We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Such A Shame That They Don't Remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such A Shame That They Don't Remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Oh, what this property COULD be! This is such a beautiful place but so desperately in need of remodeling. The rooms are all 1970's. The sheets are so thin you can read a newspaper through them. The flowered bedspreads appear new but the design hasn't been available for years. Maybe they bought a warehouse full in 1970? The rooms are very clean and the outside of the buildings are very well maintained. The golf course is immaculate. The rooms have been forgotten. The phone in my room didn't work (they said lightning had knocked out a whole bank of them and they were waiting on a part). The wallpaper in my room was torn. The television was at least 10 years old. The breakfast buffet is very good and the restaurants were very upscale. I can't believe they haven't found the money to remodel the rooms in 30 years. Maybe they need a business loan? Maybe the owners are siphoning off all the profits and not putting them back into the property?

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any "good" rooms. One the ladies in our party had a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking some time to post a review. I apologize for the shortcomings you have referenced but I appreciate your compliments regarding our on-site restaurants. I will certainly pass your comments along to the rest of the management team for review. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    190
    78
    43
    30
See reviews for
85
262
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We bought a living social coupon for our stay at The Waynesville Inn. We were able to make a last minute reservation which was nice. We had a 2nd floor room in the Golfview building. A beautiful view from our room of the golf course and mountains. The room was large and had a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave.

As others have said, the bedding was awful. The mattresses are extremely uncomfortable and need to be replaced ASAP. Only soap and shampoo provided, so bring your own if you need more.

We enjoyed our dinner at The Tap Room - the food was delicious and well prepared. Our waitress, Angie, was great! We didn't realize that the main restaurant, The Cork and Cleaver, was closed for the season. The buffet breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: If bed quality is important to you, be sue to ask if the mattresses have been replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuts410s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Room at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience at the Inn. I appreciate your compliments regarding the rooms and the restaurant, and I am sorry for Cork & Cleaver being closed for the season during your stay. I would also like to apologize for your bedding being uncomfortable. In our business, sleep quality is critical, and I am sorry we did not deliver. Nevertheless, thanks again for your review. I hope we will have you back to Waynesville sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Waynesville Inn for fall foliage and golf. The mountain and golf views from the room were spectacular. The furniture and linens in the rooms are somewhat dated and could withstand an update but all in all it was comfortable. A full hot breakfast was included which was a nice way to start the day. Word of advice - bring your own golf clubs as the clubs they rent for $29 are bent, off-sets and none of the clubs match.

Room Tip: The golfview rooms are large with excllent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing some details of your stay with the TripAdvisor community. While I am happy that you enjoyed yourself, I am sorry the rental set of golf clubs weren't of better quality. I will make sure to forward your review of the staff and management team. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came to town for an arts and crafts festival and to golf. We will stay here again. Breakfast staff especially friendly and they make great made to order omelets as well as having a nice buffet selection. Dinner at the restaurant was not so good. Our suite was nice sized and very comfortable. Enjoyed sitting on our covered balcony looking over the golf course and mtn. views.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main inn. Our suite was good sized and had a lovely balcony with chairs overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sglraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your time in posting a review of the Inn. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, but I do apologize for dinner not being up to par. If you would like to share any additional details, please contact me directly so I can give our culinary team some things to improve upon. Again, thanks for the review. I look forward to meeting you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Mile, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Even though the weather did not cooperate and we had to check out a day early (no refund..had a Groupon deal) we still enjoyed this stay. Everyone was friendly, everything was clean. We stayed in a golfview room (upgraded at check in) and it was spacious with a beautiful view (except for fog and rain mist). Breakfast was great...thanks to the chef for the great omelets! Would definately stay again... hopefully with a better weather forecast.
Waynesville has many shops and restaurants on Main Street, did not get to see them all again due to weather and it being a Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbC7149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I'm so sorry the weather didn't cooperate during your stay, but I am glad you enjoyed your short time with us. I will pass along your thanks to the breakfast staff as well. I hope to have you as a guest again soon ... We will work on ordering up some better weather for your next trip! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've stayed here at least twice a year since we discovered it several years ago. The first time we came, we were charmed by the older rooms in the main lodge overlooking the golf course and mountains, the rocking chairs, the friendly servers we met at breakfast who had worked at the hotel for many years, the gorgeous setting, the quaint mountain town. We talked to a couple of families who had been coming to the inn for years...and now we are doing the same. We've brought family and friends with us, too. The inn isn't perfect - we've stayed in each of the buildings now, and noticed that some of the rooms are worn and some of the rooms have had mattresses that were not the least bit comfortable. (maybe they'll do something about that - soon?) The prices seem to have increased quite a bit since we started coming, but when we can get a good rate, this is one of our favorite weekend escapes. The golf course is enjoyable - and beautiful. The area is absolutely gorgeous any time of the year, and there are lots of things to do nearby. The atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. We've enjoyed every visit. We stayed in the Golfview building on our most recent trip and liked sitting out on the balcony looking at the beautiful fall foliage. We're looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucker p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It's so nice to hear from longtime guests! I appreciate your continued support and thank you for sharing your experiences at the Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I hope you will be able to join us again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took advantage of a two night special offer to explore the area and enjoy the fall colors. We had a wonderful time in and around Waynesville; we also enjoyed the large room on the 9th hole with a fantastic colorful view over the course into the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am very happy that you were able to enjoy a quick fall getaway with us in Waynesville. Thank you for your kind words about the Inn and the surrounding town. I hope we can set up a return trip for you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#2 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 20 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing