We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Days Inn Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Days Inn Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I recently spent a night here while traveling. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again although it wasn't terrible. I was under the impression that they served breakfast. They didn't have as much as coffee to offer their guests in the lobby, no less breakfast. The room smelled strongly of soap, probably rug shampoo which was overwhelming. I could not find a working drink machine or snack machine anywhere on site. Tap water was it. On the bright side, the bed was comfortable and I liked that the room was basically clean. They provided a hair dryer and soap, shampoo and some other basics. The office folks were distant and not really welcoming. With just a few improvements, it could be a much better experience.

Shirley G

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    16
    10
    14
See reviews for
31
27
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lexington, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here the first week in January. The room was very clean. Although the hotel showed a little age, it has apparently had a few upgrades. The beds were comfortable. The shower was hot and I found it difficult to get out of. The heat was more than adequate. the rooms were large with a mini fridge and microwave. The drive way in was steep and curvy, (glad I didn't have to drive it) but the view makes it more than worth it. The desk clerk at check in wasn't very inviting but the manager seemed to have a lot of pride in the property. Our next trip to the area will find us booked back in at the Days Inn with a view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitbull_M0mma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel instead of staying in Maggie Valley while skiing, I paid $104 (including tax) for two nights. The Hotel is at the top of a steep hill, with switch backs, it would be very difficult to get in / out of in snow or ice conditions. I did see a Jeep in the parking lot with a snow plow, don't know if it would work. The room was very comfortable and large with a mini fridge and Microwave. - The bathroom in our room could use a remodel - the tub had a 4 in hole in the middle that looked like it was patched with a piece of wood. The biggest down side is that the hotel wants to be seen from the valley so they light it up with giant floodlights that shine brightly into all the rooms so there is light in the room all night. However the hotel has an excellent continental breakfast. I would give this place a try again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckinney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western north carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The views are wonderful and if that is The most important item than this will do it. Just bring your own ice and extra sheets, towels, and blankets. The girl at the front desk was most unfriendly.
The pillows were very comfy, there was no hot water in the am with only 7 or 8 rooms rented. The rooms were over sprayed with a very strong odor remover ( to cover who knows what). I would avoid this hotel. We found the Microtel in Maggie valley to be much much better than this Days Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtcrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Our stay here was very good, considering I didn't know what to expect the room to look like upon arrival. We were staying there for a wedding in Maggie Valley. The view from our balcony was beautiful, and it was nice having the balcony as well. The bed was very comfortable, the mini fridge was nice and cold, and the shower was nice as well. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, so I don't have any comments on that.

Only downsides I have for our stay was that the housekeepers didn't come back to our room to tidy up after we took down our "do not disturb" hanger, even though they were still working on rooms just a few away from us when we left for the day. Not a big deal, but it is nice to have fresh towels, etc. The bathroom was nice, except it seems a little bit run down in terms of paint/scuffs on the wall/etc. Everything in the whole room was very clean, however, and we enjoyed the stay! We were out of the room for most of it.

Room Tip: Definitely get one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

First time, we had to take sleepingpills to be able to sleep - the a/c was so loud. They had spayed the room with some kind of aircleaner and it did stink terrible - but it was cheap and a great view over Smokey Mountains. Staff was very sweet !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelstrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Each room in this hotel probably had the best view of any in the smokies. The switchback driveway reminded us that we were in the mountains. The rooms were perfectly clean. The beds were comfortable and just right for bad backs.
Bring a cooler, the ice maker was broken.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famtravelerBaker_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
2.2 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 232 Phillips Rd, Waynesville, NC 28786-7229 (Formerly Relax Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waynesville
Waynesville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing