We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Holes-in-one, Some Bogeys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Yadkin Valley (North Carolina)
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some Holes-in-one, Some Bogeys”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Solo traveler this trip, attending a two-day (Friday evening and Saturday day) conference in mid-September 2013. I had stayed here for a prior year conference, so this was a return trip after 7 years.
ROOM: I was unable to book a quaint room in the Main Lodge, so I had an end room in the Fairway section. This is one of the oldest sections of the Inn, and it showed. Carpet was in fair condition, but bunched in the main area in sections. Two part bathroom, small section for single sink and counter, commode and shower tub. Larger section with long counter and another single sink, I liked being able to spread out my personal care items. There was plenty of hot water, an adjustable showerhead, clean towels, bath mat and shower mat, soap and shampoo. My room had no microwave or mini-fridge, though I saw a staff member delivering a mini-fridge to an adjacent room. Non-smoking room, but patio table and chairs and an ashtray provided outside on ground floor patio that opened to a green provided for my smoking needs. A/C unit was relatively quiet and effective for outside nighttime lows of 45 and daytime highs of 75. It might have been more difficult to cool to my desired 70 in the summertime. Two queen beds were firm and extra pillows and blankets were available in the open closet shelf. Coffee maker adequate, you brew coffee into a hard plastic carafe. TV was older model CRT with remote, although I was unable to find a sleep timer, which I feel is a shortcoming. Venetian blinds worked well, though for absolute privacy, one might want to be on the second floor. I was able to hear a running child in the room above. There were cobwebs in the venetian blinds at the window sill area.
FOOD: I ate dinner on Friday night in the tap room sports bar & grill. It was crowded due to our conference and a reunion group. I had an excellent paella with chicken, shrimp and andouille (sp) sausage in spicy cajun rice. They do have a full bar and flat screen TVs around the area. I talked to some diners who were local townspeople who come regularly for the good food. While service was slow due to full house and only two waitstaff, both were very polite and efficient under the circumstances. I did not eat at the breakfast buffet, which I felt was a bit pricey.
CONFERENCE ROOM: The Blue Ridge Conference Room was spacious with excellent HVAC (unlike many places that can get very stuffy). Service staff were polite and efficient.
OVERALL: I would consider staying here on my own, although I would stay in a different building. The grounds are lovely, and I thoroughly enjoyed the view and the cool less humid weather compared to my Piedmont North Carolina home, just 3 1/2 hours east.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting your group last week and we appreciate you sharing some details of your stay with the TripAdvisor community. I appreciate your extensive feedback and have sent your comments to the remainder of the management team for review. Thanks again for posting a review. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    210
    98
    49
    31
See reviews for
100
299
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We played one round of golf on 2 of the beautiful 9-hole courses. Or golf view room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the course. The beds were very comfortable and we were as far from the main lodge as could be, but the walk back and forth was not too far.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in the Golf View section away from the main lodge. There are not many rooms with ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us in Waynesville. It is very gratifying to hear from another satisfied guest. In reference to your room tip, we are a bit limited on kings but do have plans to convert to them in many of our existing double rooms in the near future. Thanks again for your business, and for your time in posting a review of the Inn. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINSTON SALEM
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a historic room in the lodge. The desk staff was WONDERFUL - cordial and efficient!!! The recommendations of local restaurants was spot on. The room was very quiet and clean - quite comfortable - a great value. We used a Living Social coupon .... but, will go again with or without a coupon.

Room Tip: It was lovely to go out on the veranda and sit in the evening catching up on emails and rocking in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Waynesville Inn for your recent mountain getaway! I am glad that you found our staff so helpful and the rooms so comfortable. The greatest compliment we can earn is a return visit, and I hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Thanks again for your business. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights/three days at the Waynesville Inn last week. It was tranquil and beautiful. We played two of the three nine-hole golf courses. The Dogwood was a manicured course, the Blue Ridge more farm-like. Both courses were fun to play. The included breakfast buffet and omelette station were excellent. We ate one dinner and one lunch in the Inn's casual restaurant. Food was very good. Our room was in the Golfview complex. It was large and well-equipped with fridge, microwave, large closet, and a nice patio with two chairs & a table.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. On the second floor, you'd be able to open the balcony doors at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachapmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay enough to share some details with the TripAdvisor community. I have forwarded your review to the golf maintenance and breakfast staffs, and I am sure they will appreciate your kind words. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend because of a Groupon deal. The grounds were great, our room was very spacious and generally comfortable. The patio was a great place to unwind, and the view was gorgeous. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of selection, including an omelette and waffle bar. The only negative part of our stay were the mattresses. They were surprisingly firm and rather uncomfortable. We slept okay but it was not an entirely restful sleep for us. We are not too picky our stay- after all, a hotel room is simply a place to shower and sleep- but when the mattress doesn't give you a good night's sleep it can affect your opinion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your business and for taking a few moments to share your thoughts about the Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us in Waynesville, but I am sorry your sleep wasn't as restful as it should have been. We are working each day to eliminate such shortfalls in experience. As such, I have e-mailed you and I hope you will respond with the room number from your recent stay so we can take a closer look. Thanks again for your post and your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading such varying reviews about the resort, when we arrived we really didn't know what to expect. We stayed in one of the Golfview rooms over looking the golf course. Beautiful view of the mts. and course. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony.It was a short walk to the main lodge where a great complimentart breakfast was offered. A wide varity of foods, including a chef who who made omelets or waffles to order. The people at the front desk where very nice and helpful. We ate one meal at the Tap Room. Great hamburger! The room was very spacious, large closet and even sliding drawer selves under the sink to store you bath toiletries to get them off the counter. Overall it was a great weekend and the course was great. We would definitely recommend others to stay here.

Room Tip: second floor of the golfview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us in Waynesville. I am happy your stay exceeded the expectations you had developed prior to your arrival. I appreciate your time in posting a review about the Inn and hope to have you as a guest again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip to Waynesville Inn to celebrate wedding anniversary. We took advantage of a Groupon offer and had a nice relaxing time. We were in a ground level mountain view room situated on one of the golf course greens. The patio was a nice place to relax and enjoy a beautiful view with great weather. The breakfast buffet was very ample and the staff friendly. Our only complaint was that the mattresses could use some updating and our room smelled like pet urine. Good thing we brought some air freshener which helped with the smell! It might be time for the carpet in that particular room to get a good cleaning. Overall, the room was clean and spacious though. We would definitely consider coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Waynesville Inn as the destination for your recent anniversary getaway. I appreciate your time in posting a review of our property and apologize for the difficulties you encountered in your guest room. I have contacted you to obtain your room number so we can correct these issues for future guests. Thanks again for sharing your special occasion with us! I hope to see you in Waynesville again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
BEST WESTERN Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#1 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing