We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is the best place to go.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the best place to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Yellow House is beautiful inside and outside. The rooms are charming and very comfortable.
I loved my great big bed, the fireplace, the comfy sofa and the warm soft robe. The food is delicious! For instance, the mouth watering Quiche, the Peach baked french toast(made with croissants) and many other so yummy things to eat. Innkeeper Shawn is the perfect host. Everyone feels like an honored guest at the Yellow House

Room Tip: We had the Carriage House room. This is elegant. There is a fireplace, A comfortable sofa if I just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyellowhouse, Public Relations Manager at The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
What a great review!! Thank you so much and we hope to have you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
174
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second visit to The Yellow House and again, we were impressed! We had delicious hot breakfasts served in-room each morning by cheerful staff who were eager to please. The crisp, comfortable king poster bed in the beautiful and spacious S'conset room gave us both a good night's sleep. It snowed our last morning there - the jacuzzi tub and wonderful gas fireplace made for a lovely end to a serene, romantic weekend. The stocked 'fridge and snacks/drinks available from the guest bar kept us happy & satisfied. Thank you for another great visit!

Room Tip: S'conset is on the main level, right around the corner from the guest kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Yellow House is lovely. The setting is ideal with a pond and waterfalls, large trees and beautiful landscaping. It is quiet and so very relaxing. The nearby town of Waynesville was very nice with a variety of shops. The staff at The Yellow House was very welcoming and the breakfast tasted as delicious as it looked. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable and there was a gas fireplace in the room. We felt relaxed and the fact that coffee, tea and sodas as well as snacks were available all day made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyellowhouse, Public Relations Manager at The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just spent our first weekend at The Yellow House. We stayed with a large group and took over The Pond House, a set of 3 separate rooms at the top of the property, overlooking The Yellow House. We stayed in The Savannah room, which had such a great view of both the upper and lower ponds. The ducks returned a bit early this year due to the warmer weather, according to Shawn. Loved watching them. We spent one day driving and hiking through The Smoky Mountains. Even in winter they were gorgeous! Our breakfasts were very satisfying, and we enjoyed meeting several other couples staying at the main house. Shawn, the Innkeeper, and his Staff were very kind. It was a 9 hr drive, but plan to be back in the Spring to see the beautiful flowers. I drove to view the other B&B's in the area. Some homes were comparable, but they have nothing on this property. Just incredible. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have tv's. We didn't miss one in the Savannah room but check with Shawn if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFox14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Love this place I will never stay at another band b the staff are so nice and the rooms are lovely and the water is hot! It is way better then the B and B that we just left because it is outrageous to need hot water in a room with a HOT tub

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaucarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very friendly staff, very clean. Wonderful food, but would have preferred choices for breakfast, though. Very nice property and walking areas. Ample parking. Large rooms. Beautiful Victorian style house. S'Conset Suite was a beautiful large room with nice gas fireplace.

Room Tip: Beautiful S'Conset suite - large room with fireplace and large tub - right off of the porch, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The room was large and very clean. The King size bed was very comfortable. The gas fireplace warmed us up in the mornings. The breakfast was different each morning and was very good. It was nice to get away from busy Asheville after visiting the Biltmore House. Waynesville is a very nice town with great shopping for a small city. I believe this might be the best B&B that my wife and I have visited. The homemade biscotti is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newdelhi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
5.0 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.0 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Property: The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing