We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend here. It is truly a great location but the inn is a bit old and really could use some updating. The bathrooms are very small and the beds are quite soft and the bedspreads are truly hideous! Please do not go to the bar/restaurant to eat- the food is mediocre at best. We have a large group and several of the menu items were unavailable and the alternate choices were not good. The short rib sandwich was very short on meat. The chicken quesadillas tasted like a frozen meal heated up. The service staff are all very friendly and the town of waynesville is a lovely place to visit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm very sorry that you experienced a few shortcomings during your time with us. I have shared your concerns with the remainder of the management team and thank you for your candor. I hope we will be able to have you as a guest again soon! Thanks for taking a few moments to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    199
    86
    45
    29
See reviews for
90
280
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I just visited the Waynesville Inn on another Groupon offer. This time we stayed in a Golfview room instead of the historic part of the Inn. The slight extra cost was definitely worth it.

The Golfview room was much more modern than the room in the historic section and was about 13 x 18 feet (not counting the bathroom or a large walk-in closet). We had a wet bar with a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. There was a desk which worked great for our computer…the free wi-fi worked well and connected easily. The flat panel TV was about 27 inches with many cable channels. There was a small patio outside the room (1st floor) with 2 doors (which also had screen doors for nice weather) opening onto it. The patio provided a good view of the golf course and the mountains in the distance.

The first room had a king bed that was too firm for us….the staff quickly moved us to another room when we requested (and with a smile!). The only other item we noticed was the bathroom lighting was a bit dim. Overall the room was very clean and we were well satisfied. The walk-in closet was a nice feature being roomy and with a table to unload the suitcase on.

Breakfast was mixed on the 2 days we were there. The first day we arrived toward the end of service and found the buffet food was a bit stale. The second day made up for it as we arrived earlier and found the chef making custom omelets which had not been available the first day. The food also seemed much fresher on the second day and the omelets were very good. Having had good breakfasts on our first visit (and omelets both days), we assumed the lower number of guests during this visit and our late arrival may have contributed to the first day not being up to normal standards.

We enjoyed Waynesville with it shops, galleries and several very nice restaurants. We explored the surrounding area going to Maggie Valley as well as Ashville. As one resident told us: “There are no bad drives around the Waynesville area.” Unfortunately, the Blue Ridge was closed due to the time of year and weather.

We look forward to returning to the Waynesville Inn and continuing our exploration of the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Try to get a Golfview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing some details about your most recent stay at the Inn. I am happy you found this stay to be just as nice as the first. I do apologize for the poor quality of breakfast on the first morning, as it seems you arrived well within the service hours. I will forward your review to the culinary team in hopes of correcting this problem before your next stay with us. Thanks again for your review and thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We asked to stay in the wonderful-looking main building as opposed to the 'motel' looks of the newer rooms. It was a very odd suite that we were in. 2 rooms which included a normal bedroom with 2 double beds, a large dresser & chest of drawers. The sitting room did not have a coffee table or a desk to put a computer on. The television sat on yet another chest of drawers (plenty, plenty of drawer space) but could have been put in a niche in the wall or on a desk. The bathroom was nice enough but the water was very difficult to adjust. As soon as the cold faucet was turned on, the cold water greatly overcame the hot.

The breakfast was lovely and the service good.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyCW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am very sorry your time with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Indeed, we do have some unique configurations in the Lodge, where over the years some smaller rooms have been combined to provide a few junior suite style accommodations. I will make sure to forward your comments to the rest of the management team, though. Thanks for your time in posting a review. If you have any further details to share, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This old Histrionic Inn was once splendid & grand. It's now in need of some TLC to return to "the Inn" of Waynesville. Our room in the old Lodge was rustic & comfortable, but the shower was not pretty and controlling the water temperature was difficult. The tile grout was covered with mold & it looked like they tried to cover the mold & mildew with white shoe polish. It was brought to management, but nothing was done and no action in the way of customer service. They missed an opportunity to show their Customer Service.

Room Tip: The food in the Tap Room was very good and the rooms with a balcony view of the golf course is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing. I will make sure your concerns are shared with our maintenance staff and the remainder of the management team. If you have any further details, such as the room number or any other defects, please contact me directly. Again, I apologize for your visit not measuring up to your, or our, expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I took advantage of the off-season rates at this luxury golf resort to spend a couple of days in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Although the lodge dates from the 1920’s, it has been extensively modernized and new facilities have been added both for lodging and for golfers. In addition to getting a full breakfast for free, the prices in the Tap Room for drinks and food also were very reasonable. Although the temperature in the mornings was still in the 30’s the golfers were out in the sunshine on the (literally) greens.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the lodge facing the golf course; they have private balconies. Other facilities in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSu90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, despite some chilly mornings! Thank you so much for your time in sharing your thoughts about the Inn. I look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We took advantage of a TravelZoo voucher and booked two nights for $100 and we were pleased at what we found. Our room was in the older part of the hotel, but was very comfy and felt like a room in a mountain lodge. The hotel is conveniently located and we had a nice view out our window. The golf course was beautiful and well maintained. The included breakfast was fantastic, with the food served buffet style but lots of attendants there for coffee, etc. They served the best grits I have ever had for breakfast, and the scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection. The only problem was that the checking process was a bit of a bottleneck with only one person checking in all the guests, but he did an awesome job of getting everyone checked in without appearing to rush anyone. Kudos to him!

Room Tip: If you aren't I into older decor, you might make your wishes known for the newer parts of the In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 39148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the Inn! I will certainly pass along your compliments to the breakfast staff. I apologize for check-in being a bit slow, but am glad you felt everyone was taken care of without feeling rushed out the door. Thanks again for your time in posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very large sized room and bed overlooking the course and surrounding mountains. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet was brilliant, plenty of choice and quantity! Great quiet spot, in easy location for exploring the blue ridge parkway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to post a review. Now that the weather is getting warmer, I hope we will be able to have you back in Waynesville to do some more exploring! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 20 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing