We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay---will be back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #8 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We just came home from a wonderful 3 day weekend at The Yellow House and had a great time. We stayed in the St. John de Vence suite which is in the basement of the house. This means you have complete privacy but are still in the main house. This suite opens into a spacious sitting room with a chair and sofa sitting in front of a two way fireplace. There is also a day bed against the wall with a mini fridge. On the other side of the two way fireplace is the king size bed with a bookshelf full of books to browse through. A large jacuzzi is also by the bed. The bathroom runs the enire lenght of the room and has a spacious shower. This suite also has its own private patio and terrace and this completely rounds out this wonderful and spacious room. Even though this is the basement there are french doors leading to the patio and two floor to ceiling windows along with a window by the daybed so light is plentiful.

On the main floor of the house is the dining room, the sitting room, a library, the Carriage Suite and another bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Upstairs are twon more bedrooms with ensutie bathroom and another suite. There are additional rooms in the pond house which is about a two minute walk from the main room. We saw the rooms here and they are beautiful as well. There is a two story suite, and two seperate bedrooms with beautiful ensuite bathrooms and balconies overlooking a pond. All the rooms here have their own seperate entrance so they are private.

All the breakfasts we had and the advice from Shawn, the innkeeper, were spot on. We toured downtown Waynesville and ate at Nick and Nates (pizza and beer), the Chef's Table(upscale and slow), and Bogarts (a local hangout). We also took a trip to Ashville and ate at the Stone Ridge Tavern and it was awesome--local place with an awesome menu, reasonable prices, good vibes, great beer, and tons of food. This was off I-26 by the Biltmore Mall.
Overall, we had a wonderful trip and plan on coming back in the Spring/Summer when we can actually see the grounds (they were covered by 8 - 10 inches of snow!).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseTroy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Our stay was relaxing and wonderful due to Shawn and the crew. Everything was great, expecially having breakfast delivered to the room along with all the extra special treats that were given, loved the cookies! The room was spotless and warm, the inn and the grounds were beautiful. I highly recommend this b&b after staying in twenty plus inns.
The staff made the place, felt like friends leaving, you will not be sorry you booked a room. Shawn, thanks and Semper Fi!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountaincrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Returned this month to one of our favorite B&Bs in the country, the Yellow House in Waynesville, NC. Thoroughly enjoyable! Great rooms and beds, superb food and service, quiet, comfortable, all the amenities you want. The staff really makes you feel at home here! What more can I say?

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have been staying at the Yellow House several times a year for the last 14 years. The website is an accurate picture of this beautiful Inn. The Innkeeper Shawn Bresnahan and his staff did all they could to make our stay another memorable occasion. We were there with our long time friends (2 other couples). The location is beautiful and close to downtown Waynesville where the Apple Festival was held on Saturday. The breakfasts are gourmet and every evening at 5 PM there is wine and hors d'oeuvres. At breakfast and at the evening get-together we met interesting guests and had lively conversations. Shawn recommended some excellent restaurants in the area. All in all it was a perfect 4 days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmerrilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Thanks to Shaun and the Yellow House staff for a wonderful stay.

The breakfast is out of this world.
Lovely house.
Great rooms.
Great facilities and service.
Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Saviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Husband and I stayed at The Yellow House for a long weekend and it was amazing. The rooms are incredibly large and well appointed (even the less expensive one we booked), Shaun is the perfect host, he helped us book reservations, showed us where the best lookouts were in the park and had great dinner recommendations- all w/o even asking. I was most impressed that he makes breakfast for the inn staff as well as the guests. I really appreciate an inn that takes care of it's employees. That leads me to the food....oh my! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I dare someone to come up with something better than eating fresh berry stuffed french toast and juice on the veranda w/ the cool mountain breeze. We will definitely be back to this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We would give this place a score from 0-10 a great 100% #10!!!! Everything was beautiful and peaceful and listening to the waterfall out your back door puts you in heaven. Shawn and his staff was the most dealightful group of people we have ever had the pleasure to meet. This trip was everything that we wanted and could ever image and when it was time to leave we wanted to stay. We have stayed at several bed and breakfast before but this one is #1 on our list now. We will definetely be going back. GREAT JOB!!! GIVE YOURSELVES A HAND YOU ALL DESERVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
301 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maggie Valley Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Balsam Mountain Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: $137 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing