We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Greatest Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just spent a wonderful six nights at The Yellow House in Waynesville. It was our first time away in ten years and turned out to be our best vacation we ever had. Our suite was perfect-I felt completely pampered with the Jacuzzi tub and the huge fireplace. Shawn, Connie, and the rest of the staff were so attentive and the breakfasts were sublime. We enjoyed the other guests so much and we can't wait for a return visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed numerous stays in Bed and Breakfast Inns over the years but our stay this past weekend at The Yellow House in Waynesville, NC was truly memorable. This is a fabulous 129 year old house. The amenities were first class and the Innkeeper, Shawn, went out of his way to make our stay as well as all of his guest very comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfast were all excellent, the wine and cheese at 5:00 pm was a nice touch and our suite was clean and very comfortable. Shawn is a great guy with a fabulous sense of humor. He and his staff made our anniversary weekend most enjoyable. We both highly recommend this Inn. Waynesville is a neat little town with lots of interesting shops and some excellent restaurants. The Blue Ridge parkway and Asheville, NC are is close by so there are numerous sights and things to do for enjoyment. We will define lay return to this area and to this fabulous Inn. Thanks again for a great weekend!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently stayed with friends for three delightful nights at the Yellow House. The setting is lovely and the interior warm and cozy. We had the E'Stang suite on the second floor. We had a toasty fireplace and a balcony with great views of the valley and fall colors. Shawn is the perfect host - accommodating, informative, solicitous and pleasant to be with. Breakfasts were superb! Have to give a shout-out to Connie who serves and has been at the Yellow House for many years. We definitely recommend this inn!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on second floor; there is no elevator. Rooms are comfy and roomy with views of woods...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Misty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the Yellow House and/or Shawn, the keeper. I had my wedding here the beginning of September. It. Was. Perfect. And it was perfect because of Shawn, his staff and his beautiful grounds. Even though he has staff to take care of the wedding and details, he was present and available throughout the night. He made sure everything was amazing and like I already said, it was perfect. My wedding venue was moved at the very last minute, and I can't believe the Yellow House wasn't our first choice. I can't wait to revisit the Yellow House for our anniversary:)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdemonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our good friends were married at the Yellow House this past weekend. It was an absolutely gorgeous venue....beautiful mountain wedding. The front staircase made a perfect backdrop for wedding pictures. My husband and I ended up staying in the Carriage Room that night. Such a beautiful and enormous room! There is a porch with rocking chairs and a HUGE jacuzzi tub. Great place to relax after all the wedding festivities. The breakfast in the morning was delicious.....fruit with cinnimon and some kind of amazing cream followed by even more amazing stuffed french toast. Our whole group was incredibly full and left so happy! My husband and I already when we want to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House but the Sconset was beautiful as well!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We managed to book this the day before staying here based on recommendation from guests at our previous bed and breakfast whilst travelling south down the blue ridge parkway. So glad we did. We arrived tired and slightly frazzled after a long day driving and were just blown away with the property and in particular our room (the carriage house suite). The bath was more like a swimming pool and probably could have fitted all the guests in at one time! Wish we could have stayed more than one night. Shawn is a wonderfully cheerful and easy going host and ensures everyone has everything they need including wine/port and cheese plus lots of other nibbles. The guest kitchen area was extremely well stocked with freshly made cookies and many different drink options. We spent most of our evening talking with other guests we had only just met but felt we had known for years in the communal sitting area. All in all a wonderful experience, would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great food. They even fixed special food for me as I am gluton free. Pancakes for me was gluton free and great. You get a lot of food. Refrigator in your room with all kinds of drinks. They even brought us a snack tray to our room one day. The staff are all very very nice. The property is beautiful with lots of rockers on porch. They have a hammock under a tree.

Room Tip: No pool but a pond and you could hear the water from our room with door open.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: $182 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing