We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #6 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just spent our first weekend at The Yellow House. We stayed with a large group and took over The Pond House, a set of 3 separate rooms at the top of the property, overlooking The Yellow House. We stayed in The Savannah room, which had such a great view of both the upper and lower ponds. The ducks returned a bit early this year due to the warmer weather, according to Shawn. Loved watching them. We spent one day driving and hiking through The Smoky Mountains. Even in winter they were gorgeous! Our breakfasts were very satisfying, and we enjoyed meeting several other couples staying at the main house. Shawn, the Innkeeper, and his Staff were very kind. It was a 9 hr drive, but plan to be back in the Spring to see the beautiful flowers. I drove to view the other B&B's in the area. Some homes were comparable, but they have nothing on this property. Just incredible. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have tv's. We didn't miss one in the Savannah room but check with Shawn if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFox14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Love this place I will never stay at another band b the staff are so nice and the rooms are lovely and the water is hot! It is way better then the B and B that we just left because it is outrageous to need hot water in a room with a HOT tub

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaucarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very friendly staff, very clean. Wonderful food, but would have preferred choices for breakfast, though. Very nice property and walking areas. Ample parking. Large rooms. Beautiful Victorian style house. S'Conset Suite was a beautiful large room with nice gas fireplace.

Room Tip: Beautiful S'Conset suite - large room with fireplace and large tub - right off of the porch, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The room was large and very clean. The King size bed was very comfortable. The gas fireplace warmed us up in the mornings. The breakfast was different each morning and was very good. It was nice to get away from busy Asheville after visiting the Biltmore House. Waynesville is a very nice town with great shopping for a small city. I believe this might be the best B&B that my wife and I have visited. The homemade biscotti is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdelhi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This B&B is as close to perfect as we have found. The room was s-p-a-c-i-o-u-s and immaculate. It contained a classic style 4 poster bed and a gas fireplace that warmed the room quickly (central heating and cooling also available). The house is a well-preserved 19th century home with all the up-to-date features you might want (WIFI, portable DVR player) except TV in the bedrooms. The only TV was in the library. We never used it.

Breakfast was available in our room, in the dining room or on the veranda. We had breakfast in the dining room so we could meet the other guests. Fun experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff4030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went with 5 other women for our annual girl's weekend, and we loved The Yellow House. One of women had been 3 other times and highly recommended it. The rooms we stayed in were all beautiful, charming and immaculately clean. I did not see a speck of dust anywhere, which may explain the 100 rating they have from the health department. Shawn, the Innkeeper is delightful. He was helpful in recommending places to dine and hike, and the two women who helped him prepare and serve breakfast were friendly and seemed genuinely interested in being exceptional hosts. Breakfast both mornings was delicious...fresh fruit, baked eggs, bacon, sausage, a delicious french toast dish. I was also impressed with the attention to detail...hiking sticks available (complimentary), plenty of umbrellas by the front door if needed, snacks, wine, appetizers, fresh cookies always available, along with a great assortment of tea and fresh coffee. We all had a fabulous weekend, and want to go back again! The house and grounds are lovely, and Waynesville has great hiking, some cute shops, and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our trip to see the fall color was the reason we chose Waynesville, NC. The Yellow House is the reason we'll be going back. It was THE BEST getaway we've ever had! We stayed in the pond house, behind the main house. It was lovely and romantic, more than we had expected! Breakfast at the sunny bay window was scrumptious. The main house was a delightful. We enjoyed meeting other guests while sipping wine and sampling cheese, late afternoon. We could not have found a warmer, more gracious host than Shawn. We are looking for time in our schedules to run back to this beautiful, dreamy retreat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#5 of 19 in Waynesville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Red Leaf River Inn
Red Leaf River Inn
#8 of 19 in Waynesville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: $137 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing