We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This past weekend, our group of Fraternity brothers went to the Waynesville Inn for the 22nd year in a row. The golf was outstanding. The course was in beautiful shape, and the greens were absolutely perfect. The only waiting on the course was due to players in our own group, and we quickly corrected that.

The poor service took place at the restaurant, which we eat breakfast and dinner each day we're there, so Friday, Saturday, and Sunday morning. Friday night, we were literally the only people in the restaurant, and it still took 90 minutes to get our entrees. In addition, when we arrived that evening for our 7pm reservation, the wait staff had no idea who we were or why we were there. In other words, our reservation never got booked. They made amends, but the fact that we were the only ones in the restaurant made that much easier.

The service on Saturday night was very similar, although this time they knew we were coming, and had a nice table for our entire group outside. But again, the service was very poor, and very slow.

To top all that off, the average ticket for EACH person in our group was over $50. That's $50 for one person's dinner, PLUS drinks, if you ordered alcohol.

We'll be back next year, assuming it's still in business (you could easily see some drastic cut backs and lack of maintenance around the hotel facilities), because that's our tradition. However, we all agreed that we would order pizza for dinner, save $500 for our group, and hang out at the Cottages, rather than endure the poor service and WAY overpriced food.

Breakfast buffet - especially the omelette bar - is very, very good. Not as good as the golf, but very good.

Room Tip: The "cottages" are where we always stay, but they are OLD. The "Fairways" are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

First of all, thank you so much for your support over the years. I am very sorry that you experienced some shortfalls in service while you were here, but I am happy to have heard your group has chosen to stay with us again next year. We have already discussed your review and are working to improve in the areas that you have highlighted. I look forward to you and your brothers returning around the same time in 2014, and hope you will leave more satisfied than after any of your prior stays. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 582 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where do I even begin..!? This was one of the upmost respectable Golf Resorts that me and my family have ever been to in the past. From the very beginning, me and my whole entire family were treated better than we could have ever expected. The young gentleman, Brian, who was working in the office, went well beyond his job description/duties to make sure that we had anything and everything that we needed during our entire stay at The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa. I wish I could always expect service at every resort that I visit like the service we were given by the younger gentleman. (He is truly going places in life!) We had booked a Mountain View room and was astonished by the beautiful Golfview suite that we had purchased. The food in the Cork & Cleaver restaurant and the Tap Room Sports Bar & Grill was also quite amazing as well. Me and my fiancé placed golf several days during our stay while the rest of our family enjoyed the spa, pool, and other amenities that the Golf Resort had to offer. This review doesn't even begin to describe what am absolutely AMAZING time we had at The Waynesville Inn. Once again, a HUGE thanks to Brian and the other employees that made our family vacation a complete success!! We will definitely be coming back in the near future :)

Room Tip: Mountain View Rooms = AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 833KevinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking some time to post a review of the Inn. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time so much and will make sure to send your thanks to Brian, and the rest of the staff and management team, once again. I hope we will see you in Waynesville again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Bad: We purchased a package from Social Living. I guess the impacts the room you are given. We were obviously given the worst room in the resort.old, old, old & outdated. The bed was awful. It was a two room setup - obviously in the old days two rooms shared one bath. The bedroom was tiny with no pictures on the wall......the lamps were cool - and there was a flat screen. A bathroom the size of one on an old cruise ship joined to the " other" rom - which had two old chairs - two "0ld" ugly pictures and another flatscreen. This was in the main building - the dark & narrow halls looked more like an old cruise ship - you can walk with hands touching on both sides.

Since I am a travel agent I walked around the resort an peaked in open rooms as they were being cleaned - the rooms facing the golf course were decorated nicely - mountin style but attractive and welcoming. They also had small balconies. The rooms on our side faced the parking lot and had nothing....maybe we were assigned the servants quarters. There are two additional out buildings - and the ones along the golf course the nicest and most desirable.

Food: we tried both the Cork & Cleaver for dinner ( buffet breakfast also served here daily - included) and the tap room for lunch. We sat outside for dinner - that was lovely - but they had run out of many items so our selection was limited - service was good - food - average. Breakfast buffett was average...lunch at the Tap Room was average too.

This has a nice golf course - and the staff was friendly. It would make for an awesome golf getaway - if you had a decent room. Location near both Asheville, Biltmore House, Great Smokey Mountain NP, and Harrahs in Cherokee is very nice....and Waynesville is a cute littl mountain town with fun shops.

.Once we saw our room - I asked to change offered to pay for an upgrade - but the could not/would do this because a group was coming in the next day. Cory - the desk manager was very kind and even Brought me an "egg crate" from his home the next day for the awful....awful....bed. Very poor sleep the first night......it was better the 2nd night with the egg crate ( I was disparate at that point) so big thank you to Cody....

We had hoped to find a resort to return to with our friends for a golf getaway - and to refer clients from my agency to - but only if there was a guarantee to the room assignment in the newer rooms overlooking the golf course.....

These is also a spa. Prices looked reasonable but we did not try this out.

Room Tip: NOT in the main building facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay as much as we hope each guest does. The room you stayed in certainly has a unique layout, but we do have many return guests that ask for that particular room for that very reason. I appreciate your compliments to the staff and will make sure to pass all of your comments on to the remainder of the management team. Thanks for taking some time to share your experience. I hope you will make it back to Waynesville again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The inn is old but room was spacious and clean. The view of the golf course from the balcony was lovely. Great conversation with the friendly starter as we sat enjoying the scenery. We had a great time! Had a fantastic meal at Bogart's restaurant down the street. . The breakfast buffet at the inn was a nice addition and there was plenty of food. We didn't have a chance to play golf but the course looked to be in great shape.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking some time to post a review of the Inn. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time and hope to have you back again soon. Maybe next time you will have a chance to play a round of golf! Thanks again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is very outdated. It is old and the rooms are very ugly. They have old carpets and the mattresses are extremely old and uncomfortable. The price for the accomodations is too high for the quality received. If you want to to call your place a resort you must update. The inn is historic but that does not keep from renovating the rooms. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit as much as we like hearing. I have made note of your comments and circulated them among the management team. Thank you for taking some time to post a review. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from a most pleasant couple of days. Stayed in the Inn. It is older but nice and clean. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony with golf course and mountain views. So peaceful! Golf was nice. The food was great. Breakfast buffet was great. There were a variety offerings but the omelets were wonderful. Good coffee too. We ate at the Cork & Cleaver one evening sitting outside in the most heavenly atmosphere and surroundings. Kirstie A. did an outstanding job as our waitress. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Depends upon ones personal preference. Younger people might enjoy one of the other buildings, but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gommie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking some time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your time so much and will make sure to pass along your compliments to Kirstie and the rest of the staff. Thanks again for posting a review! I hope we will have you back in Waynesville soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were a group of three couples staying for two nights, our first experience with the Waynesville Inn. Check in was quick and easy. We were upgraded to the Golfview units which overlooked a green and fairway. It is a very scenic view with the surrounding mountains. Our breakfast was included and was a very ample buffet with an omelet station. (he was a bit slow) but we were in no hurry. We didn't get to eat at either restaurant but tried several in the Waynesville area. Enjoyed Bogart's the best. Next time we will make time to try the Tap Room and maybe get in a round of golf, as the course looked in excellent shape. They must have some very good ground crews! Our morning waitresses were very pleasant and fun to talk with.

Room Tip: Watch Groupon or Travelzoo for a bargin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves during your recent stay. Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your thoughts about our property. I hope we will be able to have you as a guest again very soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
3.9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
107 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range: $97 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing