We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Glass Onion

Glass Onion
Reserve with OpenTable
Glass Onion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Weaverville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Glass Onion Is Open In Weaverville, Farm To Table Global Italian Cuisine. OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK LUNCH 11:30-3pm DINNER 5:00-9pm SUNDAY BRUNCH 11:30-3:00pm Reservations greatly appreciated so we can better serve you.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent Italian food with a flair--Wild Boar Bolognese with penne! WOW! Killer garlic bread and the dessert was to die for! Beautiful space and the service was excellent. Wish this was in my home town--I'd go every week!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank divapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    63
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for sure!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are foodies and have great restaurants in the heart of downtown Asheville...This fabulous gem in weaverville with a Chef who knows his craft is simply wonderful...We have been there on four different visits and every time it is ON POINT!!!..the Specials are exquisite and the menu wide in range with a perfection of a chef who cares...Please visit and tatste for yourself...The staff is incredible and we are already looking forward to the next meal at The Glass onion!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helio48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unusually delicious!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

New restaurant with cooks from touted restaurants in Hamptons of Long Island NY - where the rich live and play; so you KNOW the food is going to be something special - and it is! I had the salmon sandwich; best I have ever had by far. I don't know what herbs they put in the salmon, but it was fantastic - moist, flavorful, and topped with wasabi aioli, lettuce, with brioche style bun. The potato chips are hand made and are to DIE for - melt in you mouth delicious! My husband raved about his choices as well. Very lovely décor - kept the old tin ceiling with updated simple décor and art all about - art to be expected in this area of the country. Prices very reasonable. Nice bar, plenty of seating. Right on the main street, free parking everywhere, lots of unique art galleries to explore...what could be better?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winkie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warm & friendly”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

if your looking for nice food with a friendly warm atmosphere and a fair price this is well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfinna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free meal”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As a last minute decision, my husband and I decided to try The Glass Onion. I asked if gluten free pasta was available and not only was it available, but our server, Susan, immediately brought us gluten free bread with garlic and olive oil dipping sauce. We enjoyed excellent creative salad specials for the evening, good wine and delicious pasta dishes. As soon as our pasta was served Susan immediately asked us to wait a moment so she could double check with the kitchen that gluten free pasta was used. Later she offered to advise us on which desserts were gluten free.
Our meal was very good and the service was excellent. We will be back - and will make reservations. The restaurant was packed; we were lucky to be able to be seated without them that evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBGAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Onion also viewed

Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing