We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro 50's Motor Court Downtown Main Street”
Review of Oak Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Park Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2012

A great "in season" value at $70 is at the Head of the Main Street. Stroll downhill a block to Blue Ridge Books & Cafe with free WiFi. Another block brings you to the Mast General Store in the center of this turn of the century small town with 2 story brick and stone buildings. The Inn gets a great breeze, views the mountains, and is a block from Bogarts Steak House Restaurant. I have stayed at this motel over the years both in winter and summer and find its location unbeatable if as I am a walker liking to cover the town on foot. The rooms are very clean with tiled baths and forceful hot water showers certain to ease sore muscles at the close of a relaxed serene day. The center courtyard has an elevated sitting area covered by three huge silver oaks making for pleasant visiting with other guests to review the days activities and exchange experiences of the area. The husband and wife owners are honest, committed, and competent hosts wishing their guests a pleasant experience. Lots of local information is provided in a rustic anteroom with a fireplace and coffee and pastry in the morning. Of course the owners residents are a wealth of information about the area. For instance, they were able to refer me to Earl's auto repair for my VW A/C that had failed. This is the best value in town. There are Bed and Breakfasts but they are priced up in the $125 to $150 range. Waynesville offers easy access to Asheville on I-40 in one direction and Smokey National Park in the other. S.R. 276 south (a block away) heads up to the Blue Ridge Parkway and on south to the waterfalls of the Brevard area. The Oak Park Inn is a very comfortable experience in the walking center of the town of Waynesville.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesItalyTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our trip through the VA, TN, and NC mountains. We found the place as we drove by and thought it looked like a nicely kept traditional-style motel. We stopped by the office and was greeted by one of the friendly owners (Rick?). He got us checked in and gave us some good local info on eats and drinks.

The room was clean and comfy with somewhat dated furnishings (which is exactly what we expected to see so it was fine!). All of the rooms have 2 wooden rocking chairs right in front of the room. We ordered pizza and grabbed some beer and wine from the local convenience store and had fun dining and rocking while watching the rain.

In the morning there was free coffee and pastries in the small room off of office. We chatted with other tourists and checked the weather courtesy of the free wi-fi available throughout the property.

We thoroughly enjoyed the place and would come again. If, however, you are more accustomed to more modern (and cookie-cutter) chains then you may be happier at one.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms allowing pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishfliesjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed hereone night because I was in an art show. For over $100.00 it was really not worth it. The rooms were decorated in hodge podge low end well worn furntiture. The exception being the headboards that were log cabin themed. The bathrooms were very outdated and tiny. Beds were great if you like sleeping on very stiff mattresses. The continental breakfastt consisted of watery coffee and honey buns in cellophane. The only plus I can muster up is that it is located in town and you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The ONLY positive is the location, on Main Street. It's not inexpensive and it's an OLD motel and bathroom is tiny. "Continential breakfast" was weak coffee and a packaged bun! We could have brought our own coffee maker and breakfast bar and done better than that. Waynesville is small enough that you can stay somewhere and drive a few minutes to town, then walk around.

Room Tip: Only select rooms allow pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92ncca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My friends and I spent Labor Day weekend in Waynesville, NC and all 14 of us were lucky enough to get rooms at the delightful "Oak Park Inn". Several of us had kitchenettes, others had rooms with 2 beds. The staff was very accommodating. It has a cute, retro feel. Rooms were clean, bathrooms well lit and had everything we needed. They served coffee and little pastry snacks in the office each morning. We enjoyed gathering on the deck under the big trees with our coffee. It's walking distance to downtown shopping and restaurants too.

Room Tip: Room # 50 in the back corner of the motel has a full kitchen and roomy enough to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giggleshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We are surprised by a reviewer who apparently isn't satisfied by anything! They apparently haven't traveled much or don't enjoy relaxing environments. We have just completed our stay with our 2 Children and stayed 3 nights. This is one place where you can actually speak and visit with the owners of this very charming lodging. As for us the rooms are very clean and tidy. Very quiet even since we were only 3 doors down from the office. According to the owners they have owned and operated for 6 years and very much enjoy what they are doing.
Being good parents we always travel with Juice or Milk for our children since rooms have refrigerators and Microwave. We have stayed with others and sometimes they do not change out some items as needed. The continental served each morning consisting of coffee, teas, hot chocolate and pastries is a great start or just to tide us over until we decide what which restaurant we would like to visit for breakfast.
I would suggest the inconsistent traveler stay with the chain motels and pay the extra $$ to get a scrambled egg in a bucket for breakfast. For us we love the savings and can dine out for breakfast..
As for the condition of the rooms as earlier stated we did not see any rugs!! We did have carpet that had been shampoo or steam cleaned jus t a couple days earlier as they said they do that as needed and 4 to 6 times a year since they own their equipment it was not an issue. The walls were painted with differing borders scenes. The bedding is great and new, linens were replaced this last winter and very soft and clean. Rooms supplied with all we needed and they had toothbrushes, at no cost, since we forgot ours.
They are convenient to about 15 or more Restaurants, all the shops and galleries are an easy walk from their property.
As for us when we travel back to this area we will not hesitate to stay with and enjoy the Oak Park Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77flyfish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We recently went to North Carolina, as a family member was getting married at Lake Logan. Finding accomodation was not easy, even 3 months ahead of time, probably because of the lack of abundance of hotels/motels. Tried at a couple of places before this one and they were already full. So we either had to book something further away or choose among what was available. We booked a total of four rooms.

Thought this would be a nice place to stay, given the rate (89 us d). Disappointed were we.

The room was old, barely kept up with. The floor is covered with an old rug. The seats in the room are probably 40 years of age, and we found dust under the small table. The beds are also old, although the sheets were clean. The TV is an old model from the 80s. The ceiling had cracks and a dried humidity spot. The walls are decorated with paper wall at the top, not in fashion since many years. The bathroom door frame showed signs of rust. The small bathroom window had chipped paint. Front door was hard to open (er, have you heard about WD 40?), and little assistance was given when raising the problem. I think the only 21st century thing they have is WIFI... and the price of the rooms.

Hotel also advertises there is a continental breakfast, however, it is nothing like a continental, intercontinental, English or whatever categories there are. There are no juices (do you care about children ?), milk was the powdered stuff, no toasts. Owner says it is because he does not have the space for all that... only prepacked "Danish", completely unappetizing and discouraging. But "you are welcome to walk down the street, there are several places where they serve breakfast" (!!!). We raised all these issues in a friendly manner at check out (stayed two nights), but it did not seem to have any effect on the owners.

Place is family owned and run, which keeps their costs down, but the guest doesn't get his money's worth. All this would be fine half the price we paid. Be prepared to pay major cities price (London, Paris, Miami) for an old, rusty, small town motel. Thank god Norman (or his mother) were not arguing why there were all these strangers staying at the motel...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarkAges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
2.6 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
2.7 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Park Inn

Address: 196 S Main St, Waynesville, NC 28786-4355
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Oak Park Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing