We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Stay”
Review of The Dry Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weaverville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dry Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Weaverville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were given back this stay by our son as he was given this for Christmas gift two years ago. All I can say is that is was his loss and our wonderful gain as we had a great time at the Dusenberrys home. Howard and Kristen are the ultimate hosts and they make you feel right at home. If you are looking to travel to Ashville I would highly recommend The Dry Ridge Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Harley Suite. Enjoyed our homemade breakfast each day. Howard and Kristen were very friendly and glad to answer any questions about the Ashville area. We were amazed how close the Dry Ridge Inn was to everything we wanted to see. Everything was very neat and tidy. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a nice stay despite cold, rainy weather. We stayed in the Mary Suite on a Saturday night (there was one other couple there) and Sunday night (no other guests that night). You have your choice of meal time: 8, 8:30, or 9am.
The hosts are nice and professional but not overly friendly or pushy. They are available at any time by an indoor doorbell that rings to their cottage next door.
Upon check-in, we were kindly offered a free upgrade from the Harley suite (3rd floor) to the Mary suite (1st floor) due to my pregnancy (easier for luggage, etc.) We thought that was very nice and gratefully accepted. (Although I was a little disappointed because I chose the Harley suite based on its more modern furnishings.) All rooms have a gas log fireplace which is wonderful!
This home is very old with formal furnishings. Many people love that old-house charm but I grew up in an old house so I'm not impressed by uneven, creaky wooden floors and doors.
Note that the Mary suite has a tiny bathroom so if you are plus-sized, you may want to ask about another suite.
The breakfasts are elegant but not super-sized. Sunday morning breakfast was like 1/4 banana per person, sliced and served with a few berries and a yogurt drizzle, followed by an egg-tomato souffle and croissant. Monday morning breakfast was 1/2 tart grapefruit plus mini-bran muffin followed by heavenly waffles with sausage. You have your choice of juices, coffees, teas.
You have a lovely view of the landscaped garden/waterfall during breakfast.
The free wi-fi was hassle-free.
Weaverville is just 5 minutes outside of Asheville. We liked the location very much, especially considering that B&B's in Asheville-proper seemed pricier when I searched.
Think ahead: when you sign out, the credit card receipt has a place for gratuity. I had never seen that before so I froze up and pretended to not see it (left it blank). Should you tip? Not sure.

Room Tip: Outside of the Dora suite is a guest fridge, snacks, coffee maker, microwave (you could probably hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dry Ridge Inn gets high notes from us for a clean, comfortable, and friendly place to visit.
At breakfast Howard took time to anwer any question about the area, while Kristen provided us with a variety of delightful taste treats. Some nights the aroma of fresh baking made us wonder what to expect the next morning. Sleeping in peace and quiet rated high for us. Comfortable beds too. The garden must be lovley when flowers finally arrive. The only sad thing was we could only spend five nights and hope that Howard and Kristen would have us again someday!
Thank you both very much.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice and special, spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaW863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Dry Ridge Inn while visiting the Biltmore Estates. It was convenient and very comfortable. The three breakfasts we were served during our stay were all different and delicious. Our Innkeepers made you feel special but the atmosphere was relaxed. The gas fireplace in our room was wonderful during the cooler days we stayed in March. We would make this choice again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary room. Beautiful decoration and plenty of room except the bath was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our return visit to the Dry Ridge Inn was like coming home. Our welcome was warm and inviting. Breakfasts continue to be delicious, and the company of other guests a pleasure. We will be moving to Weaverville this summer, and although we may not be guests again at the Dry Ridge Inn, we will definitely refer any visitors to this lovely inn.

Room Tip: There are two ground floor rooms for those who would rather not navigate stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This B&B had got to be the best deal in the Asheville Area. Howard and Kristen have crafted a complete B&B experience at an affordable price. This B&B has it all -- Great Rooms --- Great Breakfasts created by Kristen. Fun movie library of over 200 movies -- wished we stayed longer to watch more of them. Close to everything Asheville. Discounted tickets to the Biltmore. The main street of Weaverville is just a 2 block walk. We really felt we were in Mayberry. The restaurant choices are varied (check the Dry Ridge Inn website) --- no need to go to Asheville for a meal. Quiet residential neighborhood Howard and Kristen are onsite to help you with any needs. We will be back. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The "King" rooms are large and offer wide screen TV's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckpunkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dry Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dry Ridge Inn

Address: 26 Brown St, Weaverville, NC 28787-9403
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Weaverville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverville
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dry Ridge Inn is as affordable as its keepers are informative – rates here are less than you'll find elsewhere. For less, you'll get more – easy access to Asheville and a quick return to a safe, small mountain town whose residents smile and say hello as they pass each other on the sidewalk. Indeed, you may find yourself falling in love with Weaverville as Howard and Kristen did when they moved here more than a decade ago. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing