We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Needs Some Comfortable Beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge
Save
You added The Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs Some Comfortable Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This lodge has been around and apparently through many renovations. The beds leave much to be desired. They are so firm and low to the ground. The sinks are definitely dated and has cracks in the porcelain.
The Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Checked in 8 PM and departed at 10:30 PM. Room smelled horrible... sheets looked dirty... bugs dead in bathroom... wife and I had the "heebee geebees" and could not even think about taking off our clothes to sleep... so got up, turned the key in to the night clerk and drove 3 hours home... lost $80+ dollars and a nights sleep, but it was a nightmare of a place!‎

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowboychincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Bridgeton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My family and I stayed at The Lodge for the weekend while visiting some friends. The staff was very kind. Bill and Cindy went out of thier way to make us comfortable. We really felt like they were happy to have us, unlike one of the other motels we looked at.
We have 3 children under 12. The pool was nice as well as the patio's. The rooms were clean. We look forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank handyropeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Our room was clean and had a balcony with rocking chairs and a view of the pool. For the money we were very pleased, it didn't cost a fortune and we got to visit the Great Smoky Mtns National Park, Cherokee and Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge. The staff could not have been better, because we locked our keys in the car and they bent over backwards to help us, gave us a late check-out that day. Nice people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyMeltFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Upon entering our room, it smelled of mildew. After a couple of days of hoping the cleaning crew would correct this, I trekked to the local CVS and purchased Tilex and Lysol. I found the shower curtain was the culprit. After a couple of thorough sprays, the smell was gone. I also noticed there was a water leak on the other side of the shower wall. The tub would not drain well; so your showers would soon turn into baths. Although the rugs looked clean, it left black residue on our socks. Pillows were old and offered no support. Beds are horribly stiff. I couldn't wait to get into my own bed.

The staff was very pleasant, courteous, and polite. I only stayed there because I was obligated to stay.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Beds, rugs, shower, a/c
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

The "Lodge" I remember through the years as a get away, it has now become a resisdence for Hispanic workers. The lawns and pool area are beautiful but the rooms have so sadly gone down hill, some of the electrical outlets didn't work, the frig didn't work and some light bulbs were blown.The beds were very dirty and stained, when we walked across the carpet, it left our feet dirty and sticky. The walls need a good cleaning and we had to clean the TV screen to enable viewing. I once loved "The Lodge" and have so many good memories, wish they could clean it up.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Remembering08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms very cozy and very clean. It is no longer part of a chain, but independant owned. It is 100% American owned and operated. That is hard to find.

  • Liked — The outdoor Patio's!
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AUNTDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
2.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Motel 6 Waynesville
Motel 6 Waynesville
#5 of 8 in Waynesville
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 20 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Property: The Lodge
Address: 909 Russ Ave, Waynesville, NC 28786-2943 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing