We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was dated and worn out .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I felt the facility was run down. It felt old and dated. For the money spent it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

I'm sorry our accommodations and the overall value of our resort did not exceed your expectations. Several rooms, especially some located in our historic lodge, are styled in a way that celebrates the uniquity and sense of tradition at our Inn. While many guests prefer these accommodations, others prefer our more modern lodging options. I hope the service level you experienced was enough to earn a second visit. We certainly value your feedback and want to improve on your opinion of our property. Please contact me directly to arrange another stay or to discuss your recent experience. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 572 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

Spent three days with friends on a golf outing at Waynesville Inn. My first time there but group has been there several time over the years. We stayed at he the Brookside Building which appears to be one of the newer ones on the property. The rooms were basic, well equipped and clean. I found the charm of the place in it's 75 year history and solidness of the stone faced main lodge. We ate two nights at the Cork & Cleaver main dining room. The menu was varied and everyone of our eight claimed to enjoy their choices. I had a strip steak one night and swordfish the other. Both very good. The golf package is a bargain. We played 63 holes on the three nine hole courses. Mountain golf. The staff was outstanding in it's effort to accommodate our group, from the front desk, wait staff, and the golf crew. The homey friendliness is quite infectious and the surrounding Smokey Mountains are beautiful. I'll be going back with the group next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share a review of our Inn. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed both the sense of nostalgia at our resort as well as some new things like the Cork & Cleaver, which was renovated and reopened last year. I truly believe our staff shares the same love for our property and the surrounding area as you, which helps foster the atmosphere that you enjoyed so much. I will pass your kind words along to the entire team here. We look forward to having you and your group back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Waynesville Golf Resort & Spa is nestled in a picturesque area located very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's a convenient location for day trips to Asheville, the National Forest and even to the Pigeon Forge vicinity. The rooms in the "Golfview" building where we stayed, looked out over a fairway with a mountain backdrop. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and we had a balcony from which to enjoy the wonderful view. We had a refrigerator, coffee maker, internet access in the room and a spacious closet. There is a pool on site and a 27 hole golf course as well as two restaurants...one a bit more formal than the other.No matter when we stopped by the reception desk, staff members were most helpful. The wait staff in the casual restaurant were not terribly attentive and the food was pretty average, although the breakfast buffet included individually made omelettes and one could ask for a "to go" cup of coffee to enjoy on the veranda overlooking the golf course. A special highlight was the availability of the Biltmore Spa for on-site massages. We stayed 4 nights and thought it was a very good value....especially with an on-line discount available! We would definitely go back if we were in that area and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

It is very rewarding to hear that guests are recommending our resort to their friends. We are extremely lucky to be surrounded with such beautiful natural scenery, and are constantly working to expand our offerings and continue our tradition of exemplary service. I apologize for our food service and quality not measuring up to the rest of your experience with us. Please contact me directly when you would like to return to Waynesville for a stay with us. Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Overnighting at the Waynesville Inn on our way to the beach is a new family tradition. The Inn is a fantastic place to stop and catch your breath. So many things make this stopover worthwhile - all are great: golf, staff, food, cozy rooms, mountain views.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TardisCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear you were able to relax and enjoy all the different things we offer here at the Inn. Our staff will be very happy to hear kind words from another satisfied guest. We look forward to serving you and your family the next time you are passing through Waynesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I have been staying at WCC and playing golf there for the last 12 years, once or twice a year. The place is charming; the grounds and views are beautiful. The rooms are small in the older section, but it has the charm of a 75+year-old resort. The newer buildings have spacious rooms. The few people who do not like WCC do not appreciate the mountain surroundings,the charm of the rustic buildings, or the friendly staff, and are obviously expecting a 5-star hotel with continental cuisine. The food is pretty basic, but good, and the value is superb for the entire golf package including room, golf, and meals. Please ignore the one or two people who would write a bad review if they were at the Ritz-Carlton, and enjoy the WCC for what it is, i.e. a small mountain golf resort nestled in the beautiful mountains of NC!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank Golfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your fondness for our resort. It is very encouraging to hear from guests that have enjoyed staying with us time and time again. We appreciate your continued support and look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

One may appreciate a somewhat attractive building and grounds, but ultimately, it is the room you spend your time in that matters. We only stayed based on a sale with hotels.com, but I can tell you the room was certainly not worth the sale price, let alone the pre-sale one. As noted by others, the rooms are pre-70's with dark paneling, homemade plank doors, an antique 24 inch Magnavox TV, and 1x4's for door trim, as done by a do-it-yourselfer, not a pro..

Front desk staff person was great. Did not eat here as we were on the run and don't play golf. Wouldn't really have mattered since it was raining all afternoon.

The room was essentially clean, but a big disappointment from the photos and descriptions given. It was a pure bait and switch.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rk821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Just experienced a three-day destination wedding hosted by the Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa. The resort hosted a rehearsal dinner replete with fantastic North Carolina pulled pork barbeque, collard greens, mac & cheese, baked beans that was fabulous and so tasty many guests hurt them selves by eating too much! Afterwards they hosted a late night Champagne & Chocolate cocktail party in the Tap Room for our group, with beautiful Absolut Chocolate Martinis, Spanish cava, premium liquors and a great selection of imported beer and wine, and the most beautiful display of white, milk and dark swedish chocolates I've ever seen. This was for all the guests who arrived Friday night,and people are STILL talking about it! It was stellar. Finally, the bridal luncheon on Saturday was elegant, tasty and really well done. All three events were carried out exactly to the bride's specifications, with the staff going well out of their way to ensure we had every need taken care of. Honestly, we had no complaint with the entire affair. If you were considering a group meeting or family reunion or wedding in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina, the Waynesville Inn will not disapoint. Feel free to contact me for more details if you are a perfectionist like I am!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracycfbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
3.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.8 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
103 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range: $104 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing