We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Shawn Bresnehan sets the tone for this marvelous 1880's? house in the mountains of Waynesville NC. People are encouraged to mix and mingle, and the atmosphere is very social and friendly. The grounds are wooded and scenic, and the leaves were magnificent this October.
It is a good value with a delicious breakfast included, with clean spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Yellow House was highly recommended by some good friends and we must admit our stay went above and beyond our best expectations. We stayed in the Savannah Suite and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The location of this B&B was ideal as we never ventured more than 30 miles to any of the areas we visited. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed the social time meeting other guests at these breakfasts and the wine & cheese events each evening. Shawn, the innkeeper could not have been more accommodating during our stay and was very helpful in directing us to the many attractions in the area during the day and several fine restaurants at night. This was our first time to the Yellow House but it will not be our last!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lake_Murray_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have spent a long weekend for the last two years in mid-Ocotber at the Yellow House Inn in Waynesville North Carolina. It is in a quite part of the town and the innkeeper, Sean, is a marvelous host. The friendly atmoshere keeps bringing folks back. The unique and delicious breakfasts shared in the dining room each morning are huge but marvelous. The rooms are clean and luxurious. The town has quaint shops and restaruants with tasty offerings. This is a town not far from the Blue Ridge Parkway or 30 minutes into Asheville. Lots of activities around but also a quite escape. This Inn is one to remember and return to when you can.

Room Tip: They have a pet friendly room, Kinsale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigidog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Still a wonderful place to stay. Shawn is a great innkeeper and host. Still frustrating with WiFi, and even 3G. Stayed in one of the pond cottages (Savannah), no wifi there, and even no 3G, so cell phone is not operable. No TV in our room, therefore had to go to main house to watch the debates. Breakfast wonderful. Met a lot of nice people. It was full this weekend. Will go back, but would like room in main bldg., so at least we can use the IPhone.

Room Tip: Main bldg. for 3G with ATT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent two nights there recently.
The entire stay was pleasant. The bed was great, the food was excellent, the location is good.
Shawn, the innkeeper was outstanding on giving info on places to eat and things to do.
The 5:00 wine and cheese was very enjoyable. You could meet the other guests, and talk way past dinner time.
we will be going again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelloverTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My significant other and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Yellow House. Shawn, the manager at this house, was so very helpful. He was kind and eager to provide anything we needed (and he did! I had forgotten my toothbrush, and he had backups!). He is very knowledgeable of things to do around Waynesville. Every evening, there is wine and snacks available for all of the guests. It was a pleasure to speak to other guests staying in the house. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very well decorated. It was not stuffy or outdated, as are some B&Bs I've visited in the past. The food was marvelous. The property is beautiful as well! There are many places to walk and have a sit. I enjoyed every aspect of this trip and I owe all of it to Yellow House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the E'staing Suite upstairs. It was lovely! There was a living room separated byt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Yellow House is an amazing spot to go, relax and enjoy great customer service. Shawn makes the trip worthwhile with his guided tour, hospitality, stories and of course his breakfast. It felt so much like home. I recommend this to anyone who really want and need a great place to get away and relax. Hats off to Shawn and his team!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room at The Yellow House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: $182 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing