come to Asheville. its a nice place the servers are great an and very professional. the food is out of this world andnet door is a great little pottery studio Magnum Pottery.
Do it people you kn you wanna!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chef ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion also viewed

Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing