We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a golf and spa resort??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a golf and spa resort??”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just got back from a 2 nite stay there. Not bad. A "golf and spa" resort????. Did not have a microwave and fridge....rooms need to be updated - badly. Bed was not that comfortable. Service was good, food was good, location was alright. Expected more from a "golf and spa resort". Good value but more like staying in a hotel. C

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Indeed, much of our identity is tied to golf, and the Inn can be much less vibrant in the winter when golf is on the back burner for most. I apologize for the shortcomings you have mentioned and appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and food. Thank you so much for taking some time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    214
    104
    58
    39
See reviews for
103
316
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The outside of the Inn and the surrounding views are lovely. Our complimentary breakfast buffet was great and the service was very good. We used a Travelzoo coupon and got a very good deal on the room rate. The common areas are fairly well maintained. Here comes the "but" -- we stayed in the oldest part of the inn, which was built in the 1920s. The rooms are small and very clean, but desperately in need of upgrading. Mismatched curtains and spreads, threadbare sheets, slightly musty carpeting, stained ceiling tiles and mismatched replacement tiles. Such a pity, because renovating the interior of this lovely building would bring it back to the showplace it must have been. However, after two stays at the Inn, we will not stay there again unless we can get a room in the newer buildings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for taking some time to share your thoughts about our property. I appreciate your kind words about breakfast and our staff. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing, but I have noted your suggestions for review. Thank you again for posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We used a travel coupon, thankfully, b/c if we had paid the posted rates, I would've been upset. As it was, I was a little disappointed. First, let me say that the grounds & exterior of the hotel are beautiful. Even our room was cute, with a nice view of the golf course. What was lacking were the sleeping accommodations. The double beds (we got a room with 2 doubles b/c we brought our kids with us) are SMALL. These are not your standard-sized double beds (both of my kids have double beds at home, so I'm used to their size - not to mention, you can look at the size of the mattress in relation to the headboard to see that it's about 6-8" too narrow). Basically, you'll be sleeping on top of the person you're sharing the bed with. Also, the mattress slept like you would expect a sleeper sofa to, not a real bed - very lumpy & uncomfortable - and to top it all off, our blankets had holes in them! The redeeming qualities were fantastic service, a clean room, & excellent food at both restaurants. Also (and this is no reflection of the hotel - just the town), there isn't much to do in Waynesville, so be prepared to drive about 30 min. to Asheville if you want to do anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share a review of the Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I'm so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have noted the areas you have listed for improvement, and I thank you for the compliments toward our staff and food quality. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our daughter was married at the Waynesville Inn in October 2012. The leaves were at their peak, the site was gorgeous and the reception was perfect. The staff was outstanding and took care of our every need. We had rave reviews from our guests about the food, especially the stir fry. Everyone was happy with their room accomodations, the golf outing and the town of Waynesville. Our wedding planners, Ashley and Michelle, did an outstanding job! All of our guests were very impressed with the breakfast, their rooms and the inn overall. It was a wonderful weekend all the way around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Congratulations once again! Thank you so much for taking some time to post a review of the Inn. I'm so happy we were able to be part of a very special event in you and your daughter's lives. I will make sure everyone, especially the catering staff, takes a look at your kind words. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is our second year in a row of staying at the The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort and Spa. For the price, you can't beat it. The staff is exceptional and the breakfast is one of the best anywhere. We have always enjoyed the Waynesville area and look forward to returning in the Spring.

Room Tip: Enjoy one of the best breakfasts anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued support! It is all the more rewarding when we hear from repeat guests. I will make sure the breakfast staff sees your comments. I hope you'll be able to make it back to Waynesville in the spring as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

As stated by many other reviewers, the Waynesville Inn is in need of some serious renovations. The grounds are lovely, as are the exterior of the inn and even the dining area. However, the rooms sport the same plumbing, ventilation and decor they most likely did 30 years ago. Everything was clean, orderly and in working order- but I just couldn't shake the feeling that the Waynesville Inn could be spectacular with a make-over. We stayed in a Golf View room. The buffet was complimentary, but nothing was remarkable about it other than the very pleasant and helpful staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments to the staff. I appreciate you taking the time in posting a review of the Inn, even though it was not as enjoyable as we are accustomed to hearing. I will make sure to distribute your comments to the rest of the management team for review. Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed in the main lodge area, great king size bed. Close to many great attractions and also nice to be able to stay and play at the hotel! Used a social media coupon so excellent value. Make sure you make it to breakfast it is AWESOME.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCTraveler0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I appreciate your time in sharing your second experience at the Inn with everyone in the TripAdvisor community. I hope we will be able see you in Waynesville for many years to come! Thanks again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.3 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#3 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
278 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing