We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home sweet home”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet at dusk
Plenty of parking space Fire Pit around back with adirondack chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Chalet at dusk
Plenty of parking space
Fire Pit around back with adirondack chairs
Beautiful mountain views with outdoor seating
Large wrap around deck
Living room with entertainment center
Comfy living room with rustic wood beam ceiling
Plenty of space with tall ceilings
Pretty hard wood floors
Gas log fire place
Dining room table within the open floor plan
Big Windows
Nice counter space for preparing meals
Master bedroom with private balcony
Tall A-Frame ceilings
Twin Beds on top level
Second Master Bedroom with private full bath.
Private entrance to second Master Bedroom
Views of native platn garden with ferns from the bed
Main level bedroom with day bed and 2nd roll out trundle bed, has its own full bathroom
Master Bath with Jet tub
Main level full bath
Laundry room
Vista from Waterrock Knob, Mountain Peak 6292 feet
Waterrock Knob, Best Place to See a Sunrise or Sunset in the Mountains, 20 minutes from the house
Waynesville Farmers Market, less than five minutes from the house
Our local river spot, location given upon request, 10-15 minutes from the house
Our little baby gazing out at our fall view from the Master Bedroom
Our View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waynesville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard A...
1 review
“Home sweet home”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was probably our best booking yet. Chalet was clean and stocked for our arrival. We had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kaceyjoyn...
Timmonsville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay! The owners were awesome with working with us when some shaky weather hit! Love the area, would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
“Great Vacation Rental”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I celebrated our birthdays at Runaway Chalet. We had five guest staying (total of 5) and we had more than enough room. This place was so nice. Nicely decorated, clean, nice view and so convenient to anything you may need or want to do. Please don't hesitate to book this place. We couldn't get the TV started but Basil was right there to help my niece and it up and running. The men were disappointed there wasn't cable. Cable would have been nice for them. The women didn't feel that need. Great place to celebrate out special day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perri K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Find another place”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It may sleep 8 people in beds but... there were plates and spoons for everyone, there are not enough forks, bowls, mugs or glasses for 8. You are given 2 towels per bathroom - did I mention the house slept 8. No washcloths, kitchen towels are very ratty. If you plan to use the freezer beware - it is a side by side and because of where it is positioned it is very hard to open the door wide enough to get things in or out. The place needs a through cleaning, cobwebs are very evident, there is caked on food on the stove drawer, the rug in the living room is in awful condition. If you are planning to use the over beware, it gets very, very hot on the entire stove. I opened the drawer on the bottom of the stove to get out a pan and burned my hand on the pan inside the drawer. This house is a great size for max 6 people, 8 is very crowded. The beds are very uncomfortable and the pillows are horrible - make sure you bring your own.

I am not the person who booked the property I was one of the people that stayed there with the actual renter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y
Lutz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful location for our family reunion. Secluded and yet convenient to town, attractions, etc. Owners left tips and ideas for day trips.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Pe...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Vacation Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything we expected and more. Convenient location, breathtaking view, and home-like atmosphere. Owners were extremely helpful in offering suggestions for "must see" places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: Backyard space, not a real problem however.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing