We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on Main Street B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Weaverville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing weekend”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in the area for a friend's wedding, and had originally picked the Inn just because its location was convenient. What good luck: It turned out to be an excellent choice. Our room was charming and well laid-out. The inn's back porch (where we had our breakfast) overlooking the garden became my favorite spot to sit and relax. I loved having the wine and appetizer hour in the evening, since it gave us a chance to meet our hosts and fellow guests in a very relaxed, sit-around-and-chat atmosphere. Our hosts were very helpful with restaurant information (although, like many others, we already had plans for the excellent Stony Knob Cafe), good areas for our morning walks, and other assistance. And the breakfasts with Dan's muffins and omlettes ... I'm definitely spoiled!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
106
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarzana, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Inn on Main Street was one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we've ever stayed in. The number one thing that impressed us was the warmth and hospitality of the owners, Dan and Nan. From making sure every delicious food item they prepared for us was keeping with my wife's Vegan diet to telling us where to go in Ashland (which is only 10 minutes away) and telling us stories about the area and its history (Dan was a local newspaper reporter and editor). The accommodations are charming (very "Victorian") and the breakfasts were delicious (especially the muffins!) which were served on the back porch veranda overlooking the small garden that provided some of the veggies for culinary creations served to us each morning. And as an extra little surprise, there were 3 restaurants with live music only 2 to 4 short blocks from the Inn - and the music was really good acoustic folk and rock. I would highly recommend the Inn on Main Street to anyone who wants a great bed and breakfast experience at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very nice place for couples with a small well behave dog. Cozy and quaint for our first stay ever at a B & B. Interesting inn keepers Dan and Nancy. Had a knowledge of the area and even shared old photos of the Inn and it's original occupants. I have already told others about it. Reasonably priced and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The short story: Lovely accommodations, delightful hosts, and delicious breakfast in a quiet, relaxing location!

The full story: A last minute decision to stay in Asheville on our trip back from Hilton Head landed us at the Inn on Main Street. A year earlier, we had enjoyed a 2-night stay in Asheville at the Reynolds Mansion on our way to HHI, but because we hadn't done any advance planning this time, we found ourselves in Asheville without a clue of where we might stay. We followed the signs to the visitor center, arriving 10 minutes before they closed at 5pm on Saturday. The friendly man behind the desk seemed quite determined to send us to a downtown hotel, but we insisted that we preferred to stay at a B&B. He noted that he had stayed at the Inn on Main Street in Weaverville, and that it was nice, and might possibly still have last-minute accommodations. Back in the car, with phone numbers and some brochures in hand, I called Reynolds Mansion which was booked, but while I was talking to the innkeeper, I made sure to get the number of the Stoney Knob Cafe where we had eaten a delicious meal last year. After trying a couple of the Asheville B&B's which were all booked, I figured Weaverville was worth a try and called the Inn on Main Street. Turned out that they had 2 rooms available, and it was only 10 minutes away, so I had them hold a room for us, and we headed that direction. In the meantime, I called and made dinner reservations - no matter what we were going to that cafe for dinner!

We got to the inn just as the cocktail hour was about to start on the back porch, and checked into a lovely room as we sipped our wine, sampled some appetizers, and chatted with the other guests. After a bit, Nancy, the innkeeper, brought us out a stack of menus, but I noted that we already had reservations for dinner. She asked where, and I said we didn't know exactly how far away it was, but we had reservations at the Stoney Knob Cafe. Everyone laughed...one couple said "oh we're going there tonight", and another said "oh, we went there last night, and it was great!" Turns out that the restaurant was only about a mile or so down the street from the Inn! The place we had stayed the previous year was just a couple miles further down the road!

Though it was only a short one-night stay, we had a wonderful time. Our room (Ayers) was large and airy, and the spacious bathroom was well-appointed and very clean. If it had been a little cooler, I would have loved to have tried out the cute gas fireplace in our room. After dinner, we walked a couple blocks downtown to the Jack of Hearts where they had a surprisingly good "gritty alternative country" group playing - lots of fun! Breakfast the next morning on the porch was delicious - fresh fruit, tasty fresh muffins, apple stuffed French toast, and homemade tomato juice - accompanied by the soothing sounds of the garden fountain, and punctuated by visits from hummingbirds at the feeder on the end of the porch! Goes to prove that sometimes, last minute decisions can be the best decisions!

Room Tip: Ayers room is very quiet - very creaky floorboards, so not so sure if the Lee room underneath would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestaurantCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a beautiful, peaceful property, low-key and welcoming. Breakfast is amazing, and the location in Weaverville is very close to Asheville but psychic miles away from the commotion of the city. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They're all good, but if you want a little more privacy, ask for one of the two rooms in the sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dan and Nancy were very nice to chat with. They serve very good meals and were helpful in giving information about the area. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tllaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner's Dan and Nancy were spectacular and very gracious. The setting is magnificent. This is a must if passing through or as a local resident. We'll be coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTRHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverville
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
194 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
8.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
5.1 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,982 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Asheville North
Days Inn Asheville North
#46 of 66 in Asheville
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Main Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Main Street B&B

Property: Inn on Main Street B&B
Address: 88 S Main St, Weaverville, NC 28787-9205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Weaverville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Main Street B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and eco-friendly Victorian getaway near Asheville and the Biltmore Estate in quiet, artsy Weaverville. Enjoy mountain views during breakfast on the porch. Walk to restaurants, galleries and a scenic mountain lake. Near golf, hiking, rafting, natural hot mineral baths and world-class canopy tour. Seven rooms with private baths, most with fireplaces and some with whirlpool tubs. We accommodate vegan, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. All breakfasts and evening refreshments are made from scratch using ingredients from our organic gardens. Spa, Biltmore and adventure specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on Main Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing