We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were extremely disappointed with out stay. We too came as part of a Living Social deal. Our room was terrible. The furniture outdated, a tiny old TV, the room smelled musty, paint was peeling outside the window, and the worst part was our heater. It wouldn't adjust temperatures and we had to keep getting up to turn it on and off. We asked for a different room but we were told there were none available even though you could still reserve a higher grade online. This is not a surprise to the management that guests would be extremely disappointed with those accommodations after being sold a "golf resort and spa". If the intent is just revenue then they have accomplished their goal. If it is to establish repeat business they have really missed the mark.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NCTraveler49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
I appreciate your time in posting a review of our property, even though it is disappointing to hear from less than pleased guests. We, unfortunately, were unable to place many Living Social redemptions in our most upgraded of rooms, due to the sheer volume of guests that waited until the last few weekends of the voucher's life to redeem them. While I understand the disappointment, we did make sure that this reality was communicated at the time of reservation.

I do apologize for the defects you experienced, especially in reference to the heat within your room. If our Engineering staff was contacted, I apologize for them not being able to solve the problem to your satisfaction. Since online inventory is not real-time, it may have seemed like there were upgraded rooms available for a short time when there actually were not. However, our business is not based on dishonesty nor a grab at revenue. Such tactics would not have allowed us to prosper for 80+ years, and will not permit us success going forward. Thanks again for sharing the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    213
    101
    52
    32
See reviews for
101
306
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed this weekend. We were on a coupon, but expected better than we had. We stayed in the main lodge. The room smelled so badly, fan running when we arrived in our room. We turned the fan off, opened the windows (35 degrees outdoors - freezing better than stinky). The rooms are very old, paint chipped and cheap shower curtain. Room seemed to be clean, but carpet so old not sure how clean. We found clothes in our closet and promptly took them to the front desk. We did ask for an upgrade to the room when we first checked in - this is the best they had to offer. We are very disappointed, we could have stayed at a chain hotel where the rooms are guaranteed for the same amount with a lot more satisfaction!
Cork and Cleaver Steakhouse left a lot to be desired. We are not snobby eaters, but only one review truly reflected the reality of this steakhouse. We made reservations in November, but called day of arrival to change reservation time - they never mentioned that they were on a limited menu with only one steak option! Three options for a meal, two were not steak! The steak was not quality, it was worse than a grocery store steak.
Review responses from the management mention "rustic" these rooms are not "rustic" they are old and in desperate need of updating! I understand "bait and switches" feelings - we saw very nice rooms on line, but were given a very old, poor room instead.
Too bad - I like the location and the staff were all friendly!
Please renovate all of the rooms, bring them up to the 21st century!
We will not be going back :(

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms are not what you see on the internet. Steakhouse needs real steak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudySF3559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to post such a detailed review of the Inn. First of all, I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. The timeframe in which you stayed was extremely popular, due to the impending expiration of a coupon that was very successful for us in 2011. Because of this, we were only able to offer upgrades to a small percentage of guests upon check-in. While I understand your frustrations with some of the shortcomings you experienced, I can assure you that the rooms seen online are the same that you will find here at the Inn. Still, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing. I have noted several of your observations and pledge that we will work hard to correct them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Monterey CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had the deluxe room 2 beds for our recent stay. This was the newer section of hotel, and was very quiet and private. The view from the room was amazing of the golf course. The staff, especially in the morning buffet were incrediblly friendly and helpful. We will return when in the area.

Room Tip: Reserve in the deluxe section or the top floor of main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToshaMontereyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review of the Inn. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time enough to return whenever you are in the area again. I will let the breakfast staff know that you especially appreciated their hospitality each morning. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recently spent 4 days at the Waynesville Inn in Waynesville, NC. The first two nights were spent in a room that would qualify as rustic at best. Although the room left a lot to be desired, there are no complaints about the staff which were very hospitable and the food in the hotel restaurant was great. The second 2 nights however, were a disappointment. The room although larger was very retro and worn. The bathroom was horrible, the lighting was almost non-existant (very dim burning lamps. The bathroom vent / heater / light sounded like it was going to explode. By investing a some serious money on room upgrades they could make this a very nice place to stay. As mentioned before, they already have a great staff.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask not to placed in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyMacRockHill_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks for taking some time to describe your experience with us. I appreciate both the compliments to our staff and the details of your stay that we can look to assess and improve upon. Thanks again for your review, and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Warning! Earlier reports are totally true! The best they have to offer can be compared to a used, cheaply-built mobile home with fake wood paneling filled with mattress and furniture from the road side. Memorable accommodations is right -- Sad, sad, sad. For the price you can stay at a much nicer establishment with much better golf offering. They think too highly of the place. Know before you go!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abundantpleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
While I certainly disagree with your characterization of our property, I thank you, nonetheless, for taking the time to share your thoughts. Both the startling comparisons and real lack of substantive detail within your statements leave me a bit unsure of where you may have stayed on property. However, I do wish that you would have been able to enjoy your time with us more. If you would like to recount the details of your stay, please contact me directly. I would like to hear more about your experience. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Inn is probably 30+ years old and is showing its age. We were there for a two night stay on a coupon so it is hard to judge value. The area is beautiful. There are three 9-hole golf courses that looked friendly, although we did not bring clubs.There was a decent pro shop with a helpful pro.
Instead of golf, we took a beautiful drive to Brevard over a gap. That took most of the day but was worth it. Both nights we ate in the bar and watched football on one of several large screen TVs.. They had good soup and burgers. Breakfast was included and was served upstairs in the up-scale restaurant. the offerings were plentiful, including made-to-order omelettes. We dound a great bookstore/coffee shop on the way in, too.
Waynesville is near Asheville and the Biltmore House, Dillard, Sylva, Brevard and Hendersonville. I would love to go back to the area but would probably look for different accommodations.

Room Tip: Keep asking. Granted, we were there on a coupon but the first room offered was awful, small and dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of the Inn. Indeed, we have been here a while - the Inn is actually almost 85 years old and the Lodge is among our most popular of accommodations. However, as you noted, we do have several newer buildings on property as well. It looks like you were able to get out and explore Waynesville and the surrounding mountains quite a bit, and I'm glad you have become a fan of the area. I hope we are able to have you as a guest sometime in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Bought a 2 night package for my husband and myself, and bought another for our friends. We are not golfers but I couldn't resist the deal. I was alittle bit worried, because of some of the reviews, and not being familar at all with the area. However, I was extremely pleased as were the other 3 members of the group. The staff which included the maid,and the front desk, and restaurant help, were all very friendly and smiling, and so helpful. The breakfast included was wonderful, I got a made to order omelet, just how I liked it. And the views were fantastic. What a beautiful golf course, but since we don't golf, we took a drive to the historic downtown Waynesville,-walked around- ate at one of best restaurants there..the Sweet Onion, and then drove up a mountain to the State Park where the Elk Population resides!!! Saw many wonderful elk and wild (almost) turkey, went for a walk and then back to the beautiful Waynesville Inn!! All 4 had a wonderful time in the picturesque mountains of North Carolina--Thanks Waynesville Inn and Golf Resort-- PS--planning on coming back after we take a few golf lessons!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Waynesville and it is always exciting for us to introduce new folks to the area! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of so many of the things that surround us - from the Historic Downtown, to the restaurants and of course the Great Smokies. Thank you so much for your review, and for the many compliments regarding our staff. Good luck with the golf lessons ... we're looking forward to your return already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.3 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing