We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #6 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow! We live close by and needed a anniversary getaway.This place is the perfect getaway I used to be a assistant innkeeper and truly didn't want to leave. So comfortable, the furnishings are so tasteful and nice. We stayed in carriage house and room was amazing, whirlpool tub, fireplace, and beautiful rice planter bed. Breakfast was wonderful, Shawn was a great host love the tasteful music you can choose to enjoy in the Inn or in your rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Loved it! The room was great, the food was great, the location was great and Sean made us feel very welcome. We even added two of our kids to our reservation after we checked in and it was no problem. We hope to return soon.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the second and third time I've been to this wonderful B&B. There are not enough magical words in the English language to describe this place. This trip I stayed three days on my way up to Beech Mountain. I had a large room, with a gas fireplace, king bed, sitting and dinning area, and garden tub. Clean, and lovely! I had breakfast in my room the first two days, scrumptious! Shawn, the Innkeeper, and ultimate host, makes a breakfast to die for! I can coast on the breakfast until dinner, fabulous! The whole staff is great, and you almost feel like you're visiting family.
On my way back home, I stayed two nights. I stayed in a smaller room, but just a beautiful! I had breakfast in the dinning room with other guests both mornings. One couple had been coming for 15 years. I'm not alone in my love of this lovely, wonderful destination!

Room Tip: I've stayed in three different rooms, all superb! I never heard others, or felt like my privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ktsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts around the country. This has got to be the most incredible b&b that I've ever been in. Shawn, who is the owner, has taken care of every possible detail. Our room was huge and delightfully appointed. Breakfasts, prepared by Shawn, are delectable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just spent a wonderful six nights at The Yellow House in Waynesville. It was our first time away in ten years and turned out to be our best vacation we ever had. Our suite was perfect-I felt completely pampered with the Jacuzzi tub and the huge fireplace. Shawn, Connie, and the rest of the staff were so attentive and the breakfasts were sublime. We enjoyed the other guests so much and we can't wait for a return visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed numerous stays in Bed and Breakfast Inns over the years but our stay this past weekend at The Yellow House in Waynesville, NC was truly memorable. This is a fabulous 129 year old house. The amenities were first class and the Innkeeper, Shawn, went out of his way to make our stay as well as all of his guest very comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfast were all excellent, the wine and cheese at 5:00 pm was a nice touch and our suite was clean and very comfortable. Shawn is a great guy with a fabulous sense of humor. He and his staff made our anniversary weekend most enjoyable. We both highly recommend this Inn. Waynesville is a neat little town with lots of interesting shops and some excellent restaurants. The Blue Ridge parkway and Asheville, NC are is close by so there are numerous sights and things to do for enjoyment. We will define lay return to this area and to this fabulous Inn. Thanks again for a great weekend!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently stayed with friends for three delightful nights at the Yellow House. The setting is lovely and the interior warm and cozy. We had the E'Stang suite on the second floor. We had a toasty fireplace and a balcony with great views of the valley and fall colors. Shawn is the perfect host - accommodating, informative, solicitous and pleasant to be with. Breakfasts were superb! Have to give a shout-out to Connie who serves and has been at the Yellow House for many years. We definitely recommend this inn!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on second floor; there is no elevator. Rooms are comfy and roomy with views of woods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Misty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Red Leaf River Inn
Red Leaf River Inn
#8 of 19 in Waynesville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: $137 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing