We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheers to Waynesville Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheers to Waynesville Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the Waynesville Inn quaint, convenient and wonderfully clean. Unique is not hyperbole here. Even the negatives are endearing. You'll be glad you stayed.

We stayed in the historic original clubhouse, in a queen non-smoking room with a balcony.

The balcony and its view were the best features. The spacious balcony is tucked beneath the high ceiling of the Cork & Cleaver's open terrace, well-back from the weather, and with an ashtray provided. The view across the restaurant, historic golf links, and up to the mountain ridge beyond are beautiful.

The closet came in second. It swallowed our empty luggage and all of our unpacked stuff.

The charming, pine paneled room itself is quite small, and the bathroom is simply tight, but the large balcony and closet make up for it. The towels seemed very new. Everything was as clean as a whistle. I understand the fairway rooms are standard sized.

We love room service and missed it at Waynesville. Breakfast and dinner were above average. Service is enthusiastic. Breakfast is included (don't forget to tip your waitress based on a $12 value). Generous portions and competitive prices made the tavern a great choice. My classic beef tips entree had an entire NY strip hidden in it.

Here's what lacked: The bed set seems left over from the 1970's, inexplicably. An incredibly cheap mattress with bad springs on one side. The linens felt like pantyhose material. Acrylic foam blanket. The HDTV only received analog cable. The basic fitness room consisted of one treadmill, one elliptical and some dumbbells (this *is* an athletic facility). The front desk staff seemed disinterested.

The location is excellent, moments away from the highway exit, with easy access to both Asheville and the casino at Cherokee. The Blue Ridge Parkway's southernmost segment encircles Waynesville, and there are four recommended access points that include the highest elevation on the entire parkway. On Main St, we ate A+ barbecue at Blue Ridge BBQ Company and bought penny candy at the Mast General Store location.

Room Tip: Ask for a "historic" room with a balcony overlooking the restaurant terrace, golf course a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review of our property. It is very encouraging to hear from another satisfied guest, and I appreciate your suggestions for improvement as well. I will make sure to pass along the compliments and suggestions to the staff and management team. I hope we can have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    191
    78
    44
    30
See reviews for
86
263
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been to Lake Junaluska and Waynesville many times but never knew this place existed. We picked up a deal on a half price site and are certainly glad that we did. The Inn is beautiful with great food and service. We had a room in the Golfview unit that was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the golf course and the fall trees. From the time we made the reservation till the time we checked out, we were well taken care of by a friendly and courteous staff. We would certainly recommend either the Tap Room or the Cork and Cleaver for a delicious and well prepared meal. The breakfast which was included in our stay was top notch. When we are in the area the next time, this will be our first choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. I understand from other reviews, there may be some rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to let the entire TripAdvisor community about it! Thank you for the compliments, especially regarding our staff ... We certainly have a cast full of stars here! Thanks again for your time in posting a review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Located at the western end of the little town of Waynesville, NC; the inn is in a beautiful spot. We were given a fairway view room which was huge. The view was of a fairway for sure but the fall foliage on the sides of the fairway and the beautiful mountain view at the end of the golf course was the real story. The golf course is an interesting layout and well maintained. Buffet breakfast in the Cork and Cleaver was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your time in posting a review. I appreciate your kind words and am happy to hear your enjoyed your recent stay, especially the view and the breakfast. I hope we can have you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, SC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Inn during a recent mountatin trip. Room was clean and comfortable. Our package included breakfast which is a treat in itself. Omlettes are made to order. Extensive variety of breakfast foods are provided. We had dinner at the Cork & Cleaver, on-site dining, and enjoyed the food and service. We will return

Room Tip: We enjoy the Mountain View rooms near the golf course. Great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I appreciate your time in sharing your Waynesville experience with the TripAdvisor community. Indeed, we do include hot breakfast with each stay, and it has been a staple of the Inn for many years. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I hope you will be able to return soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We used a Groupon for a two night stay at this resort. It is in a beautiful area with beautiful scenery. Our room was more than adequate for the 2 of us. Yes, it is an older place and the rooms are a little dated, but it was clean and that's what matters to us. We had good nights sleep. The restaurants on premises are very nice with good food. The breakfast was outstanding! The staff was, for the most part, very pleasant and helpful. This is a perfect place to stay at night while touring the area during the day. We had a wonderful time in the area and we feel that we received a great value for what we paid. We are kind of choosy when we are looking for a place to stay and we would return to this place. We would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main hotel but an exterior building and it was beautiful and quiet. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingretirementat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Inn! I am happy to hear you would consider returning in the future, and I am even more excited that you found the staff to be so pleasant and helpful. I will extend your compliments to Housekeeping for the cleanliness of your room, and to the culinary team for the food quality as well. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay here for our 27th wedding anniversary. Many positives about our stay, however, the accomodations for people who want to bring their pets were a little bit of a disappointment. It was comparable to motel 6. We travel quite a bit with our jack russell and this was the first time that we felt like second class citizens for being a pet family. The beds, furniture, and bathroom were definitely no frills. It did have a nice place for walking our dog and a good place to water the dog with avaliable clean up bags. I do realize that some people do not clean up, or take care of their dogs like they should but those of us who do......should be treated better. Balsam spa was the highlight of our trip and I would recommend Amanda for a massage. She was the best!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOsburn554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your time in sharing your thoughts on the Inn. I understand that it can be frustrating to not have options, but I do hope you can take some solace in Fairway being home to some of our most longstanding customers as well. Thank you for the compliments to the staff - I will certainly let Amanda in the spa know how much your enjoyed her services. Thanks again for your review. I hope you can join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived checked in, ok. Got to room, was very outdated but mostly clean. Got ready for bed and noted room was warm after showers and wife drying hair. I adjusted the thermostat and room got no cooler. We went to bed and realized we had the worst mattress we ever slept on. We both tossed and turned for two hours and every time one of us moved the whole bed shook. I called front desk to ask about moving and woke front desk person up. She spent 15 minutes checking computer and couldn't find anywhere to move us even hotel couldn't have been half full. I told her to check and call back and she did 10 minutes later when she realized she might have a queen room available. This hotel still uses actual keys and they said earlier they had sent someone into an occupied room because "they weren't sure which rooms were occupied"!!! I went and checked this room which was tiny but bed was a little better, by now it was 4 am and no sleep at all! We moved and finally slept til around 9 when staff started using leaf blower outside our window. We got up got dressed and I went down to talk to front desk staff who basically defended night staff and offered no apologies at all. He actually said the mattress in previous room was new, I swear it looked like something Salvation Army would reject. If you sat near edge box springs and mattress sank to at least half their thickness. I told him we thought we were just going to leave even though we had s package for two nights. He just said ok, offered no apologies, and said I owed them tax for the two nights. I had prepaid for package using a groupon. I didn't even argue just wanted the hell out! This could be a nice place if they had decent bedding or staff who cared at all about customers. We asked for manager and were informed there wasn't one there but when my wife asked for general manager info we did get a name and were informed he was new and they were going through a management change. I sure hope it works! Just stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gcvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I apologize that your experience fell well below both your expectations and our own standards. I am sorry that you initially left the Inn unhappy, but I am glad that we were able to later learn more about your stay and make efforts to make amends for the shortcomings you endured. Thank you for your initial support, and for taking the time to share a review with the TripAdvisor community. It is, after all, what allows this site to remain a valuable tool for travelers all over the globe. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.4 mi away
Four Seasons Inn
Four Seasons Inn
#9 of 27 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#2 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 20 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing